We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable... outstanding stay.”
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #5 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This was the first trip for my wife and I to Hermann. Overwhelmed by the amount of places to stay, but we liked the room photos and gambled on Alpenhorn Gasthaus. The proprietors met us on our late arrival and immediately welcomed us in. We can say, the website doesn't do the house and grounds justice. OUTSTANDING service and accomodations. Breakfast was supurb and the buildings were beautiful. MUST STAY HERE. We will recommend them as the only place to stay in hermann and we will only stay at Alpenhorn any time we return. It makes the trip worth it. Thank you Kate and Adrian.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed at Alpernhorn for one night during our honeymoon in Das Landhaus (the larger of the two cottages). It is one of the nicest B&Bs I have visited; the hosts have done a great job with all the little details: robes and slippers for the hot tub; Swiss chocolates, chilled water, a stereo with a CD player in the room, etc. The decor is charming, not at all country kitschy. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, and not too heavy (as some B&B breakfasts can be). We highly recommend it. I agree with the earlier reviewer that said the website does not it do it justice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just a hop skip and a jump from downtown Hermann lies the Alpenhorn Gasthaus....and for us...home away from home. Leaving is always so bittersweet. The peace and tranquility is unmatched. The sheep and chickens are so fun to watch and the cats are hilarious. A private hot tub is yours to enjoy....just sign up. There are cookies in the gathering room for your taking, books, magazines and records (yes vinyl!) galore. There are games to play and wonderful grounds to roam. And Kate and Adrian are a wealth of info to help you find out what's going on in Hermann and places to eat if you haven't booked a dinner with them.

We travel to Hermann at least twice a year and stop through just to see Kate and Adrian on our way to and from St. Louis. Kate and Adrian are truly one of Missouri's treasures and we're sure not for a long a hidden one. If you're going to Hermann this is the place to stay. Every detail to make your stay comfortable has been attended to. If they don't have it...you don't need it.

You don't leave hungry that's for sure. The breakfasts are always amazing and if you get a chance, make dinner reservations...you won't find a finer meal for miles. The Port tasting with homemade chocolates is a treat and experience like no other.

I'm not one to rush time because heaven knows there isn't enough of it...but I can't wait for our next visit. Kate and Adrian are the best of the best when it comes to Innkeepers, we are blessed to call them friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mama2moons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife and I go to Hermann twice a year, with the exception of last spring when our daughter was quite ill, and every time we stay at Alpenhorn. We have now stayed at Alpenhorn I believe 8 times. From the first time we stayed there was never a doubt as to where we would stay the next time, and every other time we will visit Hermann in the future.

Kate and Adrian are no longer "the Innkeepers" they are now what we would consider friends. They truly care about each guest and no matter how busy they might be, they always make an effort to visit a little with everyone. There are no words to describe the breakfast that they make as they are truly like no other. Everything they make is extraordinary and we never go away hungry. The grounds are always very well kept and the rooms are always very clean. If you are looking for a private, romantic place to stay, this is definitely the place to stay.

As usual we stayed for two nights and at the end of our stay, with the exception of missing our daughter, we were not ready to go home. We can not wait until the next time we return!!

Thank you Kate and Adrian for such a wonderful time!!
J and C Stewart, Kansas City, MO

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horselover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have stayed at Alpenhorn Gasthaus several times since 2003. We keep going back because Kate and Adrian are fabulous hosts and the food is also fabulous. It is interesting for us to see what additions and improvements they have added over time. Our experiences there include breakfast, of course, their cooking school, appetizers in the wine cellar (the wine cellar dates back to c. 1836), port and chocolates in the wine cellar, and a fondue supper. Never have we been disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our visit and stay in the Kings Room was pleasing to all of the senses. Using our sense of sight we enjoyed taking in the history of the Alpenhorn Gausthaus, beginning with the bricks, large windows & beautiful bed. Our eyes drank in the beauty of the home as Kate gave us the tour.

Next with our sense of smell and taste, we enjoyed the scrumptious raspberry desserts and ports during our Chocolate & Wine Rendezvous in the candle lit cellar at 9 pm. We were accompanied by another couple staying at the Gausthaus and enjoyed the conversation with our evening.
In the morning Kate served us a Gourmet Full Service Breakfast in the Harvest Room. A thick sliced type of Frenchtoast topped with a fruit medley was accompanied by poached eggs and sausages. The champaigne Mimosa was a wonderful compliment to the meal.

The guest book in the nice quiet room was a treat, as it was a glimpse the lives of those who had stayed before us. I enjoyed adding my own personal experiences to the journal. I enjoyed reading the book of poetry as I relaxed in the comfortable chairs in my room and tasted the chocolates. The shower was refreshing and had great water pressure and plush towels. The flickering fireplace was romantic and a nice touch as well as the warm and cozy robes.
Our stay was enjoyable and romantic and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was my first stay in this wonderful Hermann area B&B and I have already booked for 2010. For the last 8-9 years I have led a group to Hermann for the Oktoberfest there and in Augusta. This year we had 4 couples, so we had the entire B&B as a group. We did the Chocolate and Wine Cellar event on Friday evening and it was fantastic. We all did their Dinner at 8ish on Saturday night and it was outstanding as well. Great hosts in Kate and Adrian, friendly pets and animals on the grounds, nice quite setting and wonderful rooms.

Curtis & Liz - Prairie Village, KS

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriWinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#1 of 50 in Hermann
446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
1.2 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: £75 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing