We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Simple”
Review of Hermann Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermann Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hermann
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly & helpful, you could walk into town from the motel-nothing fancy, just a nice place to stay for a good price!!! We plan to stay here again this summer!! We were very happy with everything overall!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Not a big fan of bad reviews, but we feel our experiences needs to be shared so you know what to expect.
Clearly this place must be a hit or miss, as we have seen bad reviews and good. Ours was in line with the bad (enough that we couldn't stay there). We arranged our stay at a reasonable rate ($69/night - 2 Queen beds - 2 couples). We didn't plan to spend much time there, just a place to sleep and get cleaned up. But it didn't happen!
When we arrived, we decided to check the quality before we brought anything in from the car.
Thank goodness we did.
The plus side, their was a small refrigerator and it had 2 beds as promised.
The negative side... The bathtub was dirty with something unidentifiable in the drain. The carpet was nothing that I would have walked on without shoes. The Comforters for both beds looked old and filthy. There were stains and hairs in the sheets, among other "things" that scared us enough we had to leave room 107. Having stayed in similar economical motels before, our standards were set low to begin with, but this place set our all-time low.

We searched elsewhere and were able to find Frank, the owner of Harbor Haus, just up the street. Frank was our trip saver and had 2 rooms available for us within minutes. We were happy to pay the difference to sleep and stay in warm, clean comfort.

Overall, we would recommend you take a peak under the sheets before staying a night in the Hermann Motel.

Safe travels to you and yours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohseeohseeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Compared to sleeping in your car, this is better. Compared to almost any other lodging in Hermann, this is one of the worst. Someone wrote about a AAA rating. If they are AAA approved, why is a AAA symbol painted over on their billboard on Hwy 100? I had a transaction here. The owner did the old "bait and switch." Baited me with a price over the phone, and tried to double it when I showed up in person. I held fast and got it for the phone (bait) price. My review of the rooms can be summed-up with one word: icky. Dated, worn-out, a little grungy. I think this is one place where some rooms may be quite a bit better than other rooms, but probably none of them particularly good. I don't know that. Maybe there is a block of real nice rooms in this place that no one talks about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProFoodWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Maybe we are spoiled since we normally stay in a B&B while in Hermann, but we were unimpressed with the Hermann Motel. It served its purpose as a roof over our head and a hot shower but that is about it.

The doors between rooms were hollow core doors allowing for sound to travel easily. There was basic maintenance that was needed- toilet clogged upon arrival, faucet handle broken, TV picture was very poor... Overall the room was clean but extremely dated and in need of a refresh.

The price was 75.00 per night, about 25 too much in my opinion based on other inexpensive accommodations I've stayed at. Although this is Oktoberfest so the rate could be higher due to that. This is equivalent to a Motel 6, Super 8 type of place.

Breakfast was a variety of pre-packaged muffins and instant oatmeal.

Two safety concerns to note: The room uses actual keys rather than electronic locks that can be changed and the large window to the outside does not lock.

Overall: if you need a place to stay and you want to stay directly in Hermann, and you are looking for no frills, inexpensive accommodations this is it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bigthumbz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

the hotel listing stated they had received the highest AAA rating and rooms were newly renovated. That just meant a fresh coat of paint on the walls. DO NOT know how they received a high rating from AAA. The carpet was filthy and stained. VERY SMALL rooms, no dresser for putting clothes in. Had to live out of the suitcase all weekend. No where to put personal toiletries as the bathroom was so small. When I arrived- the tub had dirty towels in it and the toilet had not been cleaned. The staff was very eager to come clean the bathroom when I mentioned it- which was great. The continental breakfast is packaged danish and coffee and the service area was not very clean either. Very disappointed in having to pay nearly $200.00 for a two night stay in something worsed than a Motel 6. Hermann is a great town to visit but stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The room was not very clean; the carpets smelled and were sticky on the feet. The bathroom was incredibly small, but fairly clean. The tub did not drain. Though there was an ice machine it was in the main office which was locked when I wanted to use it. Overall a poor experience. I would not recommend it, especially for the price we paid ($70+tax).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband, his sister and I rented a room here during the BBQ and Wine Trail. We also went with a group of cousins, two of those groups stayed here too. When we got in that night after touring town, sister in law pulled back the sheets to her bed. There was an inprint of where someone had been sleeping there in the sheets. Also there were dead flea's all over the sheets.
She did not sleep in that bed needless to say. My husband slept on top of the sheets.
One of the other couples who stayed there had a closet for a room. The toilet was situated so there was no shoulder room if you were on it. This place smelled bad, the floor was dirty. No one has ever cleaned under the beds. I'm sure this place is just fine for the drunken kids but no one has any buisness staying here if they want sanitary conditions. Next morning we saw the cleaning crew, however instead of cleaning they were sitting on chairs in front of the rooms smoking and talking. All with the exception of one woman who did appear to be doing her job. Lucky folks who get the rooms she attended for they may be somewhat clean. This place should close down or advertise that they are not for the average person. Camping would of been a cleaner option. Breakfast was store bought breads and coffee was aweful. Too bad for us because the cafe Lydia close to hotel was not much better. No urgency there. Waited 30 min at a sat table before anyone offered water or coffee. Walked to Casey's for coffee and returned before anyone even came by table.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.6 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
64 reviews
14.2 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#1 of 50 in Hermann
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Motel

Address: 112 E 10th St, Hermann, MO 65041-1313
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hermann
Price Range: £45 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermann Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermann Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hotel Hermann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing