We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elms Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sabetha, Kansas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is the 4th time for us to spend our Anniversary (Dec.31) at The Elms. It is elegant and has a formal atmosphere which lends itself to an amazing experience. We love the experience of being in the hot tub and the outdoor swimming pool in the snow. Snow flakes on our eyelashes, snow around us, and the wonderful hot tub is magical. The room we had (and have had) are always spotless! We could barely hear noises (even on New Years Eve) outside of our room. The staff are so courteous and have a formality that capture the essence of The Elms. The band this year, was excellent! We loved the brass and sax. The music was well suited to anyone present. The champagne greeting and at midnight was extra "elegant". The meals were wonderfully prepared with a great selection and the presentation again, "elegant". We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    193
    63
    20
    12
See reviews for
165
445
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I love the ambiance of the Old Historic Hotel, and with the modern enmities it makes the hotel and real value. In addition it is located in a small historic town, quiet and out of the way. There is an old BBQ business within walking distance with the best BBQ. I strongly recommend The Elms for any getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great time had by all! Staff was friendly and welcoming. From the bell boy to the front desk everyone made you feel like they had been waiting for you, and were happy that you came. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was big, cushy, and comphy. Although we didn't make it ti the hot tub or heated pool, I want to go back and jump in. They looked like a lot of fun, and others were taking advantage. (I didn't want to mess up my hair!) Food is excellent! The New Year's package was complete, and a great way to welcome in 2013!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We reserved 4 rooms (8 family members) for the Elms New Year's Eve Package. It was a great event and we were especially pleased with the service. The Hotel has recently completed a major renovation and they were able to modernize while maintaining its historic character. I stayed at the Hotel previously and was very impressed with the updated rooms, lobby, spa area, and banquet rooms. Great job!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToulonGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I had been to the Elms many years ago and it was a little rough around the edges so I didn't have high expectations when revisting in late December 2012. I was so suprised at how the hotel had changed due to the recent $20 million in renovations. They have renovated the entire thing and it looks and feels amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Midwest looking for a quick weekend escape. You are a short distance from KC and other metro areas and it feels like you are worlds away. They staff is also very genuine and warm...you can tell that the renovation has also renewed their spirits!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

For our first visit at the Elms, we utilized the New Years Eve package and the prior night with the Comedy package. It was simply beautiful.
We got to the hotel a bit before check in time and spent a short time in front of the fireplace in the lobby with gorgeous stonework.

When our room was ready, we were pleasantly surprised. We upgraded to a suite, which happened to be ADA compliant (note that not all rooms are ADA.) The room was easily the size of two regular rooms, with a bathroom nearly the size of the bedroom area. I can't say enough about the softness of the sheets. I want a set for my own home!!

Dinner in the Eighty-Eight was fabulous. The filet was perfectly cooked and the roasted root vegetable bisque was delicious. The New Years Eve buffet dinner and New Years Day brunch were both top notch. No complaints about the food at all.

The spa is amazing. Very beautiful. The grotto was opened late on the day on New Years Eve as they were waiting on the inspector to pass everything. I'm looking forward to enjoying this on a future visit.
There was an issue with us not being scheduled for all of the amenities in the package we had signed up for, but other than that we had a great time. Sherri and Ashley are the sweetest gals.

The entire staff of the Elms was very friendly, even though they were all putting in a lot of hours during the holiday weekend.

I look forward to staying in the Elms again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLG056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensville, Missouri, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Excellent service, excellent food, super comfy bed, lovely decor and historic building. We had one slight issue, which was dealt with well beyond our expectations and made our stay even better. They have some great package deals, like Comedy Club night and the NYE package. Love it!




  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St., Excelsior Springs, MO 64024
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing