We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpenhorn the battery recharger!”
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #6 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife and I go to Hermann twice a year, with the exception of last spring when our daughter was quite ill, and every time we stay at Alpenhorn. We have now stayed at Alpenhorn I believe 8 times. From the first time we stayed there was never a doubt as to where we would stay the next time, and every other time we will visit Hermann in the future.

Kate and Adrian are no longer "the Innkeepers" they are now what we would consider friends. They truly care about each guest and no matter how busy they might be, they always make an effort to visit a little with everyone. There are no words to describe the breakfast that they make as they are truly like no other. Everything they make is extraordinary and we never go away hungry. The grounds are always very well kept and the rooms are always very clean. If you are looking for a private, romantic place to stay, this is definitely the place to stay.

As usual we stayed for two nights and at the end of our stay, with the exception of missing our daughter, we were not ready to go home. We can not wait until the next time we return!!

Thank you Kate and Adrian for such a wonderful time!!
J and C Stewart, Kansas City, MO

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horselover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have stayed at Alpenhorn Gasthaus several times since 2003. We keep going back because Kate and Adrian are fabulous hosts and the food is also fabulous. It is interesting for us to see what additions and improvements they have added over time. Our experiences there include breakfast, of course, their cooking school, appetizers in the wine cellar (the wine cellar dates back to c. 1836), port and chocolates in the wine cellar, and a fondue supper. Never have we been disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our visit and stay in the Kings Room was pleasing to all of the senses. Using our sense of sight we enjoyed taking in the history of the Alpenhorn Gausthaus, beginning with the bricks, large windows & beautiful bed. Our eyes drank in the beauty of the home as Kate gave us the tour.

Next with our sense of smell and taste, we enjoyed the scrumptious raspberry desserts and ports during our Chocolate & Wine Rendezvous in the candle lit cellar at 9 pm. We were accompanied by another couple staying at the Gausthaus and enjoyed the conversation with our evening.
In the morning Kate served us a Gourmet Full Service Breakfast in the Harvest Room. A thick sliced type of Frenchtoast topped with a fruit medley was accompanied by poached eggs and sausages. The champaigne Mimosa was a wonderful compliment to the meal.

The guest book in the nice quiet room was a treat, as it was a glimpse the lives of those who had stayed before us. I enjoyed adding my own personal experiences to the journal. I enjoyed reading the book of poetry as I relaxed in the comfortable chairs in my room and tasted the chocolates. The shower was refreshing and had great water pressure and plush towels. The flickering fireplace was romantic and a nice touch as well as the warm and cozy robes.
Our stay was enjoyable and romantic and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was my first stay in this wonderful Hermann area B&B and I have already booked for 2010. For the last 8-9 years I have led a group to Hermann for the Oktoberfest there and in Augusta. This year we had 4 couples, so we had the entire B&B as a group. We did the Chocolate and Wine Cellar event on Friday evening and it was fantastic. We all did their Dinner at 8ish on Saturday night and it was outstanding as well. Great hosts in Kate and Adrian, friendly pets and animals on the grounds, nice quite setting and wonderful rooms.

Curtis & Liz - Prairie Village, KS

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriWinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I have been at many B&B's over the years. Usually a bit too cute for my tastes but my wife likes that stuff. Food is usually passable and hosts congenial. I expected that for our first stay at the Alpenhorn. That is not what I found. This place made my guy side really comfortable. We found an old but amazingly well cared for brick, two-story home from the early 1800’s. Wood floors you could easily drool on if not careful. A great gathering room where amongst friends in our party, we listened to old Beatles records, played Yatzee, and talked within an atmosphere that is by no means overly cute and stifling. The gathering room has a large picture of a very old Swiss town that is the proprietor’s hometown. Adrian treated us to historical insights of an old bridge showing in the painting burning down.

Had the chocolate and port dessert experience in the very large wine cellar under the house. Also treated ourselves to an evening dinner catered at the Alpenhorn by Adrian and Kate. Highly recommend both.

Adrian and Kate, the owners, were attentive, cordial, never in the way or bothersome. I thoroughly enjoined talking to and listening to conversations when they were around. They have an amazing knowledge of Hermann history as well as contemporary subjects relating to the area. They are living source books as well as fantastic cooks and wine connoisseurs.

We left so sorry the weekend was over, missing the total quietness of the setting, the evening in the hot tub, the walks around the extensive and well-manicured surrounding grounds, watching the chickens and sheep (from afar) and just generally soaking in a world right out of the 1830's.

We made reservations for next year before we departed to return to KC, KS. While in Hermann in the future, we will never stay anywhere else from now on.
Go, enjoy and sock away a ton of memories of a gentler, quieter, more serene lifestyle. Perhaps we will meet you there. October for Oktoberfest is our thing…

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Located on the edge of town, therefore quiet and relaxing. A beautiful setting...wine cellar, patio area and hot tub all adding up to a very unique and restful experience. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Just got back from an amazing weekend at Alpenhorn. What a great place! I've never stayed at a B&B so I was a little unsure of whether or not I'd like it. From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Kate and Adrian are the best! It's clear how much thought and detail they've put into everything from the decor of the quaint little cottage we stayed in, to the delicious breakfasts! It was so nice to visit the area wineries and then relax under the stars in the hot tub. We went here to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and this place just completely exceeded our expectations. There's a reason this place is rated #1! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardnerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 50 in Hermann
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Hermann
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: £74 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing