We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Charleston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed in this hotel September 13th, 14th and 15th.
First the positives:
Check in was very fast and efficient. Adam already had our keys coded and in a folder for us upon arrival. The room was very clean and had a large flat screen tv. The room was quiet with no road noise. The queen beds were comfortable and we were able to control the temperature to our liking. We were always met with a smile when at the front desk during our stay. The breakfast was very good and items on the breakfast were always available. The fitness center was clean and contained two treadmills and a stationary bicycle. The pool was clean and they had a hot tub. We did not use the hot tub so I cannot comment about it.

Negatives :
The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes from downtown.
The room did not have a micro-wave or refrigerator.
The pool water seemed rather cold for comfort so it took quite a bit of time to adjust.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    60
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
66
55
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Roomy public areas and rooms. Nice updated decor. Good breakfast choices with service beginning at 6. Live to auto pancake maker and oatmeal. I like to workout and wished the gym and pool areas opened before 530, as I needed to get on road early. The beds were comfortable pillows however were aweful. I will stay again but note to self to bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinpig918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

You will receive the Holiday Inn Express experience. Clean rooms, comfortable bed and friendly staff. The free breakfast has something for everyone. I will stay here again when back in the area. If you call a 800 number or go online and says their full. My recommendation would call them direct.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori_T94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The staff was very friendly, but seemed short handed (one person doing too much). Looks clean, but smells dirty. The hall floors look pretty, but desperately need a very professional cleaning. If you look close from an angle, you can see the dirt piling up that a vacuum or cheap shampooer will not get. Also, the third floor had a vent that you could feel when walking by. It smelled as mold. Rented three rooms.

This could be great. Needs a professional cleaning, including filters and duct cleaning.

Breakfast was very good. The rooms look really clean, but the motel needs a professional overall cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingUtahBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It was a nice stay. Clean room. Breakfast was good. Stayed for two nights. Was a little upsetting when we couldn't get into the hotel and our room on 2nd night. Guess they didn't activate our card for two nights. Not close to anything exciting.

Room Tip: Do not have a room by the stairs. Everytime we used the stairs we forget that the door slams shut a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you want to experience the horrible nightmare of bedbugs, then stay here. A sample was taken & bagged but amazingly, a pest control person hired by the hotel wasn't even given the sample ' then wrote them a clean bill! This is why we have an epidemic of bedbugs. The manager is rude & this needs to be addressed. I'm not the only guest who had experienced this at this hotel and I have the bites to prove it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanniba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Hanniba,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hannibal hotels

Mystic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I remember the day when Holiday Inn Express was at the top, but not anymore. Boy, did they ever slide. Upon arrival, you drive in and see a very nice looking building. But then, we were greeted by very unfriendly people. Everyone seemed to be in a bad mood that day, I guess.You definitely didn't feel welcome.No one gave you a smile at all.


This hotel stinks of mold and dirty feet,the Elevator stinking the most. Wow! It's bad!
We stayed in a double queen room. It had no ice box or microwave like most of the newer ones do.

The carpeting is soo filthy, it made our white socks totally Black. When I turned the tv on in the room, many of the channels would not even come in.

My daughter found hair in her bed and there was some on the bathroom floor as well. So the cleaning job wasn't done very well either.Also, behind the night stand, where I needed an outlet,it looked like it hadn't been clean in many many YEARS, if ever.. It was sooo gross, made me sick.

The sheets we found to be very scratchy, more like hospital bed linens.I didn't sleep well at all.

The best thing I can say about the place was that their hotel breakfast had more then most. You had scrambled eggs, as well as bacon, and all the other general items such a cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, and etc.

I was very disappointed because it's not cheap to stay here. But it wasn't any better then the lower end hotels. I would not stay here ever again if I came back to Hannibal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenMMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear EileenMMystic,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm delighted to hear the breakfast served during your stay exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. I would like to discuss your experience in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
2.9 mi away
Best Western On The River
Best Western On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
743 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#3 of 11 in Quincy
288 reviews
17.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Hannibal
Days Inn - Hannibal
#6 of 10 in Hannibal
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Address: 4000 Market St, Hannibal, MO 63401-5448
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Comfort Inn & Suites located near Highway 61 in America's Hometown, Hannibal, Missouri. Conveniently located near General Mills, Buckhorn, Enduro, and all other factories located in industrial area. We feature 74 rooms, including 16 kitchenette suites, and 4 Jacuzzi suites. The Holiday Inn Express also offers a heated indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, laundry facility, business center, free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, meeting room, and free extended Continental breakfast. We also offer the in room amenities as follows, hair dryers, iron with a full size board, coffee pots in every room, and free HBO and Cinemax. There are many restaurants, and shopping areas located near the Holiday Inn Express. We are also only located about 3 miles from the historic downtown area. The downtown area includes the Mark Twain Home, Museum, and other Mark Twain attractions. Hannibal also has a spot the kids would enjoy called Sawyer s Creek, which is located right across the street from the Mark Twain Cave, and Cameron Cave. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to welcome you to Mark Twain's Hometown, and to our hotel the the Comfort Inn & Suites Hannibal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hannibal
Holiday Inn Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing