We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Inn on Crescent Lake(Excelsior Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
679
237
89
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
679
237
89
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourindoor lap poolhot tubgrotto areaal caponesteam saunaparlor suitememory foamquiet roomkansas cityrelaxing weekendfifth floorgirls weekendwedding partywabash bbqexfoliationpeppermint
Filter
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had never been to KC and searched trip advisor. We are spa people and also love historic locations. We had an amazing weekend. We are from an area with a "Victorian" tourist destination. The crescent hotel needs a lesson in restoration from this place. It is the best of both. The room and facility are updated and Hampton- like but the history and old era lives on. Truly wonderful job. I hope the corporation never forgets that the staff is the key. Samantha at the front desk, Debbie and Pam at the 5th floor reception (pay for the upgrade!) and Chris our spa concierge to name a few. We were very difficult spa guests and they did such a good job we booked more services the next evening. The grotto really is a good as they advertise. Like I said, we are spa frequenters and this is top notch all the way. The peppermint towels are worth the price and love the "quiet" room. We went to broadway st for a couple of hours and spent the rest if our time in the spa and hotel. The town of excelsior springs is an economically challenged area no doubt about it. The Elms is like an island there. But do not miss the opportunity to go downtown to Willow Springs store on Broadway. The food is great great great and the shop was so fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean. Quiet. We enjoyed the tavern and had the best amaretto sours ever! Check in was slow but they upgraded us to a parlor suite for the trouble. The spa was totally booked so make your reservation early.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jackersamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you're wondering if you should visit the Grotto, wonder no more! GO! There is a hot tub kept at 104, steam sauna with eucalyptus kept at 120, a dry sauna kept at 180, a steam shower with provided exfoliating scrub (really interesting and unusual sensation is to get on the steam shower and turn the actual shower head on cool water...heat all around you but cool water raining down onto you, very nice). They also have a cold plunge shower kept at 55 so you can cool off quickly if you get overheated. The lounge chairs are phenomenally comfortable and they also provide ice chilled spearmint scented facial towels for a quick cooling off and water for drinking so that ones stays well hydrated.

The Grotto is free if you purchase spa treatments, which I recommend, otherwise it is $55 per person. You can get a half hour massage for $55 and then the Grotto is yours to use all day and night that same day. Book spa treatments early, like when you book your room. It is a very high quality spa experience that you won't find anywhere in the Kansas City are (Kansas or Missouri sides). There is a quiet room that offers water, tea and snacks as well as a very nice locker room for men and woman (separate of course). They provide you with a locker to keep your personal belongings, plenty of towels and a comfy incredibly soft robe as well as foot protection if your forget your own flip flops. I had the Rejuvenating facial and the Vishay shower massage, which left a bit to be desired, but only because I had a technician that would rather chat than actually massage, so it could have been much better. The massage beds are tops, heated, adjustable and the bed dressings are so plush that you instantly slip away into comfort.

The gym is well appointed, clean, bright and ready for use 24 hours a day with your too key.

There is a large oval lap pool in the lower level that used to be the only one in the states of it's kind, but has since been replicated by other designers. They say copying is the best form of flattery!

There is an outdoor hot tub that is the size of a residential pool and also an outdoor pool that is very nice with a huge decking for relaxing in the summer. It was cold we we didn't enjoy the pool this time. We did enjoy the Grotto...my favorite thing.

Originally built in 1888, but lost twice to fires and reconstructed both times, the building standing now was contrasted in 1912. A faulty boiler caused the 2nd fire and you can find the top of that faulty boiler on display on the 5th floor, it's huge and nice to see. The Hotel itself is gorgeous! It's a combination of old and new and there are stories of it's being haunted with several guests and employees through the years telling stories of ghost sightings or hearing voices, screams, etc. Whether it's true or not it doesn't make the hotel any less spectacular!

There is a coffee and pastry shop in the front lobby so coffee lovers won't have to search far for a good expression, mocha or latter and it's open until 10pm on Friday and Saturday. It serves desserts, juices, fruits and also sandwiches for lunch.

There is a full service restaurant as well. We made reservation and were promptly seated and severed. The food was not the best, but it certainly want hag worthy either. It just left a lot to be desired considering the hotel itself is so plush and unique. I expected the food to be mouthwatering and unforgettable, but it fell short on all the senses.

They had a breakfast buffet on Saturday morning, which we knew nothing about, so the hotel could do a little better making guests aware of their on site food choices. We ordered breakfast in the room. Room service was quick, 10 minutes form call to room, but now we know why...they already had everything prepared for the Buffet. We thought they were just really good until our friends told us about the Buffet. Breakfast was reasonably priced and typical. There is a Daylight donuts and lots of fast food places close by if you are into that kind of thing.

We booked a suite for $30 upgrade and it was much better than the standard room. So upgrade to a suite! We had enough room in the living area to complete yoga without moving any furniture. The suite also has a separate bar sink, mini fridge and Keurig coffee maker single cup (you can buy k-cups in the coffee shop and take to your room). There is NO microwave in the suite, just FYI. The bed is deliciousness! The bedding is clean, crisp and incredibly conformable. The decor is flattering, there are flat screen TVA in the living area and the bedroom. The Suite has it's own adjustable heating and cooling as well.

The bathroom is small and not terribly well appointed. There is absolutely no where to place your toiletries, so I utilized the bar area to store bathroom products, flat iron, perfume, makeup, etc.
The water pressure is wonderful though and the water itself is like silk on your skin. After-all, this is Excelsior Springs and got it's reputation from the healing water springs on the property.

The hotel sits on 15 acres, I believe, and there are walking trails in the rear of the property. I'm certain it will be stunning this spring and summer, but it was cold when we were there so didn't take a lot of time outside.

This would be wonderful place to have a wedding, anniversary party, etc that wants to feel intimate, but to large and important for a community center or neighborhood Clubhouse. There is a large gathering room in the lower level that is just gorgeous. The chandeliers make it so elegant and the rounded glass wall of windows on one side just adds to the feel. I kept imagining what it must have been like during prohibition era. The Elms was a very important place in its time and should still be considered as such.

Really, I know it's just Missouri, but it's probably the best place to stay in the State. The staff were all kind and hospitable and willing to help you with your needs right away.

The do offer you a wifi code when you check in that works great. We even checked in on. Friday morning about 5 hours EARLY!

They offer a ghost tour on Friday and Saturday nights I believe (maybe more times too), but I'm certain at 10pm. It's an interesting way to hear about the stories and rumors and the guide, Jay (I think) is entertaining and does well to keep you engaged.

I could go on, it suffice it to say it really is fabulous. The Spa, the Grotto, the Hotel, the service, the staff, the coffee, the wifi, the location, the gerunds, the amenities, ALL TOP NOTCH. My only drawback, the restaurant needs to step up its game big time!

Do yourself a favor, take a trip back in time to historical elegance and visit the Elms and the Spa. I promise you won't be disappointed. We WILL be going back again soon! It truly is. Beautiful place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite! Rooms 439 and 212 are said to be the most haunted, if I remember correctly from the ghost tour. We had room 218 right at the top of the stairs which was excellent because we never had to take the elevator and accessed all of the amenities very easily.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great anniversary weekend at The Elms Hotel and Spa! Everything was top notch and we came away very relaxed and happy. The food, staff, and accommodations were superb and I honestly could not think of one thing that could have been improved upon. I love how peaceful and quaint it is and cannot wait to take more friends and family along for the experience. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a wonderful experience at The Elms Hotel and Spa! From the room to the spa and gratto, EVERYTHING was great! The staff was friendly and available any time we needed them. Food at the 88 was excellent. Nothing negative to report. HIGHLY recommend!

Room Tip: Room was clean and well stocked.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn & Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews