We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing Night”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My Fiancé took me here the night he asked me to marry him. He got us a couple package which included the room, a couples massage, a box of chocolate, wine and a rose. It was lovely. We spent time in the beautiful grotto then got our massages then spent a little more time in the grotto. I don't believe I have been that relaxed in my life. The massage therapist was amazing. The grottos was romantic and relaxing. The room was lovely and comfortable and clean. I must praise to no end the female at the front desk (I believe she was a supervisor of some kind) she was sooooo helpful. We got the wrong bottle of wine and she corrected it and offered to let us keep the bottle we got for free. She also helped us figure out a midnight snack when we were starving. She made the stay even more special. We had a great time I would suggest the stay for anyone looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnIrishErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    207
    68
    22
    12
See reviews for
175
460
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We used a Groupon to book a nice getaway over the Thanksgiving weekend. Let me go through the DISASTER sequentially.

1. When we arrived the front door was malfunctioning so we had to go in the side door. Not a huge issue, just inconvenient as I had to haul the luggage to the cart which I had to forage for.

2. The hotel was less than half full as evidenced by the number of keys in the slots at the desk when we arrived at 8pm. We were assigned a room as far from the elevator as was possible to get.

3. Got to the room, the toothbrush glass was badly cracked (and had been for a while) and was DIRTY with the last guests lip marks on the rim. We had the glass changed.

4.Went to the lap pool. It was SO COLD we did two laps and retreated to the hot-tub. The bubbles did not work!

5. Went to bed. Fell asleep quickly because we were both tired from the day. At 4am we gave up the struggle to stay asleep. a) the bed was so uncomfortable it was like camping and sleeping ion a straw mattress where you have to contort your body to accommodate the lumps. b) the noise from the in-room AC unit was so loud I used the decibel meter on my phone to clock the noise level at 75 decibels.

6. As we got out of bed my wife said that she felt some "grit" in the bed. I looked and found what appeared to me to be insect droppings perhaps from cockroaches. There was also black hair in the bed (not from either my wife or me). I took all this to the night manager who offered me a suite (and who confirmed the hotel was less than half full). The suite was just as noisy and bed just as lumpy.

7. We decided to stay in our room, and sit up with a cup of coffee and read or watch TV. While the manager was in the room my wife looked at the mugs provided for use with the coffee machine and there were "rings" inside both of them! They had been rinsed but not cleaned.

8. We were given vouchers for breakfast which was decidedly average. had to ASK for salt and pepper, and the wait staff was not attentive at all.

9. So we booked into the Sheraton on the Plaza in Kansas City!

By lunch we had been contacted by The Elms hotel manager, and shortly thereafter by Groupon and our money was refunded without demur.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pquentinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, MO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was a great place to stay. The room was beautiful and the staff was super friendly and helpful. We loved it and will definitely go again. The grotto was great with a nice hot tub and saunas. We also used the indoor lap pool and it was very nice. Our room was a King Parlor Suite and it was very nice with a separate living room area, a small bar area and a beautiful bedroom. There were flat screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Parlor Suite and it was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We discovered a special Halloween ghost hunt package offered by the Elms. We were glad to have made the decision to consider a property outside of Kansas City. The hotel was immaculate with well appointed rooms and comfortable beds. The ghost tour was definitely interesting; even though, it did drag on a tad too long. Breakfast was disappointing with rather small portions.Staff provided superb customer service. Not much to see in Excelsior Springs, but worth a walk about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior have views of the outdoor pool. Make time to enjoy the indoor lap pool - a hid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowGlobeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This place is like out of a movie. Fantastic experience, beautiful scenery, wonderful ammenities. The grotto is a MUST, have a massage- nothing like it- but book it in advance. Clean, spacious rooms. Gorgeous and romantic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG111012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wife and I stayed at The Elms for our anniversary. Did the suite. We were absolutely delighted. Staff was great from booking through our stay. Helpful and professional. Suite was everything we expected and then some. The Elms is a beautiful place. The feel is very dignified and yet relaxed. We worked our way through the grotto, with the hot tub, dry sauna, steam sauna and steam shower. The cold plunge shower was really really cold! Walked the garden trail one evening. Did breakfast at the 88 both days, and the fare was excellent. All in all, I can't say enough good about The Elms. A great place to get away without having to drive far. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: .The "Al Capone" suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puertoboy1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have travelled to the Elms over the last three decades, and the experience just keeps getting better. The newly refurbished rooms and 'the grotto' are a visual and sensual delight, the atmosphere classic yet modern and the facilities top notch. My partner and I were treated like royalty and the staff were very prompt and attentive. Clean, classy and comfortable, the new Elms is an absolute must for any couple wanting a unique and cozy getaway.

Room Tip: We got the 'Al Capone' room, #214. Not only a great view of the Elms but a piece of history...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
707 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
705 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#4 of 18 in Independence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing