We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed on Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Let me start by saying we have wanted to stay here for years. After all the renovations we booked it. The staff is AMAZING!! Clayton and (I can't remember his name but he had gages in his ears) Were SOOO nice, friendly, helpful and alway always greeted us with a smile and a gesture! Check in was fast and we got to our room. It was great but the view was of the AC units on top of the hotel. We loved our first night. We spent a couple hours in rocking chairs looking at the pretty grounds behind the hotel. We ate dinner in the Tavern which was very quiet and the service Superb! The second day we spent at the pool then to the spa. I had reflexology which ended up being pressure point so not at all what I wanted. The grotto is nice but there was a group of women chatting and laughing loud and non-stop so not very relaxing. Evening was a joke. All of the grounds behind the hotel were marked off for 3 weddings. The lobby was beyond noisy and very crowded. Kids running and screaming, photo booths set up. It was like the other guests(like us) did not matter. The Tavern from the night before was now Blasting AC/DC and dirty tables all over. We did sit down but could not hear each other talk so we left and went to the main bar. Casey and Patrick made our night!! Very personable and service was excellent. There were only 2 tables eating in the main dinning room. It is VERY expensive so we stuck to the bar menu and food was very good. When we checked out the next day I mentioned how we were disappointed that we could not access the grounds, the noise ect from all the weddings and the gal told me "next time ask what is going on here before you book!" Seriously?? I guess the money from the weddings meant a lot more than my money. I would NOT go back on a weekend with 80 weddings a year. Also if you plan to use the spa book as far in advance as possible! It was fully booked weeks before we even went. I kept checking and we got in on a cancellation. The grotto is not worth 55.00 alone. Get a service done and you get it included. Also this is not a place for children. And the AC in the room is LOUD!

Room Tip: Ask for away from elevators and a room looking over the pool or garden. NOT the AC units.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for The Elms Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

I love historic Excelsior Springs, the art-deco Hall of Water and Elms Hotel & Spa. After seeing the Elms in the 90s, I marvel at how it's been rehabilitated, while maintaining the historic feel. A Keurig in the room, thoughtful charging station and no-hassle wi-fi made us forgiving of a noisy air contitioner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The staff (all staff) was very friendly, professional and helpful. All our expectations were fulfilled. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. A wonderful barbeque restaurant was within walking distance. Small downtown shopping area but quant shops.




Room Tip: The beds were awesome! So very comfortable. 93 degrees out the two days we stayed and the air condi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

beautiful hotel and spa.still working out some kinks,but overall great time!The staff was very nice,the spa and grotto were the best part of the trip!!We were there during a wine festival,fun time,and close to the hotel.visited a small town bar called the atlas,fun time.Also ate at the Wabash bbq,which is across the street,very good!

Room Tip: air conditioner was loud
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

For those of you who haven't been to the Elms the recent renovations were done exceptionally well. We stayed there June 21 in conjunction with ES Wine Festival. Even though we were only there for one night we really enjoyed it and found it to be a great get away from KC.

The walls are a little thin, but that is normal for a hotel of this age. On the other hand the room is pleasantly large in spite of the age. The bathroom is nicely appointed and clean. The pool is quite nice and the 88 restaurant is pretty good.

Excelsior Springs is far from large, but if you are just looking for a weekend getaway you will be in good hands.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmateurPhototourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City, Missouri
11
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A great place to stay and use the Spa and Grotto. We received couples massage and loved the quiet room and comfy loungers. Very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel rooms are very nice and updated. A relaxing getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We really enjoyed this gorgeous hotel with so much history! Fitness room surpasses most hotel fitness centers and the pool inside was very relaxing! Every staff member greeted us and asked if we needed anything, they were so helpful. The 88 restaurant was a bit expensive but service was amazing and food was fine dining quality. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lat-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 109 in Kansas City
751 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
772 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Kearney-Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range: £102 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing