We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Older Property”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This motel is one of the older style single level park in front of your room style buildings. Everything looked a little dated but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a little better than continental with waffle makers and all of the usual fair. Quiet area and I was able to get a good nights sleep after a long day of driving.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

After attending a lavish family gathering earlier that evening, my wife and I needed to stay at a hotel nearby as it was after midnight. To be proactive, we called BW in Cuba to find out if there was a room available. I could tell the woman that answered had been awoken by our call but I noticed she was very nice and helpful regardless. Upon arriving around 2am, we were met with the same courtesy. The room was clean and well kept up. The water was a good HOT for my wife , whom I believe is made sterner stuff than I as she likes the water at steam level.
At check-out the next morning we awoke to the remains of a pre-spring ice and snow storm. Though our car was covered and sealed in ice the parking lot was clear and all other quests had apparently left already, leaving us to scrape and melt in silence. When the operators of the BW Cuba Inn. noticed we were getting started, they called us to tell us that the roads were bad and if we need to hang around for a while they would understand and take care of us. Since the storm was light and we are seasoned drivers (with a destination) we need not stay but thought the gesture was outstanding, just as this little Motel.

Room Tip: King size beds are KING SIZE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ateachershubskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. Hope we can see you again when you are in this area. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of last year whilst on our Route 66 roadtrip. The room we stayed in left alot to be desired. The air con smelt mouldy and damp, the toilet handle was broken and hadnt been fixed and the flannels were almost thread bare! It didnt feel clean and definitely needs some TLC to bring it just up to an average rating. Luckily we only had to stay here one night and that was enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank smudge073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We are sorry for your problem was in your room, but we are fixing any problem rightaway.onece again we are sorry ,please gives a another chance to stay with us. thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

When we pulled up to the motel, we wondered if we were going to have a good experience. It had a very nice and clean appearance, but was obviously older, one story and the rooms had an outside entrance. Once we walked into the room, however, our concerns disappeared. Our room had been renovated and was very nice and clean. It had a nice TV, wireless Internet and, most importantly, a comfortable king size bed. The room was quiet and comfortable. On check-in we weren't told there was breakfast provided, but there was and it was very nice with hot food items. The gentleman running the front desk and the breakfast area often seemed overwhelmed trying to keep up with filling the food bins, but he did his best and was friendly and helpful. All in all, a very nice experience that was made sweeter by the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review .Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Last minute stay, on a long road trip, the price was twice as a Best Western in Sevierville TN, the fee for my pet was only $10.00, that seems to be standard with Best Western. Lots of place to walk the dog, and bring your own dog bags. The a/c unit had a loud noise, keeping me up. I should have called the manager, but did not want to wake them up. Yes its their job, but I could not. Took extra sleeping pill, and muddled through the noise, realizing it could be worse. Upon check out, he removed the pet fee. All hotels need to periodically check all aspects of the hotel rooms out, including the low battery on the smoke alarm in the empty room next to us, beep...beep, all night. If I been able to plan ahead, there would have been a better rate, but one can not always do that on a long road trip. I stayed at three Best Westerns on this latest road trip. The final night, we found a Comfort Inn, in Paul's Bluff OK, much better, same price, and NO noise. Sorry Best Western, three strikes and you out. You have great employees, just not great rooms. They all need a major redo. It would be as asset to redo your inns, and a great way to market, and get people back. Glad to be home. p.s. bring soap and shampoo, they supply very tiny packages, enough for half a person.

Room Tip: far end, and ask to away from smoker rooms, we were in a non smoking room, but the people near us in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie94588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I am so sorry you had a problem with ac unit , if had call front desk we would take care rightaway. Please give us a another chance to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice, clean motel in a very small town off of I-44. Additional charge of $10.00 for pets. Very nice, clean breakfast nook. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. This small one story motel was a great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for write a review for our hotel. We looking forward to see you again when you travel in thru our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

staff was understanding of our situation, we had to stay 2 nights due to flooding farther down the I-44, room was large, comfortable, we could park right in front of door rate could have been less steep for during the week but no real complaints

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesterncuba, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to write review and we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
12.8 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
140 reviews
16.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
122 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cuba
Super 8 Cuba
#1 of 4 in Cuba
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 246 Highway P, Cuba, MO 65453-5225 (Formerly Cuba Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing