We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Judge a Book By Its Cover”
Review of Kirkton Inn

Kirkton Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalrymple
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalrymple B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Although the exterior looks in need of TLC it belies the warmth and charm of this old worldly pub. We stumbled across this pub,,arriving late without a booking, but all this was handled without a problem. The proprietor is a very hard-working and determined lady who is trying, single-handedly to rejuvenate this previously run down establishment. It is a work in progress and future guests should bear this in mind.

The owner, a chef, was able to provide an excellent dinner, from a very comprehensive menu, at short notice. Our room, in separate quarters behind the pub, while basic were clean,comfortable
And quiet.

We also loved the pub experience. Being a cosy bar, in a small country town, we were made feel most welcome by the locals. As overseas visitors we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Kirkton Inn

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was travelling solo researching family history and wanted to stay in simple accommodation at or as near to Dalrymple as I could manage. I read all of the previous reviews and they were really helpful. Room reservation was simple and efficient. Late night arrival was no problem and they were happy to receive me at any time including small hours. I arrived about 11pm after a long drive on a very unseasonal cold May night. I was shown my room in a self contained annex at the back of the Inn. Lights were on, it was warm, cozy clean and tidy. There were ample tea and coffee making facilities in the room. En-suite suite facilities and shower were fine. All very relaxed and flexible. Breakfast would be provided at the time it suited me and on both mornings was spot on. I was out and about on both days until late so didn't take evening meals but the menu looked interesting and there was a vegetarian option. Bars are lively but being out the back of the Inn there was no disturbance or noise. There was plenty of car parking space. In short, it is easy to be picky ( some bits need re-decorating/upgrading or refurbishing) but I felt that for simple straightforward accommodation with breakfast the Kirkton Inn offers good value. Perhaps it is important just to remember that this is a Pub/Inn that provides rooms- it is not a Hotel.

Room Tip: The annex rooms at the rear of the Inn are quiet, self contained and you can park near to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stopped here on way home to Edinburgh from Stranraer.
Kids were desperate for food and I remembered the Kirkton from a few years earlier, food was excellent and really hit the spot.
not the most modern of hotels but if its food your looking for on a short stop it does the trick

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Donswanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife & I plus eight friends recently cycled from Lands End to John O Groats, this was one of 18 pre booked hotel stops along the way.When you have been riding a bike for 8 or 9 hours the first thing you want to do is get out of those sweaty clothes & have a shower.Out of the 9 people that actually cycled I was the only one who had a shower.It would have been even better had it been a hot or even warm one but it was cold.There were also signs in the shower of the previous use as half empty shampoo & body wash bottles were on top of the shower unit.We had a room that was supposed to have been refurbished but it was poor to say the least .The bed although made looked uninviting & when the sheets were pulled back the bottom sheet looked like it had been slept in the night before.One of the worst places I have ever stayed in.One of the other rooms my friends stayed in they could not get any water at all shower sink or toilet.
On a brighter note we all ate there that night & the food was excellent & the breakfast next morning was also top notch one the men actually said it was the best breakfast he'd ever had.Overall we all said we'd never go there again.

Room Tip: I think we took all the rooms they had & no one liked their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lifeisoutthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We chose this as it was close to where I was brought up and family could come and visit, which they did. Also fine historic sites to see. Staff were friendly and looked after us well. Breakfast was great with a wonderfull choice, we ate in the resturant each night, again the food was fantastic. Although as we found as all over Scotland the meals are quite large if you stay, check you can get smaller servings. Our room was very large and very comfortable. I think we got to know everyone in town as we were greeted with hellos everywhere we went and our trips to historic places were again terrific. This is so close to airport, Prestwick, beaches and the hills

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alter45nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

A very warm welcome from the owner Mrs Vicky Fairfowl and a great full well cooked breakfast,other than this a dark uninteresting place. Our room was very spacious but very lack luster surrounds,poor quality furnishings,although beds clean and comfortable. Toilet facilities cramped and difficult ,no hot water in a very small sink. Shower had a high step up.
Small towels supplied. We didn't eat at the Inn as the menu did not appeal.
Such a pity that the brewery could make the pub attractive and up date and the owners could have help in redecoration.making this old hotel a real jewell

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rosewell092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Good food and value for money - would recommend and will be back - full of character.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayrshireisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kirkton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Inn

Address: 1-3 Main Street, Dalrymple KA6 6DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Dalrymple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalrymple
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing