We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute!!!”
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #4 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved every minute!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our 4th visit to Hermann and our 1st stay at Alpenhorn and may I just say it topped all the other b&b's we've stayed at. Kate and Adrain are truely wonderful people and the property is just beautiful. Breakfast was really a treat as was our dinner. Perfect place to stay while in Hermann.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
229
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Adrian and Kate know how to make a weekend getaway so special! Between the food, company, drinks, scenery I'm not sure how you could choose what is the best! The hot tub, sheep, chickens, wine cellar, and sitting area in the house are spectacular and bring you back to simple yet very much needed rest and relaxation to enjoy. We stayed in the DasKleine house and it is simple and yet modern and was perfect for the two of us.They have the best bnb !! 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weena915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, MO
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Thank you Kate & Adrian for a lovely evening! We met out of town family at Alpenhorn Gasthaus this evening for dinner. From presentation to flavor, the food & wine pairs were scrumptious. This little hilltop secret treasure is the perfect get away for dinner, or for a romantic get away weekend. Owners Kate & Adrian are such lovely hosts who seem to truly love what they do. And they do it so well. We look forward to visiting you again! BTW - ask Adrian about the Puigpull, El Sacacorchos ... No longer envious as I now have one (haha) - Perfecto! Love mine!

Best - Becky Obermark

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus 8/17 -8/18 and loved every minute. From the location, to scenery, to accommodations and food...our stay was absolutely perfect! The Alpenhorn is a perfect romantic getaway to reconnect. We did the Chocolate and Wine Cellar Rendezvous and it was amazing! Adrian made us feel so very welcomed and the wine cellar is incredible...not to mention the homemade chocolate treats Kate made! Our only regret was not making the time to enjoy the outdoor hottub on the property. The breakfast was incredible and a great way to send us off. We will definitely be back! Thank you Adrian and Kate for a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Alpenhorn Gasthaus. We stayed in the Landhaus, which was a very comfortable cottage. The staff was very accomadating to our needs and questions. The breakfast was outstanding, we started with a fresh fruit smoothie then had a great fresh bread pudding with nuts and cranberries. Then the main dish was a farm fresh egg frittata with bacon and cheese, it was great. I recommend Alpenhorn Gasthaus to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay in Hermann.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Soto, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We loved our weekend stay at Alpenhorn Gasthaus! Everything was wonderful: Kate and Adrian were friendly and welcoming, the gourmet breakfasts were delicious, the grounds were beautiful, our room (Das Kleine Haus) was cozy. We enjoyed our private time at the hot tub each night, and the robes and chocolates in the room were a nice extra touch. I don't have anything negative I could possibly say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Here's what you need to know. The town of Hermann is tiny. This place is about a mile out of town. It took us about 30 sec.to get there. I felt like we were driving up to a magazine cover. Gorgeous!! Sign up for your PRIVATE hot tub time when you get there.(Hour slots)There's nothing like sitting in the hot tub, drinking wine at sunset with the one you love. We also enjoyed a homemade cookie & a game of checkers in the sitting room. We walked around the property and saw the chickens & petted the sheep. We sat under the giant walnut tree in the chairs. No TV, no phones, just quiet peace!! We stayed in the kings rooms with a lovely firm king bed. Lots of space. Nice, well done bathroom. Huge windows overlooking the vineyard. The next morning we sat in rocking chairs on the front porch drinking coffee, waiting for the delicious breakfast service. What great service and amazingly friendly, courteous staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2plant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#7 of 50 in Hermann
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
1.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Property: Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing