We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oak Glenn Winery is so enjoyable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Glenn Vineyard and Winery

Oak Glenn Vineyard and Winery
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oak Glenn Winery is so enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We visited Oak Glenn Winery on Valentine's Day and were so pleased with the atmosphere and the music. They had a fantastic guitar player playing and it was decorated so cute for Valentine's Day! We were met by a very friendly and welcoming bartender. We immediately felt like we were in the right place! We had the Moscato wine and it was so refreshing. We were able to bring in our own lunch and it was a very very nice experience there. We will be back this summer for sure. We only experienced the view through he window due to low temperatures, but it looks like it will be beautiful this summer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    23
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The view is spectacular, the wine and personnel not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

First of all, the wine is terrible - not drinkable at all. We visit the winery solely for the spectacular view and to get a bucket of beer instead of wine. Most of the personnel seem annoyed with their customers (each of the three years we have visited). I cannot comment on the cover charge, since we arrive late in the day typically and they are not charging at that point.

The view is fantastic and the bathrooms are clean, which is a big plus. Nice stop at the end of the day if you are not looking to drink wine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestFrogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wilder side of Oktoberfest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Guess I'm getting old, but I enjoy a more laid back version of Oktoberfest, aka hill sitting in town. Now if you're more inclined to the binge drinking college age crowd, head on up to Oak Glenn. Only place during our Hermann visit I noticed police officers patrolling on foot. Now, the view of the river valley up there is outstanding, but the view of a couple 20 something year old gals answering nature's call between their cars in the parking lot, not so much. As far as the wines, they were fairly unforgettable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MoHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1st Awful Wine Tasted in Missouri Valley Region”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Do not buy Norton or Chambourcin from this winery! Skunky, prune juice and un-drinkable. When the staff was questioned, it was indicated this was the first year barrel-aging was used and basically indicated 'it is what is is'.
At $25 and $18 respectively, this was not "Three Buck Chuck" expectation. Regardless, we left our bottles sitting on the table to the yellow jackets and came home to drink some actually good "Three Buck Chuck". Won't ever be back. View is outstanding but does not make up for very poor quality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank mer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Kansas
1 review
“Great vine, best white port I've ever tasted!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have grown to love Oak Glen, after 8 years we weeded out the bad but Oak Glen remained on top! Servers have gotten nicer, the wine is getting better, and their white port is awesome!! Wish they would very their music, not everyone likes rock! And music on Sunday would b nice. Keep improving Oak Glen, you r getting there!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oak Glenn Vineyard and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Oak Glenn Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing