We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy and relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park
1 review
“Happy and relaxed”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Elms Hotel and Spa. We especially enjoyed the massages and the Grotto in the Spa. Everyone was very friendly and made accommodations for us. The air conditioning was very loud in our room but the beds were extremely comfortable and soft. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    212
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
182
466
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel! The rooms are huge! The beds are super comfy! And the pools and hot tubs are wonderful! I wish I would have had more time so I could have visited the spa... I am definitely visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Let me start with this: We'll be back. Again and again (and again). The Elm's is a perfect mix of charming, luxurious and down-to-earth. I'm a sucker for old hotels, and what I like about the Elms is that they've retained the classic old hotel feel, but with modern upgrades like a spa, lap pool, updated gym and comfy rooms. The prices are excellent, too, though I suspect that is because it is off the beaten track. The week we were there, it was practically desolate (not that I'm complaining). We had a lovely meal at the hotel restaurant and some classic cocktails at the bar (only $8). If you get the chance, wander into town (it's about a 10 minute walk) to explore the historic mineral baths (now defunct, but truly educational) and the great antique stores.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband took me on a surprise trip to the elms for a belated birthday trip. He did the "romance package" and we were very happy with it! We stayed a Saturday and Sunday night. I would have rated it a 5 but we had a few issues with our room placement and a key mix up issue- but we addressed it with the front desk and they were extremely helpful. Everyone working was apologetic for the issues and we not only got a discount on our stay but also free drinks and breakfast.

A few things to mention...
They do have a lot of weddings ( which is expected because it is beautiful) so if you are coming to visit for a quiet spa getaway maybe try a "non weekend" night. Saturday it was extremely busy and tons of people but Sunday night it was quiet and very laid back. It was almost like a completely different hotel! Also if you are not a part of the wedding and plan on going to bed before midnight- request a room on the 3rd-5th floors as you will hear the music from the reception in some areas.

The rooms were beautiful and clean. The robes were amazing :-) and I wish I could have kept it! Everything was great after we had our few hiccups resolved!

The spa... Amazing. We had a massage and then spent time in the grotto. So relaxing and beautiful. Also the pools were great and are open late.

A few things to try in town...
Willow Springs Mercantile- great food and wine. The people are nice, friendly and helpful.
Bob's Popcorn- again great selection and new favors plus great people working/owners!
Van Till Winery- it's a drive but it was worth it. Delicious pizza and fun wine sampling!
Fence Stiles Winery- much closer and they also do wine tasting (not a restaurant though but you can bring your own food I believe) also they have music in the summer so check their website!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthajvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a girls' trip to the Elms. Everyone who works there is very nice and extremely helpful, but the communication between departments could use some improvement. We arrived around 1:00 and we were hungry and we were told the restaurant was open, so we went to the restaurant for a small lunch. It took an hour and a half to get 3 appetizers. The manager was notified and he apologized and gave us vouchers for breakfast--which was delicious. The next day, we had appointments at the spa. One of the girls in our group was pregnant and we told them that when we made the appointment. She brought a note from her doctor and everything, but somehow her condition was not communicated to the therapists, so they had to do some quick maneuvering to find someone to do a prenatal massage. They also charged her extra for it, but didn't tell her it cost more until after they had done it. Overall however, it was a very nice place and the people were nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Soto, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Would recommend this girls getaway trip to anyone. Great experience at the spa and fun places to eat in town as well. We had a nice time and would come back again. The Elms manager was very friendly and personable.





  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Elms is an excellent place to stay. Very nice rooms. Great staff. Super nice pool. A spa that will bring you back time after time. The 88 is a good restaurant with a menu that can fit any palate. The food is very good. They have an excellent spa with a lot of variety of services offered. I always receive excellent treatment. And then there is the pool. Very nice & relaxing.

Room Tip: Very comfortable. Great sleep. Good place for a retreat also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
722 reviews
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
733 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing