We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

April G, Samatha B and Marianna are ROCK STARS! They know how to treat guests as very special VIP's. They are friendly, entertaining and make a guest feel relaxed and pampered. The Elms is a beautiful venue, a step back in time when people actually talked, walked and enjoyed their surroundings. Anyone with an interest in history, and ghosts must stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Robin,

Thank your for taking the time to not only write a kind review, but for remembering those who made your stay memorable! We strive to create the best experience for our guests, and upmost customer service is part of this. We hope to see you soon! I will pass on your kind words to April, Samantha, and Marianna as well!

Sincerely,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for The Elms Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

A MUST for everyone! Book a "spa" treatment and you get full use of the Gratto for the full day of your service. They have a Dry Sauna, Steam Sauna, Hot tub, Shower/Steam Sauna and a Cold Water Shower. They also provide peppermint ice cold wash clothes and a Sea salt/rose pedal to use!! SOOO RELAXING! **Please note** if your staying for more than one night and your planning on more than one Spa treatment book them on separate days so you can use the Gratto BOTH days.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solarheatenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Solar,

We enjoyed reading your review of The Elms Hotel and Spa, and thank you for your generous review! Our Spa was completely redesigned during the renovation to exemplify an atmosphere of relaxation and rejuvenation. We love hearing back from our guests on their spa experiences, and we are thrilled you had a wonderful time.

Kind Regards,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The new and improved elms is nothing short of amazing. Keep in mind this hotel is from 1888 , and there is a lot of history here . The rooms are clean the bar staff amazing. Now if you get a cheaper room yes it is small , but very nice.

Room Tip: Don't expect a big room if you get a cheap room. All the rooms are very nice with memory foam ma...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to write a warm review of The Elms Hotel and Spa. We agree, the multi-million dollar renovation that occurred a few years ago restored the property to its former glory. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed 2 different times and have enjoyed the hotel both times. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and well kept up. For example- I went to the pool one afternoon and the lock on the gate seemed to be broken. Someone came during the time I was at the pool and repaired the lock. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The second time we visited we had the King room with an additional sitting room. I would recommend...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Becky,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Elms Hotel and Spa. We are delighted to hear your stay was comfortable and our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves on maintaining our beautiful property and we appreciate that you noticed us taking care of our gate and the dedication we have to maintaining our historic gem. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nice place to stay very friendly helpful accomidating staff. I work out in the Fitness room nice new equipment to workout with. Rooms are clean and have alot of room in them. I like the design of the rooms and the Big TVs. Staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Lori,

Thank you so much for your thoughts in regards to your recent stay with us. We truly feel that our staff members are just as charming as The Elms Hotel & Spa. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A unique hotel with an interesting history. Our room was large and very comfortable. We also had a large bathroom with a walk in showers and a beautiful black and white basket weave tile floor. We especially enjoyed the Ghost Tour which also gave us an interesting history of the hotel. Don't miss the lap pool. It is a little hard to find in a basement area but well worth doing the stairs for. The elevator is small, but take the stairs if you feel like exercising, the stair rails are unique. Also enjoy the hand laid tile floor in the lobby which is original to the hotel. We were there for a meeting and the group was served breakfast and dinner. The food was good at both meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind review of The Elms Hotel and Spa! We enjoying hearing from all of our guests and we are thrilled to hear that your banquet and meeting experience was superb. Thank you for mentioning the delight you found in our historic charm and aspects of our elegant renovation. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Elms is a favorite "go to" for my husband and I. We love the history and ambiance. The hotel has had a major renovation but it still ahs that historical charm. The spa is fabulous and we find something new each time we go. The community of Excelsior Springs is struggling however there are some great restaurants and you are only a short trip to some great KC shopping! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Ask about the haunted rooms and the ghost tours!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Elms Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for being our guest, and sharing your very kind review! We certainly appreciate the opportunity to share your thoughts with all of our associates. We take pride in our historical charm and relaxing environment. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kaylee Fitzgibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 109 in Kansas City
751 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
772 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Kearney-Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Region: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range: £102 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing