We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and a perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promised Land ZOO

Promised Land ZOO
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 500 rare and endangered animals from all over the world representing 56 species. We have camels, kangaroos, lemurs, buffalo, omnivores, deer and we are home to many rescued large reptiles and tropical birds too! We have just added some cats to our park including Caracals and Servals. There is plenty to see in our 4 mile drive thru and petting zoo with walk thru area too! Come during one of our bottle feeding times and you will get to help our zookeepers bottle feed baby animals! Newly added this past summer we opened a new wing to the Walk Thru to include a Ring-tailed Lemur Exhibit, an American Alligator Poll and the Prarie Dog Town! Open everyday, year-round! Have a bigger family? Promised Land ZOO now offers a special Family Rate that will allow you to bring all the kids you want at a discounted rate (see our website for details). Also look to our website for personal tour, group tour and special party information. Bottle feedings daily.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and a perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I would highly suggest stopping by this beautiful zoo if you're in the area or just looking for a weekend away!

Helpful?
9 Thank perkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    12
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carthage Mo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“family fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

it was layed out to be very convenient to get around in. Good view of animals. very clean and well kept.. Petting zoo was lots of fun. kids loved it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank GG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It Was Okay, But Nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you have had no contact with any sort of animals before, then this is definitely for you. If you are familiar with farm animals or deer, I think you'll be disappointed. We drove down from Branson with high expectations - much higher probably than we should have had. First, understand that they charge you by person, not by vehicle. The cost for just my wife & me, plus one "bucket" of food, was $42.

They have a "petting" area with baby animals in cages that you can touch. There were tortoises, rabbits, pigs, goats, cows and even a young camel. Inside the gift shop there are birds, snakes and lizards - all in cages or in aquariums. The gifts inside are your typical "toys" and souvenirs found in any tourist attraction - very little specifically for this zoo.

The drive through part was interesting, but again, nothing spectacular. We saw plenty of "deer" like animals - elk, buffalo, deer, and even a few emus in the open drive through area. They would come right to the car for food and we even got licked by a buffalo or two! Again, if you are looking for real exotic animals, this is not the place for you! There were no giraffes, elephants, rhinoceroses, gorillas, tigers, monkeys, etc... These are mostly deer or deer-like animals. Most of the animals are in cages or pens that you drive past with only one "open" area with animals coming to your car. Animals like the zebras and ostriches are also behind fences and not accessible. Far back in the corner there are two cages with lemurs that you are not allowed to feed or get close to - simply drive by.

If you have never had a close encounter with wild animals, you may just enjoy this. If you want to see or interact with something more exotic, you may want to look elsewhere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Be Sure To Include This Zoo In Your Trip Plans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I spent about 2 hours at the zoo, between the petting are and the drive thru part. We bought a large bag of feed for $5 and used every bit of it feeding the animals. I loved the petting zoo area, which isn't as much about circulating with the animals as it is getting closer to them in their fenced environments. We came at 2pm feeding time and it was interesting to see the animals being fed. I was disappointed that I thought I would be able to bottle feed a few animals like I had seen on their website, but they let all the little kids feel the goats and calves (the only animals they were bottle feeding at the time), which I can understand.

We appreciated that some of the animals in the drive-thru area were fenced off, as we've been to other drive-thru zoos and experienced damage to our car. There were still MANY animals that roamed around and came to the car- emu, llama, deer, buffalo, to name a few. And those that were fenced off were still very close to see and feed.

With a coupon from a zoo brochure we found in town ($2 off) it was less than $35 for both of us to go to the zoo... I found that a great investment and look forward to visiting again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank mykcrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had a blast and we'll be back..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

This was so cool if you love animals this is a must visit.. At first we didn't think the animals would come to the car but when we pulled up and got closer they came and didn't want to leave it was so fun.

Helpful?
11 Thank Angelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Promised Land ZOO also viewed

 

Been to Promised Land ZOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing