We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Robinson Crusoe Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gecko's Resort(Sigatoka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tavarua Island Resort(Tavarua Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
268
81
30
12
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
81
30
12
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday trippersnight tourfire showcaptain paulcombo tourcrabcoconut tree climbingjewellery makingkava ceremonycultural experiencefire walkingtraditional kavadrinking kavaplay volleyballshared facilitiesbuffet stylesnorkeling trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Its already the most beautiful enjoyable place and then on top the island workers make it so much fun from start to finish, they feel more like friends than employees they have so much fun with you. The show is wonderful. Snorkelling is great. Sun, sea and sand beautiful. Wed and Sat are the best days. 12 of us went, 3 mums and all our children, both teenagers and young children. We had the time of our lives, always to be remembered. We spent 4 days and 3 nights as part of a 3 week trip to Fiji. It was our best place. All of us would go back in a flash. The only thing I would say is that the bure levu's are undersold as they R cheaper so people maybe think they R not as nice as the lodges (turtle and hibiscus are lovely), but the bure are so beautiful for 2 people. And just be prepared for the water to go off too when the generator is switched off at midnight each night, so remember to shower before then. But for drinking there is always a large complimentary bottle of water placed in your room fresh each day. And finally the kids enjoyed the pool so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicmmekki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcisland, Public Relations Manager at Robinson Crusoe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for such a great review - this is what we love to hear! The staff and management strive to offer the best cultural experience for both adults and kids alike.

You mention the Bure's being undersold, some guests can be hesitant thinking that they are 'very traditional' however we have blended a traditional theme with some modern convenience to create a special place to stay.

Vinaka and we hope that you join us again someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This trip was ill-fated from the beginning. The island on wich we first booked accomodation was destroyed by a hurricane. When we arrived in Fiji (May 13) our travel agency informed us that the alternate island was burnt down and we were booked for an island our agency had no experience with: Robinson Crusoe.
The 45 min boattour from the main island to the tiny Robinson made clear that we had not much of a choice for the next 6 days. The first evening we saw the fire dancers. As we came from French Polynesia, we knew that it was not originally Fijian as they try to make you believe but a mixture of different styles of the South Pacific, but the dancers were skilled and the show was nicely arranged.
Unfortunately, the dinner was not as good as the show. It was a heartlessly prepared maybe-lovo mix from different vegetables and meats, tasting all the same. And there was such a run from all the daytrippers that we couldn't get some food until it was cold and spongy. And it was the same every lunch and dinner time, a few different vegetables but it tasted all the same and looked like it was just thrown aut of the kitchen.
Also the show got boring because it was the same every evening and it was not possible to enjoy it with dinner and a drink, it was crowded, loud and so hard to get a drink because the barkeeper forgot the order the same second she was told it and if she remembered, it took very long to prepare even for fiji time. Also billing was very confusing, always check twice!
The bure was nice and quite big but a bit shabby (shower). It had everything needed but it would have been nice to have some chairs on the veranda and a bigger mosquito net.
In the morning, hammering, noise and smoke started at 7 am. We asked for snorkelling but this was only provided when on schedule, that means when the daytrippers arrive. And this can be up to 100 people on an island where you can walk around within 10 minutes! Island activities in general were scheduled childrens animation like polishing coconuts. So best to avoid it and look for a nice spot on the island for reading and relaxing, we thought. And failed. Hammocks and chairs were all broken, the whole island looked very scruffy.
When in the evening room care and water restock as announced at check-in weren't done, we complanied and were told that it would be done immediatly. Nothing was done at all. And then came the summit: they had some trouble with bugs and sprayed insecticides - right before lunch!
We had enough, the second day we told the receptionist we wanted to leave. The arrange of our check-out and departure organization was done very unprofessionally, we had to remind them of everything. I could not say they did it on purpose but because nobody really knows his job. A refund for the remaining 4 days was refused, after professiional help from our travel agency they refunded us at least the price for the meals.
Third days morning we could finally leave, but not without two bills because on the original one they forgot some drinks...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank ConnyGammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcisland, Public Relations Manager at Robinson Crusoe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to your expectations.

Thankfully the bulk of our reviews are positive and the guests have enjoyed their 'cultural' time with us. And, the staff always get fantastic feedback so it's a shame that you didn't experience this yourself.

We don't promote our island as a 5 star experience but a 'truly cultural experience' therefore perhaps you were expecting something more like you'd find on the mainland.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Was a little apprehensive about staying here as most of the (albeit fantastic) reviews on Trip Advisor were for day guests visiting the island and not many that had stayed overnight or for the duration of their holiday. We were looking for a proper island retreat, and we absolutely found it here. Our Island Bure was comfortable and well worth the upgrade for the ensuite. Although I thought the bucket showers were very quaint and in-keeping with the theme of the resort- it was nice to have the amenities close by! The island itself is very small, you can’t really walk all the way around because of a marshy area on one side but you can certainly walk along the beach and go for a swim in the sea. As a result of the high tide there was a LOT of sea weed washed up on the beach which the team worked hard to clear but to be honest it never really made much of a dent in the sheer amount- can’t be helped. Its hammock a-go-go here and we spent most of the time relaxing in the copious hammocks that span over the island. It was complete relaxation and you can tell the owner has worked hard to keep the Robinson Crusoe theme throughout the entire resort. I would absolutely recommend this place, and revisit if we had the opportunity. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because you do feel a little like second rate when day guests arrive. With activities only running when a day trip is visiting and no activities on offer when not (I don’t know if this is true in peak season) and the kava ceremony we read so much about not offered on our first night as we were the only two arriving that day but given to day guests each time. They truly go all out for the day trippers, chasing them down to the beach and offering talks and walks and entertainment, you can’t help but feel a little peeved when the boat of people leave and its back to running on Fiji time! Still, this didn’t impact on us too much and this place truly made our holiday in Fiji.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank amioneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcisland, Public Relations Manager at Robinson Crusoe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula and thank you for your in-depth review. We pride ourselves on keeping the island as authentic as possible and love to see guests immerse themselves in the culture of Fiji.

Yes, the island is much busier with a lot of activity when the day trippers come out. This is a good opportunity for in house guests to blend and enjoy. In-house guests are generally happy to 'have their island back' once the day trippers return back to their own resorts :-)

I'm sorry to hear that there seemed to be no other activities on offer when the day trippers weren' there as the island usually always has nightly activities for the house guests as well. I will advise management to alert them of this.

Wishing you all the best, Vinaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Bus picked us up at the hotel we were staying at and brought us to the boat to take us to the island. When we arrive - a group of staff & vacationers welcomed us by sining and playing the guitar. Our bure (room) was great and very authentic looking. We walked around the whole two days in our bare feet as there was sand everywhere and looks like we were staying right in a jungle. Bathroom was next door with shower. Fresh water was brought in everyday, so there wasn't a lot of it and we sometimes ran out of water in our washroom. Shower wasn't strong enough to wash the soap out of our hair, but we made due. There was a lot of entertainment on the island from coconut demo, games, nature walk, etc. The staff were amazing - hospitable, helpful, and we hung out with them every night. Food was great and the drink were reasonably priced. The night fire show was incredible. Make sure to be there a night when this happens. It was a very unique experience and we felt like we were really taken care of and made to feel special. Would definitely recommend coming here.

Room Tip: many types of accommodation. we stayed in a bure levu room - was good. They also have another room type that is a bigger room. Also dorm rooms for budget travellers
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cbitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcisland, Public Relations Manager at Robinson Crusoe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Unique is the word you used and we agree! Our cultural experience is unique and we love our guests to 'feel the real Fiji' when they come and stay with us. It is a memorable experience to have the opportunity to mix with the beautiful Fijian people - our wonderful staff!

Vinaka and come back and see us again someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I felt at home straight away. Our bure was beautiful with a nice sized deck and a gorgeous bathroom. The activities were fantastic and we immersed ourselves in the culture. The food was amazing and the staff were so cheerful and happy to help with anything. I was so sad to leave but can't wait to book again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracechapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcisland, Public Relations Manager at Robinson Crusoe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our lovely island!

We look forward to when you join us again, vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews