We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I checked this site first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn St. Louis North
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hazelwood
Normal, Illinois
1 review
“Wish I checked this site first”
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We picked this hotel because we were really late planning our trip.
With our 4 kids it's hard to get a single room and we like to have adjacent rooms.
AAA got us this room but honestly it's our fault. We'd stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and it was fine. there was a nice restaurant next to the hotel and it was average for its type.
first the plusses:
The staff are great and helpful.
The pool was clean and maintained.
It was near where we wanted to be.

minuses:
My room had a water leak from the equipment room next to it. I should have been discovered by housekeeping, but maybe it was a new leak. Maintenance got right on it when i informed them though.
My wifes room though a non-smoking room had been smoked in. It smelled really bad.
The advertised Free wifi was for the lobby area only.
The restaurant that was next to the hotel has been turned into a church.
the beds were very uncomfortable.

we ended up cutting our trip a day short because of these issues.

  • Liked — it was close to where we were going
  • Disliked — felt uncomfortable there.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blackneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    52
    73
    141
See reviews for
134
52
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

This was probably the worst hotel I ever stayed in. The most I can say for it is that the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had a nonsmoking sign on the door, but reeked of cigarette smoke. Everything was shabby. The sheets were clean, but the blankets were not. The door did not seem very secure. The grounds were unkempt. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hazelwood hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 July 2005

I too, stayed at the Day's Inn--Hazelwood, because of the location and price. I was with a large group, and because the other hotels in the area were full (except for the higher priced hotels) we opted to stay here.

The first night we stayed, the room we were given had roaches, and peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was so dirty, that we went to the local Walmart and bought tub cleaner, just so we could shower. The next day, we were moved to a different room--one that had a refrigerator, since we were going to be staying a week. (if I would of had my choice, we would have left--but like I said, we were with a group). The second room was a little better---at least it didn't have the bugs (or at least I didn't see any) and the "musky" smell was gone. The bathrooms however, were still dirty, and every day we either had to ask for clean towels or go get them ourselves. We even had to request that our room be cleaned. (which we ended up vaccuuming ourselves...) The sliding glass door was broken--

I have stayed in Days Inn Hotels before, and they have always been nice. I am sorry to say that this on needs a lot of work and I won't be staying there again. If I ever head back to St. Louis--I will definately find another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2005

We had a large group stay for a week at this hotel. Just a few of the problems we had were broken chairs and tables, broken doors and windows, mildew in ALL the bathrooms, uncleaned rooms and refrigerators, torn sheets, broken and unsafe electrical outlets, broken light fixtures, insects in some rooms (roaches, fleas, ants and spiders), the rooms were very seldom cleaned, almost never vacumed and we had to go to the desk for towels and toilet paper from the first day until we left. Most of the rooms smelled really bad. The only good thing I can think of was that the rooms were bigger than normal, with some of the rooms having a small kitchen area with an additional small sink and a microwave and small refrigerator. The major problems were just a lack of cleanliness and repair. If it hadn't been for the location to the event were were attending and trying to find the entire group accomodations elsewhere at a time when most of the local hotels were booked up we would have left. You can bet we will not be back.....EVER.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank tyson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2004

May 18/04

On April 16/04 we travelled to St.Louis for the evening from Evansville. We choose the Days Inn in Hazelwood because of the rates and the location. First of all, we arrived around 10 pm, we went to our room. We called the front desk about more pillows, no can do. Fine we survived. The room was booked in advance for 4 adults, there was 2 sets of towels in the room, had to ask for more. We left on saturday morning to go site seeing. We went back to Evansville, sunday realized that one of the parties left his keys in the room. Immediately, we called the hotel to see if they were there, yes they were. We were told they would be sent COD the next day. Well, make story short, this is over a month later, 5 calls from Evansville and 3 calls from Canada and the keys still have not arrived. The keys only had to be sent to Evansville, 150 miles away, this is pretty pathetic. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2002

I was in attendance at an annual gathering at the Days Inn in Hazelwood, Missouri. Myself and a group of friends get together, rent out a conference room at a hotel, and just have fun. We decided on the Days Inn in Hazelwood since the prices seemed cheap. But, you get what you pay for.

Upon arrival, the hotel didn't have anybody's rooms ready. We had to hang out in the lobby waiting for the rooms to be cleaned, or something.

They knew about this meeting/party months in advance.

Anyway, once the rooms opened up, the party/meeting began. That's when the real problems began, too.

The meeting room was a lot smaller than they let on, and the meeting room wasn't even IN the hotel; it was across the parking lot in a restaurant.

Now, the meeting room was okay for what we wanted, but not overly so. It was only "okay". Let's move on to the actual rooms.

About the only GOOD thing I can say about them is the air-conditioning and they had electricity (needed for St. Louis' 95F nights in the summer). That's about it. Sofa beds (when provided) were broken. Toilet seats literally SHATTERED when nudged with a knee. Toilets overflowed and were not fixed, causing a raw sewage smell to sit in the stagnant air. Lights didn't work. Bulbs blew out as soon as you turned them on. Peeling paint on the walls. And the night shift; hoo-boy! Just don't try to get anything done when they're around.

All in all, the party/meeting went off without a hitch, but we swore to never go to a Days Inn again.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazelwood
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Florissant
Quality Inn Florissant
#1 of 3 in Florissant
316 reviews
4.1 mi away
Super 8 St. Louis Airport
Super 8 St. Louis Airport
#8 of 12 in Berkeley
272 reviews
7.9 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#6 of 17 in Maryland Heights
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Airport St. Louis
3.8 mi away
Airport Plaza Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn St. Louis North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn St. Louis North

Property: Days Inn St. Louis North
Address: 7350 N Hanley Rd, Hazelwood, MO 63042-2900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hazelwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hazelwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn St. Louis North 1.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn St. Louis North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn St Louis North Airport Hotel Hazelwood
Days Inn Hazelwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing