We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room with comfy beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Spencer, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nice room with comfy beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Rooms were fairly recently redone and very clean and up-to-date. They had done a rather sloppy job on the tile shower surround... caulk was about 1/2" to 3/4" thick all around the perimeter. Carpet was nice and clean. There was a nice breakfast but pancake machine was broken. (I understand that parts have been replaced and it is working again). The people at the desk were helpful and knowledgeable and very polite and kind... and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us here in Hannibal, MO, we appreciate your business and for filling out the review. The hotel is so happy to see you enjoyed our brand new Serta Mattresses and Holiday Inn Express Pillows. We are sorry that you did not get to enjoy the Express Start Pancake Machine, and hope when you stay with us in the future you have the chance to try it. Thanks again for all the feedback, and your Business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    59
    39
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
53
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
175 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is an older Holiday Inn Express (bathroom sink outside of bathroom) but they have done some small refurbishments like changing to the newer bedsheets. When I took the lift to my floor, it smelled strongly of smoke. Luckily my room did not smell of smoke. I was woken up at 5am by someone next door talking loudly on their phone. My room was also next to the lift, so I could hear the bell whenever the lift arrived. The ice machine was also right outside. I didn't get good sleep here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review, we so appreciate the feedback because it lets us know in what area's we need to approve. We apologize that the placement of your room was not as you would of preferred, please remind us the next time you visit that you are a light sleeper we would be happy to place you in a area of the hotel away from ice machine's and elevator. The hotel is in the process of updating all our rooms, so we will be taking care of all smoke smell issues in completion of renovations. We sincerely hope you will return in the future to see all our wonderful improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hannibal hotels

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The location is decent. The breakfast is typical. The room was clean. Free parking was helpful. The staff was nice. The pull-out bed's mattress was awful, but the little boys were OK with it. The indoor pool looked nice (we didn't use it). All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilphap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review. We are pleased that you stayed with us on your recent vacation, we appreciate your business. We hope you will try us again in the future, as we have many exciting improvements planned for the future, to make our guest stays even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This Express was very nice. Not like many we have stayed in previously. Room was clean and very exceptable. We had our two grandsons with us to enjoy the Mark Twain history. Staff was nice however was not what we have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels. With that - I would still recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPD1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review, we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to see you had no issues while at our hotel here in Hannibal, MO. I apologize that my staff was not as you had seen at other Express, we are striving for our customers to have a consistent experience at all times. We hope you will try us again in the future, as we train our staff in every opportunity, and would love to have another chance to wow you with service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a road trip. It was fine, not great, not bad. Most Holiday Inn Express' I have stayed at were nicer than this, but I have no big complaint. Breakfast was as expected, had to wait for some items, but it was the weekend so ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maggiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review, we appreciate the feedback. I am pleased to see you did not have a bad experience at our property. We would however like the chance to wow you during your stay. We have many improvements planned for the near future, and hope you will return to our facility so we may have that chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is grossly overpriced for the area, especially when you add in the complete lack of professionalism and business etiquette on the part of the hotel's management. My credit card declined the charge for my final night's stay. You would think that hotel management would have had the common courtesy and common sense to call my room or leave a note under my door notifying me of the problem. All I got was a bill under my door showing a portion of my final bill as a "bad debt write-off". Nobody could explain this to my upon my departure, so I left for home. I even called after I got home to inquire about my bill and I was told by the clerk who answered my call that a manager had processed my bill; however, no manager was available to speak with me regarding my bill, nor was any effort made to return my call. About a week later I received a letter in the mail from Ashley, the hotel's assistant manager, telling me that they were sorry that this problem was not caught before I left and that I was being placed on the "do not rent list" until I settled up my unpaid balance. The problem was caught before I left; it was forgiven by a "bad debt write-off". Anyone with even a shred of business knowledge would understand that, in the real business world, when a debt is written off, it is chalked up as a loss and life goes on. At the very least, this letter could have given me a thank you for choosing this hotel, a thank you for being a Priority Club Gold Elite member. Instead I got threatened. Sorry, but I don't respond well to threats. Besides, it's no big loss if I never get to stay at this hotel again, as I was hardly impressed. If someone would have bothered to let me know about the issue with my credit card during my stay, I would have been happy to offer up another card on which the balance could have been charged. I found it rather odd that nobody could call my room during my stay or even slip a note under my door notifying me of this issue, yet there was time to type, print and mail a letter to me after my stay -- a letter that was completely lacking any sense of gratitude for my loyalty to the IHG hotel group, not to mention undated, improperly addressed to its recipient and rife with grammatical and spelling errors. I even replied in writing to hotel management expressing my disappointment and I have since received no response. I certainly hope that the ownership of this hotel knows that this Gold Elite member who is well on his way to Platinum, and who visits the Hannibal area on average 10 times per year will not be returning to this hotel. In fact, when I returned to Hannibal in July, the neighboring Quality Inn got my business and will continue to get it in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jevon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I would first like to say we do appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. We apologize that we did not catch this issue before your departure, I know the Assistant Manager tried to contact you by phone before sending this letter. I also apologize for the wording in the letter as to you took as a threat, she is the new Assistant Manager and is currently learning on her wording and handling of situations. We understand now that our staff lacked the knowledge to handle this before your departure and that the manager on duty did not take the initiative to pass the message to our management staff that you had contacted us prior to letter we received in mail from you. It is our policy when a part of the stay has went unpaid that we place the guest on the do not rent list, so again we apologize for you taking this as a threat, but it is our way to receive payment for missed invoicing. We hope you will try us again in the future, to try and make up for the missed opportunities, and to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed at a variety of Holiday Inn Express locations across the United States, this location is average, potentially needing some upgraded rooms. We arrived late and received a room on the first floor next to the ice machine, which apparently had been orginally assigned to my parents who turned it down but were assured by staff we would be on the second floor as well, unfortuantely this was not the case. We slept fine but certainly not the best Holiday Inn Express. We were only there for two nights for a wedding and were in the room minimally if it were an extended stay proabably would have hoped for more but fit our needs for what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltagMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_Hill2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey we appreciate the feedback. We are glad to hear that your stay was ok, but we hope you return in the future to give us the chance to make it awesome. We have improvements planned for this winter, so we hope you will come back and see all the exciting things we have planned for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
17.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn - Quincy
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#5 of 10 in Hannibal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Address: 4000 Market St, Hannibal, MO 63401-5448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located near Highway 61 in America's Hometown, Hannibal, Missouri. Conveniently located near General Mills, Buckhorn, Enduro, and all other factories located in industrial area. We feature 74 rooms, including 16 kitchenette suites, and 4 Jacuzzi suites. The Holiday Inn Express also offers a heated indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, laundry facility, business center, free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, meeting room, and free extended Continental breakfast. We also offer the in room amenities as follows, hair dryers, iron with a full size board, coffee pots in every room, and free HBO and Cinemax. There are many restaurants, and shopping areas located near the Holiday Inn Express. We are also only located about 3 miles from the historic downtown area. The downtown area includes the Mark Twain Home, Museum, and other Mark Twain attractions. Hannibal also has a spot the kids would enjoy called Sawyer s Creek, which is located right across the street from the Mark Twain Cave, and Cameron Cave. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to welcome you to Mark Twain's Hometown, and to our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Hannibal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hannibal
Holiday Inn Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing