We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #4 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely time at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in "Das Kleine Haus" or the little house on the property. The house was built in 1836, originally built as a smoke house. We really enjoyed how small and cozy the house was. We also enjoyed the events we attended while staying at the property.

On Friday night we attended the rendezvous in the wine cellar where we sampled several different port wines with different chocolate. I highly recommend this event for everyone, even those non-wine drinkers like me. Adrian did an excellent job of pairing the wine and chocolate and explaining how and why each wine is paired.

On Saturday night we attended dinner at the house. Kate's pork medallions were an experience all by itself. The food was excellent as well as the wine pairings with each of the four courses.

Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday were delicious. I highly recommend staying at Alpenhorn Gasthaus.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
224
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 8th anniversary at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus and it was a wonderful experience! We stayed at the Das Landhaus cottage and it was clean, comfortable and cozy. We truly enjoyed our first B&B experience. Kate and Adrian set the bar high with their hospitality and amazing gourmet breakfasts.

On our first night we enjoyed their four course dinner followed by a port and chocolate rendezvous in the wine cellar. It's well worth it and our favorite part of the trip.

We will definitely return to the Alpenhorn Gasthaus. It's not just a place to stay, it's an experience!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugsmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place is wonderfu! Adrian was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in Das Landhaus and were very comfortable there. The cottage is not huge, but is was so cozy. We used the hot tub at night and looked up at the beautiful night sky. The food was absolutely some of the best tasting breakfast I've ever had and the presentation was very well done. We also did the chocolate and port tasting. It may be a bit spendy but sitting in the old wine cellar while eating chocolate and sipping port wine was an unforgettable experience. It was very romantic and I already want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visiting the wineries in Hermann, Missouri , was very good, but staying at the Alpenhorn was even better. The setting, the well kept old home, the sheep, chickens and cats on the 1800's small farm were lovely. Breakfasts were sumptuous and the picnic in the candle-lit wine cellar wonderful. Adrian and Kate are the consummate hosts. We can't imagine a better place to stay in Hermann.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus, driving down to Hermann from Kansas City (about 3 hours). We checked in with our host, Adrian, who welcomed us warmly and showed us to our cottage. The amenities are terrific and Adrian is extremely knowledgeable about the area and he gave us great recommendations on the wineries and restaurants to visit in the charming Missouri-Riverside city.

Breakfasts made by Adrian's wife (and co-proprietor) Kate were fantastic. We really enjoyed the creamed eggs. Overall, it was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Charming, quaint and with all the amenities that you'd expect in a modern B&B.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Different from the rest of the B&Bs in Hermann. This one had a beautiful farmette complete with a beautiful patio to rest on, grapevines, and even a chicken house. A very distinctive wine cellar that you could dine in if you chose. The rooms were lovely and extremely well kept up. The highlight was the breakfast - the food was incredible. After one breakfast, we couldn't wait for the next. Adrian and Kate and family were perfect hosts and took good care of us. Thank you for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: The queen's suite had a separate sitting room with daybed. One other room on the same floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent the Thursday night of our Fall Break at the Alpenhorn. There was only one room left, the tiny smokehouse. If we return, we will want a bigger room, but that being said, Kate and Adrian work extremely hard to make sure your every need is met. The setting is beautiful. A year ago we were actually in Germany in October -- we both commented that the Alpenhorn experience made us feel like we were in Europe once again.

We did take advantage of the fact that they were offering dinner that evening and we absolutely enjoyed EVERY bite of the incredible meal. The same was true for breakfast the next morning. We also did the late night candlelight dessert and port sampling in the wine cellar. Really special. We loved our time in Hermann and the Alperhorn was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#1 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Property: Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing