We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The River
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This motel has had extensive remodeling. The updated rooms are wonderful. The location is great as you can walk to everything in the downtown historical district. Museums, shopping, theater and dining all within a few minutes walk. It is also located close to the "Big Muddy" and makes for a nice evening walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    250
    64
    17
    18
See reviews for
257
249
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Ks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

the city was under a boil water order because of pump failure at the water treatment plant. When we stopped, we saw the notice and decided to move on. A very pleasant young lady attempted to assist us but said she was unable to do so. She said the girl she was working with would have to take care of canceling our reservation. The other young lady was on her cell phone, ordering her dinner. She appeared to see that we were waiting but ignored us for 5 to 10 minutes while she ordered her dinner. I was displeased with the poor customer service on her part. The hotel looked nice and clean but with the assistance I received from this particular front desk clerk, I doubt I'd ever stay at this hotel if I came through this way again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggone037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here while traveling on our motorcycle. They let us park under the overhang of the motel and were friendly and nice. It was a great location to the historical downtown and you could walk there easily and just leave your bike at the hotel. Rooms were very nice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we loved this hotel, the view of the Mississippi were lovely. The staff very friendly & helpful.
within walking distance of all attractions. Breakfast was very good & lots of it. staff were very quick at refilling when food & drink ran out, also very quiet in rooms. will definitely come back/

Room Tip: ask for room facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posiedon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
readyville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

excellent hotel - friendly and helpful staff - a little on the high side of price but with 4 people, the brekfast buffet and the friendly staff offset the price. would reccomend Best Western on the River in Hannibal, Missouri

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel was a nice surprise. The room was very clean, which is a must. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel amenities were very good. The breakfast was a full meal. The only negative I can say is the blonde check in clerk was not overly friendly nor overly helpful but the hotel itself was very nice. It is within walking distance of the downtown historic district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billbarb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, Il
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This Hotel was perfect for exploring the Historic part of Hannibal. We only moved the car twice in 3 days and that was to go to the caves and a restaurant near the interstate. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice with microwave and frig in each room. We had been in one of the caves when a bad storm hit Hannibal and we didn't know it until we came out. We got back to the hotel to find no electricity in our rooms but a generator lit the lobby and pool area so the kids could swim while we waited for the lights to come back on.We also all had flashlights from our cave tour so the it was like a big adventure for my 5 grandkids. This was a great place to stay for a visit to Hannibal.

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor rooms with the pool right outside our door. With 5 Grandkids, it was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgpayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Hannibal
287 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The River

Property: Best Western On The River
Address: 401 N 3rd St, Hannibal, MO 63401 (Formerly Best Western Plus On The River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The River Hotel Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing