We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter peace to refresh your soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dixon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock Eddy Bluff Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Dixon B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Utter peace to refresh your soul”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

For a number of years we've spent a fall week-end at Rock Eddy Bluff in October or early November. We look forward to it as if to a return to Eden! Rock Eddy has other, more modern accommodations, but we choose to stay in their "Line Camp Cabin"--a small 1840's style cabin that's the coziest place you'll ever see. It's like stepping into some pioneer's home--but with no sense of "museum" to it. There's no electricity; lighting is from kerosene lamps. No running water, but good water is provided in big carboys (I think they're called) with taps; they're quite convenient for washing or cooking, and you can easily refill them from the iron pump outside. Heat is from a cast-iron wood-stove, and it does a great job. There's a lovely old propane-fueled cook stove. We usually cook at least one meal over a wood fire in the fire-pit outside. It's great for hot-dogs or marshmallows. (You can split firewood if you want to.) There's an outside shower if the weather's nice (or if you're brave), or an old tin bath-tub which makes you think you're in a western movie. And if you think the idea of a charming out-house is somehow oxymoronic you'll have to think again at Rock Eddy.

The cabin is set deep in the woods and there is lots of beautiful tramping to be done. You'll want to spend an hour or two just lying on top of the high, high bluff gazing at the farm-scape out across the Gasconade--as still as an artist's landscape. Or watching the hawks sailing the thermals high above. There's a canoe you can use on the river, and you can of course swim. (I've been known to skinny-dip.)

At night you'll be dazzled by more stars than you've ever seen. There's the occasional hoot of an owl, and if you're lucky you may be treated to a veritable cantata of coyotes calling among the distant hills.

Tom and Kathy Corey, the proprietors, are folks with whom you'll quickly feel like old friends. They're smart, easy, witty, happy, and just plain comfortable. And they leave you alone. (By the way, Tom built all the cabins himself.)

Needless to say we plan to continue spending time at Rock Eddy every year. Some folks dream of retiring to Florida; If I could retire from retirement I'd go to Rock Eddy; there's no pleasanter place to end my days.

Steve Callahan

Room Tip: How modern do you want to be: If you want to live like your great-great-grandfather choose the Line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REB14, Owner at Rock Eddy Bluff Farm, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We know you love autumn at Rock Eddy Bluff, but can't remember if you have come in the winter. Since Line Camp cabin is your preference, have you ever stoked the woodstove to keep the cabin warn and braced against the chill on your way to the privy? It is truly a unique experience, and one that we think is difficult to duplicate anywhere.
We hope you two will continue to come to Rock Eddy and we promise that we will always look forward to seeing you and enjoying your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Tree House for a weekend and it is by far the best vacation we ever had! Tom and Kathy are very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the bed is very comfortable. We had the whole second floor all to us. We had a fridge in the sitting room and the temperature was comfortable our entire stay. The view was stunning. It was a real treat to wake up with the view we had of Gasconade River.

Room Tip: The Tree House is good for couples that are not quite ready to rough it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I cannot recommend Rock Eddy Bluff enough. We've stayed at Line Camp (fun for 2 - be prepared to be off the grid!), Aunt Phoebe's (by far, the best view - fun for 2 or a cozy stay for 4), and Turkey Ridge (perfect for a group). We've visited in spring, summer, fall and winter and enjoyed ourselves no matter the weather. Tom and Kathy are wonderful hosts who can recommend fantastic hiking and canoeing adventures. Your stay there isn't complete without a visit from the Bluff dogs - Ike and PeeVee! The cabins are all clean and outfitted with everything you might need - assuming you don't need a tv. If you need a peaceful retreat away from the craziness of the city - book now!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyfish1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

If you are looking to get away and reconnect with life and what is important-This is the place for you! It is kid friendly and the owners are one of a kind. You will never meet better people in your life. Reconnect with your family and yourself. The cabins are set up with attention to detail that only a women would know.....Everything that you need is there. You only need to relax and enjoy this place. It is breathtaking and Tom and Kathy are always there. I will always come to Rock Eddy Bluff"

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2008

My husband and I took our honeymoon at Rock Eddy Bluff Farm, and we had the most wonderful, relaxing time. We stayed in the Turkey Ridge Cottage which was so beautifully decorated, clean, and full of nice little "extras" to make the stay very comfortable and memorable for years to come.
Right outside of the sliding glass doors was a gorgeous view of the Gasconade River valley. A path next to the cabin led down to the river where canoes awaited us, and so were our hosts! Mr. and Mrs. Corey happened to be enjoying the view of the river the day my husband and I ventured down the path. They are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. They told us where to find a Bald Eagle nest to photograph along the river, and told us about natural caves around the area. Being nature lovers, it was the perfect place for us.
A full kitchen, comfortable bed, amazing views, and adventure on the river culminated into the best time we've ever had. I highly recommend Rock Eddy Bluff Farm to anyone looking to "kick back and relax."

  • Liked — The beautiful views and fantastic hosts!
  • Disliked — It snowed, but we got married in March.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnerclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2007

The B&B is remote, so be prepared. But that is the wonder of the place. The natural beauty is spectacular complete with clouds in the valley below and so much more all around. The decorations were gorgeous, but with a simpleness that made you feel right at home. Tom & Kathy make you feel comfortable, just like you were old time friends. It was worth every penny.

Jim & Charleen
Wylie, TX

  • Liked — the decor and the remote location
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2005

This is a nice place. The owners have truly thought of everything basic people need. Bug spray, shampoo, breakfast, microwave, stove, popcorn, marshmallows, and so on. The cabin we stayed in felt like "home" to us, with books, a wood-stove. One complaint we had were the flies everywhere, literally all over the deck. They eventually got inside, like 50-100 of them. Spraying would be nice. Yes, we understand this is "wooded," but the screen has holes in it allowing flies entrance. That being said, the cabin is relaxing. The property and horses are wonderful. The best hiking is actually OFF the property, in our opinion. There is little to do but relax at this charming place. The owners are wonderful people. We wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone wanting a getaway. Skip Westphalia Inn's chicken and bring Hodaks.. one could go to this place and never leave the premises. Coyotes, owls, stars, birds, horses, and the owner's Lab made this getaway one to which we'll return. The area is being overdeveloped, however, and will likely soon change. A shame. You can hike, canoe using the owners' canoes.. you can have an outdoor campfire and roast marshmallows. Time stops at this place. It exudes "relaxation" in every manner. Highly recommended. 160 or so acres they own. Pets seem to be allowed, so long as they are clean and well-behaved.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rock Eddy Bluff Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Eddy Bluff Farm

Property: Rock Eddy Bluff Farm
Address: 10245 Maries Road 511, Dixon, MO 65459-7446
Region: United States > Missouri > Pulaski County > Dixon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dixon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Missouri Ozark hills! This off-the-beaten-path getaway is ideal for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts. Guests find peace, serenity, and invigorating outdoor activities. Canoe the river, fish, hike, nature/bird watch, or simply relax in bucolic surroundings overlooking the river valley and wooded ridges. Our modern, secluded cottages are popular with couples and families. Or, take a romantic step back to the 1800's to a small cabin tucked into the woods and an original log cabin peering into the valley. Ozark river access with canoes provided. If you wish to avoid the well-worn tourist haunts and enjoy an authentic country experience then you should love Rock Eddy Bluff Farm. Well mannered pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing