We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Vacation - Perfect B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hannibal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mini Vacation - Perfect B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here as a mini getaway around the 4th of July. It was wonderful! John & Julie were very inviting and John gave us a tour as soon as we arrived. He made it clear he would help if we needed something, but also didn't hover and gave us our privacy. We stayed in the Woodside Trail Cottage. Everything about it was wonderful! Parking was between the mansion and cabins, easy access, cabin was VERY clean, stocked with sodas and soup and mugs and coffee. Even had embossed toothbrushes! Sheets and towels were clean, they had just cleaned the hot tub, which worked perfectly and was wonderful!! The views were gorgeous every where!! We also looked around inside the mansion and it was beautiful, got plenty of pictures! Breakfast was WONDERFUL! When we stayed we had Garth Juice, a sausage and egg bake, fresh fruit (best fruit ever) and a sour cream fruit sauce, also muffins with a homemade raspberry butter. . It was all delicious and plenty filling and John & Julie were polite and made breakfast comfortable. The dining room view is also beautiful as you can see into the gardens. We loved our stay and we will be back next year for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itbebrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    23
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
195
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! There is not a bad thing to say about this place. Beautiful scenery, lovely mansion, great cottages. Best of all, amazing hosts! I highly recommend it to anyone that is in the area. Comfortable, hospitality, old time charm, and the owners are simply a hoot!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Garth Mansion. The building and decor are stunning and so very well maintained. My jaw dropped when we pulled up the drive at night, it was SO much better than the pictures suggested. My jaw kept dropping as we spent some time on the first floor of the mansion, looking at all the treasures and antiques. It was like we were getting to spend the night in a museum... in a GOOD way!

Our room was very clean, comfortable, well appointed and the newer pieces really fit in well with the originals. I really liked having a thermostat in our room so we could adjust it individually. We had home baked cookies two of the three nights and coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sodas, bottled water and snacks were always available downstairs. There is a good collection of DVDs and you can bring one or two up to your room if you want. Very thoughtful and very nice. Plenty of toiletries, towels, comfy robes, and clean clean clean!

Breakfast was beautifully presented and would satisfy the most die hard of a sweet tooth. There was always fresh fruit with a tasty lemony sauce and some sort of muffin or cake. Two of the three mornings we had an egg concoction and the third was french toast. Our hosts would sit down with us and chat about the day ahead and make recommendations.

There was quite a bit of road noise from the highway and the mansion is on a dusty, gravel road, both of which, of course, is beyond the control of the owners, but bears mentioning. The midwest had a very good spring season and as a result the trails and gardens are growing a little wild. But it's also a big property with a lot of maintenance to do and the focus is on the house. Some of the evenings were quite fine and I would have loved to open the windows in our room to let in the fresh air, but I imagine, with all the antiques it's not a good thing so AC it was.

I am so happy we had the experience of staying in this lovely and historic mansion. It did not feel like a home, but it's not trying to. The Garth is doing a wonderful job of preserving the memory of a way of life at the turn of the century. It was great to get a taste of how life used to be for some and to feel just a little closer to Samuel Clemens.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. All the rooms are lovely. Some have tubs and fireplaces so if that's imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatParkLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A perfect place to escape for a long weekend......you will not believe what you see once your arrive at Garth....not only is the B&B like stepping through the looking glass but the service, rooms and the awesome breakfast will blow you away.

Can't say enough about the owners Julie and Jon, perfect host......perfect people...love them.

Room Tip: So many great theme rooms to choose from, pick you time in history......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapeshifter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I decided to go to Hannibal for our 25th wedding anniversary, Garth Woodside Mansion was a spur of the moment choice. I called from Hannibal to check availability for the weekend and 15 minutes later we were happily checkin in. The warm greeting from the Innkeepers made us feel we were frequent guests and valued customers.

Being a historic mansion, the scale is grand. Outside the mansion are beautiful grounds, acre upon acre of soft, freshly mowed grass, large gardens in bloom, a nature path to explore, private pond, a gazebo, lamas (yes, lamas) and more. There is a patio off the dining room with views of gardens and woods (It is Garth Woodside, right?) where you could enjoy a nice glass of wine, hot chocolate or quite conversation. A large, very welcoming wrap around porch leads you to the main entrance of the mansion.

Inside is even more grand than outside. Period furnishings, antiques and wall coverings. High, very high ceilings, huge pocket doors and windows, rooms with fire places throughout. Everything, everywhere is clean and in it's place. The staircase floats to the 2nd and 3rd stories where the guest rooms are located. We we able to see several rooms, all beautiful. After the fact we also viewed them on the Garth Mansion website. The website clearly shows the wonderful layout, furnishing and accessories of the rooms. What you can't see online is the grandeur of the rooms. No overstuffed or cramped rooms, just plenty of floorspace and storage should you decide to stay a while.

Julie made some great sight seeing and dining suggestions. After talking several dining locations over with my wife, Julie even made dinner reservations for us! For breakfast: fresh juice, hot coffee with real half & half, an assortment of fresh fruit and berries plus a different, elegant hot entree every day was more than I could eat (although I tried!). We also made new friends at breakfast who we hope to see again!

Our overall opinion, Garth Mansion is wonderful. The perfect Inn experience to remember our 25 years together! The Inn keepers are gracious, informative and interactive. The property is beautiful. The historic mansion is tastefully preserved. This experience makes us look forward to our return to Garth!

Room Tip: Wifi available through out. Easy/secure access to lighted parking lot. An expansive collection CDs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway in a tranquil and beautiful setting, the Garth Mansion is where you should go. The rooms in the mansion are very interesting and filled with much history. All of the rooms are decorated nicely and are very comfortable. We stayed in Avie's room and loved the brightness, high ceilings, great bed, and calming blue colors.

The grounds of the property are well maintained with several flower beds. The porches are ideal places to hangout and read a book, talk or just listen to the birds. There are board games, books, and several DVD's for guests use.

This property would be a wonderful place for a family reunion, anniversary gathering, renewing wedding vows or for a wedding. There is a gazebo and new pavilion. Pictures would turn out great with the beautiful grounds.

The owners, John and Julie, are nice, down to earth people who are easy to talk to and are a great resource for information on the area. They take good care of their guests. The breakfasts were delicious and John and Julie are very accommodating.

So if you're in need of some relaxation and looking for a nice, peaceful, pretty place to stay, you can't go wrong with Garth Woodside Mansion.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderfully decorated. 2nd floor rooms have higher ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a gift to us from our son and his wife...Wonderful time...arriving on our motorcycle...our weather was iffy from the beginning but all went great. We were on the third floor and stayed in the "Hillside" room. John showed us around the mansion and explained things as we went. Julie was not present but at their business downtown and it is a wonderful "kitchen" store. We had plans to meet up with others in Hannibal but we decided to enjoy a cup of coffee on the beautiful front porch overlooking the manicured lawn before leaving for the evening. They are in the process of building another covered pavillion which one can view from the front porch.

Our room the "Hillside" (third floor) was quaint and had everything one needed and more. Although the bathroom is small they have provided all the comforts of home...toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, blow dryer, etc. Loved the added touch of the old time nightshirts...I decided to go back in time an wear...fun fun. Robes are very comfy and available to purchase (will do that the next time). We never heard anyone from any other room...seemed very private. They had ceiling fan and one could adjust temperature in their rooms. Our window overlooked where the lamas are fenced.

Breakfast on both days were yummy. Love the homemade juice and the presentation of the food is great. No complaints at all on the selections. Maybe next time though we will luck out and get the french toast. The quiche was very good though.

There was cold drinks and large selection of hot drinks available 24/7 and we enjoyed taking often out on the porch. Due to the rain off and on we never was able to make walk around the grounds but did venture out to see the llamas.

If one enjoys quite, secluded and away from the hustle and bustle but with the ease of getting into town...this is a great stay. Hannibal is filled with great selections of "to dos". Lets one take in the history of old and embrace "back when".

In clicking below the rating of services....we did not of course do fitness center but unable to remove once I clicked on them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frg1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
18.6 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
4.0 mi away
Main Street Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Woodside Mansion Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Woodside Mansion Estate

Property: Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
Address: 11069 New London Gravel Rd, Hannibal, MO 63401-7689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garth Woodside Mansion Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garth Woodside Mansion has been rated #1 in the state of Missouri for several years in a row. One of only two inns in the area actually inspected by the Missouri Health Dept, please ask. Member of BedandBreakfastcom Diamond Club. All guests rooms have a private bath and most have fireplaces. Cottages offer private decks with hot tubs, microwave and convection ovens, and mini fridge stocked with water and sodas. Breakfasts cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Garth Woodside Mansion Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing