We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpenhorn is an amazing getaway!”
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #4 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Saint Louis, MO
2 reviews
“Alpenhorn is an amazing getaway!”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My wife and I just returned from spending Valentine's Day weekend at this wonderful B&B in the heart of Missouri wine country. We were very warmly greeted by Adrian and Kate upon our arrival and were made to feel that this was our home away from home for the weekend. For our first night dinner, we had the fondue in the wine cellar. What a wonderful experience! The first course was probably the best salad that my wife and I have ever had. Kate was kind enough to give us the recipe for the great salad dressing. The fondue was a wonderful blend of various cheese, all done in the traditional Swiss method. The desert, a great dark chocolate tart, was amazing. On both mornings we had a three course breakfast, which left us needing only a very light lunch later in the day. On our last night, we had the four-course dinner in the Harvest Room, which was one of the best meals that we have ever had. Again, Kate and Adrian were very helpful in giving us some of the recipes. The Norton port reduction over the pork tenderloin was wonderful!

Adrian and Kate were very helpful in providing suggestions on the various wineries to sample and for various places around town. Their suggestions proved correct in each instance.

We have stayed in several B&Bs across the country and I will say without hesitation that this one is the best one that we have stayed in. We left feeling that we had become friends with Kate and Adrian. We will definitely return for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSL_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
226
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My husband surprised me with a get-a-way to Herman. We stayed at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus overnight. The room was really cute and cozy. Adrian and Kate, the owners, were absolutly wonderful. We had dinner in the wine cellar, which was not only tasty but a wonderful setting...something not to miss. A truly wonderful B&B!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB-Stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Great stay with Adrian And Kate. They cook very good and very swiss

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxbebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Simply put, it would be hard to find a more relaxing getway. Kate and Adrian are wonderful hosts. The house and property are very pretty and well kept.

The wine celler all lit by candlelight on New Years Eve was amazing. We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. As most people note, there meals are sooo delicious!

When you visit, make sure to go to Tin Mill Brewery, Stone Hill Winery, and Adam Puchta Winery. All great, and the tour at Stone Hill is really quite good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Every time we go out, we are treated to something new, something fresh, and always something unexpected. Adrian and Kate are innkeepers at heart - they work very hard to ensure every guest feels welcomed and cared for - but in a completely effortless way. Grounded in genuine Swiss hospitality with a relaxed European feel, time unfolds around laughter, excellent food and interesting conversation that leaves us wanting to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndlsjrnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

This was my third time staying at Alpenhorn and it was as wonderful as always! Kate is a wonderful cook and you will not be disappointed. My favorite is her ultimate French toast! It is too die for. If you are looking to relax this is the place for you. It is also close to all of the wineries. We have stayed in the cottages each of our visits. They are very charming! Please book a dinner at 8ish or Port Wine tasting which is with Kate’s Chocolates in the wine cellar! They are very romantic. Kate and Adrian are wonderful hosts, and they will offer you the best hospitality!

Thanks so much! Angie and Jim

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine_lover_fromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This was the first trip for my wife and I to Hermann. Overwhelmed by the amount of places to stay, but we liked the room photos and gambled on Alpenhorn Gasthaus. The proprietors met us on our late arrival and immediately welcomed us in. We can say, the website doesn't do the house and grounds justice. OUTSTANDING service and accomodations. Breakfast was supurb and the buildings were beautiful. MUST STAY HERE. We will recommend them as the only place to stay in hermann and we will only stay at Alpenhorn any time we return. It makes the trip worth it. Thank you Kate and Adrian.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#15 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Property: Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing