We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Get-a-way”
Review of Herzog Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herzog Mansion
Ranked #44 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at the Birk's (now called Herzog) B&B the weekend of 2/26/10. Nice place - very large (9+ bedrooms) and would be ideal for a large group (Hermann has many B&B's, but not many with that many rooms). The home was very spacious, quiet & comfortable. It is right in the middle of Hermann...about a 1/2 mile walk to Stone Hill or downtown. The host was very friendly and made great breakfasts. A great value - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiedog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

The building is old and charming, starting to get just a little worn around the edges. Owner was friendly, porch out front great for after-dinner conversation. Pretty town, especially the Stone Hill Winery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GearheadJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed here for one night on the Katy trail ride. Mansion is being lovingly restored. Loved the cozy attic room, reminded me of my girlhood bedroom. Nice claw tub where the heat is still retained in the cast iron. Breakfast was fantastic, shirred eggs with herbs from the garden. Richard is a great conversationalist and made good recommendations for what do to and where to eat for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Breakfast is great. French toast is perfect. Room was very quiet and the king bed was great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norskman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed at Birk's Gasthaus at the start and end of a 3-day bike ride on the Katy Trail, and had great experiences each time. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed, and Richard the innkeeper prepared excellent breakfasts both mornings. Richard is also an interesting guy to chat with on the large front porch in the evening.

A fine place to stay if you're in Hermann for the weekend to check out local wineries, or as a stop on a Katy Trail ride. You'll also see it listed as Herzog Mansion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveShots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous weekend at Birks Gasthaus. The rooms were well appointed and the king size bed was heavenly! Richard (a former chef) prepared an awesome breakfast each morning and we felt like a king and /queen! The town of Hermann is beautiful and rich in history. This is a fabulous 9 bedroom and 11 bathroom bed & breakfast built by the same person who built the Stone Hill winery. You will love the location, the many rooms, the spacious bedrooms, the rich history, the food!!! Even a "man cave" for the guys - with a flat screen, pool table, private bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajoIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at Birk's. It is clean, quiet and centrally located in Hermann. Richard is fantastic, gave us great suggestions on places to see/visit. Will definitely stay here again when travelling to Hermann.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlyrdr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
12.1 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 50 in Hermann
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzog Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzog Mansion

Address: 700 Goethe St, Hermann, MO 65041-1247 (Formerly Birk's Gasthaus)
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: £86 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Herzog Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herzog Mansion is a mansion completed in 1886 for Mr. Herzog. It is furnished in a variety of antiques including brass beds, claw foot tubs and furniture. The mansion is once again used to entertain guests. The B&B has nine rooms, seven with private baths, and serves a full breakfast. Heat and air conditioning are provided by central units. Hospitality and warmth are provided by Teresa and Chad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Herzog Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing