We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Getaway, incorrect reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy Getaway, incorrect reservations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My only concern about our room was it was small and there was no bath tub.

We slept very well. The room and hotel was clean. The bed was very comfortable!

The pool was very well maintained. We loved the grounds. The only thing that felt a little annoying was there was 3 weddings and it made it so we avoided a lot of areas and doors because we didn't want to intrude.

My complaint was the day before our visit they canceled our existing reservation that was quoted to us and the price ended up being significantly higher than originally. I feel this was not handled appropriately.

Also the front desk staff was super friendly but seemed young and insecure instead of confidant and mature.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    200
    65
    20
    12
See reviews for
171
450
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I would recommend this resort! We stayed here so I could "check" out the place for an upcoming meeting my company might have here early next year. I was so impressed! As soon as you walk in the place the staff are so friendly and the food is delicious! If you want the feel of being somewhere other then the metro area, this is the place! The night we stayed they had two comedians performing. There is always something going on to do there!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2tavel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

If you stay at the elms definitely take advantage of the spa treatments you won't be disappointed. When my husband and I were there the grotto wasn't open yet but we received vouchers to use at a later date when it does open. Our overall visit was wonderful, the food at restaurant was a bit disappointing but that won't prevent us from making a return visit. The beds are to die for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axs0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

It's been revamped and the romance package was quite nice! They had strewn rose petals from the doorway into the room, with a bottle of wine and candles.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Short drive from KC; very relaxing and historically interesting place, Staff very friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I was really impressed. Everyone was so friendly and the hotel was wonderful. A very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We've been going to the Elms for 10 years and they finally did a renovation with the new ownership. While I'm in the minority who was charmed by the old, dilapidated building and signage, it is clear that the face lift has been very well done and the property and staff have been invigorated. While we've enjoyed upgrades and larger rooms in the past, our room was nicely appointed (the pillows are outstanding, the bed was high quality although firm for our preference). Only negatives were the extremely noisy heating system and no electrical outlet in the bathroom, but neither was a big deal to us. The outdoor grounds and pool area have been given strong updates, and these tranquil grounds are often uninhabited in the fall and winter. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but the new Chef has brought innovative seasonal offerings such as the apple salad and fennel/pear soup along with the usual top quality steaks (but they should bring back the amazing french onion soup). The early breakfast buffet was unremarkable, but the service at both meals was pleasant and attentive. All the staff have taken a big step up to take notice whereas before, you were kinda on your own. Bring your own music and player if that is important to you, or movies/player. Also, bring your robe in the cooler weather if you love the hot "springs" as we do (not from the actual springs, but that's a longer story - they have added salt and something nice and silky to the water). There's not much to do here, but that is the point. Complete relaxation, in a classic and classy environment that is still laden with down home Missouri folk where we all mix nicely to enjoy peace and relaxation. They offer nice specials and events if you sign up for their emails and 1888 Club. We're excited for our next escape.

Room Tip: Ask ahead, especially on weekends, for a nice view of the grounds and/or the pool/outdoor spa if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 108 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St., Excelsior Springs, MO 64024
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing