We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our three day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
“Our three day stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our three day stay for our grandaughter's wedding was very nice, the food was good and the staff very courteous. Our only objection was the room AC units which were very loud and there was not a way to shut them off.





Room Tip: Replace the indoor AC units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boortz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    205
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
174
456
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Elms has been restored to an amazing level with the latest technology. Spa, Restaurant, lap pool, and grounds are first rate.

A historical hotel withe today's cleanliness and technology.

One of our favorites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited this property in our youth. Our daughter was married here. Now, we visit for a very pleasant weekend anniversary outing. Pleasant folks at every juncture. If you didn't find it or it wasn't offered, you probably didn't need it. Room large, bath small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are looking to get away from the city to relax for an evening or two, the Elms is your place. They offer various price points for multiple budgets as far as rooms go, but the atmosphere is top notch. There is definitely a calming effect at, and around, the Elms and it's property. We will definitely be going for another stay.

Room Tip: Don't keep your room key in the same pocket as your cell phone, your key may not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star, Id
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I love that it is tucked away in a sleepy little town and the history that it has to offer. The renovations and upkeep of this hotel you couldnt tell that it was built in 1912.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went for our anniversary, and had an excellent time. We purchased a romantic getaway package that included couple massage, wine, chocolates, the room. The Grotto was by far my favorite part of the trip!! The food was great for both dinner and breakfast and priced as expected!! Great place for couples, girls trips, mother/daughter trips!! Really enjoyed ourselves, very relaxing!!

Room Tip: our room air conditioner had a loud gurgling noise each time it kicked off. It was annoying by the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bethbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I really want to be able to give this treasure of a property a higher rating, but extremely spotty service really left a poor taste in my mouth. The building and overall property are a gem, but from about 75% of the staff I had contact with, we got Super 8 level service. Not what you'd expect from a hotel charging $200+ a night. The remaining 25% gave excellent service (namely the night manager and the reception hostess on 5th floor), so I don't want to throw them under the bus.

I was given the wrong type of room after confirming twice that I was getting what I asked for. Then when we got up to the room and it wasn't what we had asked for, they said I could come down and get keys. No offer to run them up for me or move our bags. Keurig machine broken = no coffee in room.

Royal Level is not worth it AT ALL. The first night we were there there were no complimentary beverages or snacks available. We were not offered turn-down service, our upgraded linens were actually scratchy. I laughed when I just looked at their site and saw these things were listed as benefits, because they were no where to be seen. The manager's reception the second night did have a nice spread and the hostess was delightful, but definitely not worth the major upcharge to stay on 5th floor.

I complained several times about all the issues and was finally given a discount on our bill, but again, this was a headache, manager told me I had already been given a discount, when that wasn't true.

BUT, I would stay there again, because the pool area is gorgeous and the grounds are really special, and I did love the old vibe and the history. I just hope next time we are overwhelmed by great service.

Don't expect to be able to eat late during the week! We weren't ready to eat until 8:30 and everywhere, literally, was closed except a bar downtown, where we ended up with very friendly service and yummy food. Don't miss the Hall of Waters, and check out the little shops downtown - cute stuff and good people. Don't miss BobCorn popcorn! Also had an enjoyable afternoon of snacks and wine at Van Till Winery. We went to The Majestic jazz club in KC for our anniversary dinner and had the BEST time! Yummy BBQ at The Wabash across the street from The Elms, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room. The pool area is very pretty! If you are on a higher floor, you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingforSun1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing