We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garth Woodside Mansion Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hannibal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2007

My stay last weekend at the Garth Woodside made visit number 7 for me in the last seven years. I like to come back to this place to give my body a time out from work and home activities. A great place to recharge my batteries! I find it amazing the John and Julie can remember detailed stuff about me and my past visits. Especially jigsaw puzzles. John and Julie will take the time out of their busy lives to do a jigsaw puzzle with me. I find that really cool!!!! There is plenty of dining and tourist attractions in Hannibal. I really enjoyed the 1 hour Mark Twain boat ride on the mississippi. And nearby Quincy Illinois has plenty of beautiful houses to look at and a really great Italian restaurant downtown. I will keep coming back for years to come!

  • Liked — hot tub
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr-CleanBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    23
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
191
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2007

My wife and I just returned from our 2nd stay at the Garth and we loved it! The combination of elegance and coziness made for the perfect getaway. We reccommend this B&B to anyone who wants to get away from the everyday and those who wish to spend a weekend with someone special.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank boogarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

This is a delightful property in a surprisingly picturesque location. The Victorian ambience of the mansion is very tastefully (and not OVER) done. The accommodations were comfortable, and the mansion and grounds are large enough to make even a full complement of guests able to find quiet and privacy.

John, Julie and staff are very personable and unhesitatingly willing to tend to every need of their guests. The family tone that they have nurtured was refreshing and made us feel as if we were in our own home.

The breakfasts were sumptuous and filling, and the two dinners we ate at the restaurant were above-average for an establishment in such a small-town market. We enjoyed the sociability of the staff, particularly Sean and the chef, who skillfully doted on us without intruding, a rare skill not often found in many of the inns we have stayed at over the years. While we felt the prices were on the high side, the economies of such an endeavor in such a small market probably make this a necessity, and were certainly not a barrier to our enjoyment.

We cannot recall a more pleasant experience than camping out on the porch for the entire afternoon with our friends and talking the day away. The views were serene, the weather was perfect and we truly felt as if we were the only people in the world as far as the attention the Rolsens gave to our needs.

We will most certainly be staying here again and would encourage anyone to stop and spend the night at Garth Mansion.

Bruce & Geralyn Keller
bgkeller@sbcglobal.net

  • Liked — Great staff, great location, comfortable accomodations
  • Disliked — Dinner Prices
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2007

Early in the morning we grabbed coffee mugs filled with piping hot coffee--which is always available--and headed outside to walk the grounds. Our options included the ruins of the old ice house, the barn and stables that house 3 beautiful llamas, the pond with all its bridges, or the gazebo down the lane. After a relaxing walk, we would sit on the patio and watch the birds in this outdoor aviary. We would then be called to breakfast which included fresh fruit, Garth juice (delicious and good for you), and an entree complete with fresh muffins and fruit-infused butter. Then we would settle on the porch and while away the day until it was time for dinner. The menu is imaginative and enticing and it is hard to make a choice. Everything was always good.
The innkeepers let us make this mansion our home for a few days and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We came with 2 friends and left with 5--we have to include James, Julie, and Sean now as friends. They aren't as much innkeepers as extended family. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — spaciousness and friendliness
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

We returned to the Garth Woodside Mansion for the third time on our drive home from our winter in Florida. It is a very special place. The accomodations are lovely in this old restored Victorian mansion. The innkeepers are very welcoming and friendly people. The grounds are lovely and there is much room for hiking and enjoying nature. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished with beautiful antiques. They added a resturant to the home and the food is delicious. Our only regret was that on our last visit we were they on a Monday and the resturant is closed on Sunday and Monday evenings so we were not able to have dinner there. We definitely plan to return there again and hight reccommend it.
A Des Moines IA couple

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Zelda02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2007

While they do have wireless internet, Garth Mansion is really set up and intended for couples with time on their hands, not people on a business schedule. Don’t expect to get any work done in your room. But what a wonderful diversion it provided during my week of business travel - these people do have an elegant, secluded restaurant and bar. It was a complete change of pace to spend a few hours “off” with the proprietors and their guests, who take time to savor food and conversation. I met several couples from nearby Missouri and Illinois, and one from Scotland, and was treated to an impromptu recital of Chopin by one of the guests on the square 1869 Steinway! The breakfast was tasteful and tasty, putting you in mind to expect a special day ahead at work. You never know what you’ll find off the beaten path, if you can spare a few hours to find out.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

This was our 2nd time to stay at Garth Mansion. We stayed in the John Garth room....Fabulous. We Loved the authentic bed, the decor, the jacuzzi, the CD music available! John and Julie are wonderful hosts, so helpful, cordial, and great company! The llamas are a constant visual delight, as are the grounds. You must take a walk through the many paths and commune freely with nature at its best. Breakfast was delectable, delicious, so special.This was so worth the visit, we can't wait to stay here again and try one of the cottages!

  • Liked — the easy access to staff, the fulfillment of expactations of the stay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank italianjoyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
18.6 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
4.0 mi away
Main Street Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Woodside Mansion Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Woodside Mansion Estate

Property: Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
Address: 11069 New London Gravel Rd, Hannibal, MO 63401-7689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garth Woodside Mansion Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garth Woodside Mansion has been rated #1 in the state of Missouri for several years in a row. One of only two inns in the area actually inspected by the Missouri Health Dept, please ask. Member of BedandBreakfastcom Diamond Club. All guests rooms have a private bath and most have fireplaces. Cottages offer private decks with hot tubs, microwave and convection ovens, and mini fridge stocked with water and sodas. Breakfasts cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garth Woodside Mansion Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing