We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'll never forget gasping when I first saw the hotel as I pulled up. It's gorgeous, so much original material from 1912. Staff is super friendly. Be sure to go on the ghost tour - Jay, the tour guide, is exceptional.

Room Tip: Location was, of course, remote but that's the point, being built on the springs and such a hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lybrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friend and I recently used the Spa at the Elms. It was by far the best spa experience we've ever had. Everyone who worked there was polite and very professional. The Spa was very tranquil and the amenities were great. We booked the "twice as nice" package and were there the whole day, even eating lunch in our robes in the hotel lobby. I wish I had booked a room to stay because I was so relaxed at the end of the spa experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Elms' latest incarnation is fantastic. Can't say enough about the historic lobby, the rooms (try a Presidential Suite or the Club Floor) the Spa and the courteous staff. I used to tell people to stay there because of the history of the place, and you kind of had to overlook its current tackiness...no more! This remodel was done very well. Rooms are not terribly expensive for such a lovely place. Try staying a Sunday night, you'll have the place to yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlatheRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Quaint, nicely updated hotel less than an hour from Kansas City and 45 minutes from the airport. My wife and I checked in just after a wedding party checked out and we practically had the hotel to ourselves. The room was clean and comfortable. We ate all of our meals at the hotels restaurant. The food was very good and nicely presented. We'd like to see the menu expanded a little bit. The highlight of our two-day stay was the spa and its full services. We spent almost an entire day there. The spa staff was excellent and very personable and so was the rest of the hotel staff. We look forward to returning at a warmer time of the year so we can enjoy the hotel's outdoor setting and amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 922Edaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was great. The staff was very helpful and the service was flawless. The rooms and overall hotel were very clean. I would surely recommend this hotel to anyone. The food was great and this hotel has a great bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had never been to KC and searched trip advisor. We are spa people and also love historic locations. We had an amazing weekend. We are from an area with a "Victorian" tourist destination. The crescent hotel needs a lesson in restoration from this place. It is the best of both. The room and facility are updated and Hampton- like but the history and old era lives on. Truly wonderful job. I hope the corporation never forgets that the staff is the key. Samantha at the front desk, Debbie and Pam at the 5th floor reception (pay for the upgrade!) and Chris our spa concierge to name a few. We were very difficult spa guests and they did such a good job we booked more services the next evening. The grotto really is a good as they advertise. Like I said, we are spa frequenters and this is top notch all the way. The peppermint towels are worth the price and love the "quiet" room. We went to broadway st for a couple of hours and spent the rest if our time in the spa and hotel. The town of excelsior springs is an economically challenged area no doubt about it. The Elms is like an island there. But do not miss the opportunity to go downtown to Willow Springs store on Broadway. The food is great great great and the shop was so fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean. Quiet. We enjoyed the tavern and had the best amaretto sours ever! Check in was slow but they upgraded us to a parlor suite for the trouble. The spa was totally booked so make your reservation early.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jackersamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
776 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Kearney-Liberty
21.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
21.8 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range: £98 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing