We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Throwback to the 1930's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Lunch

Ray's Lunch
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Throwback to the 1930's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We ate lunch here on a whim and we're so glad we did. We ordered the hamburger, fries and chili (yum), but I think the best part was watching all the locals. Mid-westerners are truly nice and hospitable people and we felt it as soon as we entered the doors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably hasn't changed much since 1932”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was a true old fashioned American diner, right down to not accepting credit cards. The food was great and the atmosphere was fun and full of nostalgia. We had cheeseburgers and fries and it all tasted awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkKnight0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BETHANY, MISSOURI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty Close To Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Do NOT be "turned off" by the outer appearance. This little diner has been in business since 1932 and they're STILL doing it the old fashioned way...great food, great price and great service. The waitress was wonderful, funny and friendly, the food was perfect, and where can you get a shimp basket with fries and cole slaw for less than $5? Forget all the fancy, name brand, chain eateries out on the main highway. Go downtown and look for the bright, white building with the big, red "RAY'S".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandKathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Best burger joint around. Great atmosphere and very quaint. Doesn't hold a lot of people so time it right or you may have to wait a bit. I haven't been there for breakfast but heard it's excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fitting in with the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had breakfast at Ray's two mornings on a quick weekend getaway to Excelsior Springs. Good food, wonderful atmosphere and nice waitresses. Realized the "group" by the window were all the firemen having eggs before walking back across the street to the Excelsior Springs fire department house. Enjoyed hearing all the local banter and learning about sites we'd want to take in while there. Others have described the memorabilia--it was super!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C0untryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing