We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband took me on a surprise trip to the elms for a belated birthday trip. He did the "romance package" and we were very happy with it! We stayed a Saturday and Sunday night. I would have rated it a 5 but we had a few issues with our room placement and a key mix up issue- but we addressed it with the front desk and they were extremely helpful. Everyone working was apologetic for the issues and we not only got a discount on our stay but also free drinks and breakfast.

A few things to mention...
They do have a lot of weddings ( which is expected because it is beautiful) so if you are coming to visit for a quiet spa getaway maybe try a "non weekend" night. Saturday it was extremely busy and tons of people but Sunday night it was quiet and very laid back. It was almost like a completely different hotel! Also if you are not a part of the wedding and plan on going to bed before midnight- request a room on the 3rd-5th floors as you will hear the music from the reception in some areas.

The rooms were beautiful and clean. The robes were amazing :-) and I wish I could have kept it! Everything was great after we had our few hiccups resolved!

The spa... Amazing. We had a massage and then spent time in the grotto. So relaxing and beautiful. Also the pools were great and are open late.

A few things to try in town...
Willow Springs Mercantile- great food and wine. The people are nice, friendly and helpful.
Bob's Popcorn- again great selection and new favors plus great people working/owners!
Van Till Winery- it's a drive but it was worth it. Delicious pizza and fun wine sampling!
Fence Stiles Winery- much closer and they also do wine tasting (not a restaurant though but you can bring your own food I believe) also they have music in the summer so check their website!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthajvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    207
    68
    22
    12
See reviews for
175
460
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a girls' trip to the Elms. Everyone who works there is very nice and extremely helpful, but the communication between departments could use some improvement. We arrived around 1:00 and we were hungry and we were told the restaurant was open, so we went to the restaurant for a small lunch. It took an hour and a half to get 3 appetizers. The manager was notified and he apologized and gave us vouchers for breakfast--which was delicious. The next day, we had appointments at the spa. One of the girls in our group was pregnant and we told them that when we made the appointment. She brought a note from her doctor and everything, but somehow her condition was not communicated to the therapists, so they had to do some quick maneuvering to find someone to do a prenatal massage. They also charged her extra for it, but didn't tell her it cost more until after they had done it. Overall however, it was a very nice place and the people were nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Soto, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Would recommend this girls getaway trip to anyone. Great experience at the spa and fun places to eat in town as well. We had a nice time and would come back again. The Elms manager was very friendly and personable.





  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Elms is an excellent place to stay. Very nice rooms. Great staff. Super nice pool. A spa that will bring you back time after time. The 88 is a good restaurant with a menu that can fit any palate. The food is very good. They have an excellent spa with a lot of variety of services offered. I always receive excellent treatment. And then there is the pool. Very nice & relaxing.

Room Tip: Very comfortable. Great sleep. Good place for a retreat also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Must say we were overall pleased with our stay and the quality of the hotel. Built in 1888 but recently remodeled and updated. We had a parlor suite which was very spacious. Samantha was as good as it gets from a checking in stand point and very helpful with things to do and restaurants. The BBQ restaurant (Wabash) was excellent as well as the popcorn place she pointed out. Not real thrilled with the new beds though. A little to soft for my taste though others may like them. Cool enough in the room but the A/C kept going off and on all night and blew directly onto the bed which hurt the sleep somewhat.

Room Tip: Parlor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, AR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Elms Hotel & Spa has completed a $28 Million renovation of this hotel built in 1912. WOW! They kept the best of the old and updated it, and then modernized the restaurant, pools and spa. We stayed there one night, and did NOT want to check out. It is about 10 miles off the Interstate, NW of Kansas City, right in the middle of Excelsior Springs, MO, and it is absolutely worth the extra little drive to find it. Use your GPS. Spacious rooms, big bathrooms, all new, sprinkler systems, beautiful grounds, a real gem. And it only cost us about $130. Meals are extra, but superb quality.

Room Tip: We had their standard room with a king bed, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,285 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We actually went here for a marriage retreat and enjoyed the old, historic feel of the hotel. They have recently updated the indoor pool area and made it more modern and got rid of the old pink color. The outside areas are great too. Nice little retreat from KC proper. They have multiple styles of rooms to fit your needs and budget. We didn't in the hotel but did enjoy the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
707 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
705 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#4 of 18 in Independence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing