We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pride shows in how they run this place”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“pride shows in how they run this place”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have to say first impression is that the property is a little rough around the edges - but when you meet the owners and workers - you can tell how hard they are working to make your stay exceptional - brant is a font of knowledge and wants you to enjoy your stay and take in everything Hermann has to offer - he went out of his way to get us some bike tubes when the local bike shop was closed - he has pride in his property and all he envisions in improving it - his kitchen staff is exceptional (to die for cookies) and excellent breakfast and close enough to walk to everything in town - I would have no qualms staying here in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Our service is what I feel separates us from the rest. Well, that, the lawn and gardens and Mary's cooking. We're working hard on the rough edges. Our goal is to be wallpaper free by the end of 2014.

We do have newly remodeled rooms so please call the next time your coming and I can direct you to an upgraded room. Come during the week and I'll do it for free!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    39
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
239
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our second visit to Hermann, and the third location we chose to stay. So happy to say that this one is a keeper! Our next trips to Hermann will all be booked at Captain Wohlts. Friendly, helpful staff. Amazing breakfast. Clean facilities. Perfectly central location. And gorgeous yard and landscaping. Sitting around the fire in the evenings was the perfect way to end each day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We'll keep the fires going for you and will have at least a few new things for your next stay! Glad your enjoyed your stay and thank you for telling others about your experience at the Captain Wohlt Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We traveled with a few friends to Hermann for a one-night weekend stay and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The outdoor space was ideal for sitting by the fire or playing evening games in the yard. The owner was friendly, the location is perfect to walk to many of the wineries, the downtown area or to jump aboard the trolley. Perfect place to stay for couples or small groups. Nothing bad to say - a great overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words and your business. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have worked very hard on the lawn and gardens and are excited when people get to enjoy them. The patios and fire pits are a great place to meet new friends and share stories. Come back and see what's new next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Some friends and I stayed here for a girls weekend in Sept. It was one of the few places with reasonable rates for the weekend that also had enough space to accommodate all of us. We were all happy with our stay. The breakfasts were great, the cook / owner very engaging and they went the extra mile to make sure we were taken care of (they even drove our luggage to the Amtrak because it was raining).

The rooms were as expected, though a bit larger than I had anticipated (we stayed in the Teachers Room). If you like what you see online, you should be happy. Very nice folks and only a couple blocks walk to the center of town (1st St) and a block away from some shops and a bar / restaurant.

Room Tip: Teachers Room and Attic Rooms are above the breakfast dining area (and require a walk up some stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augusta, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We did not reserve any rooms before arriving in Hermann, but were directed to Captain Wohlt's by a woman at the Hermann Travel Information Center. Brant had just completed landscaping, and as we walked around the city past other B & B's, I have to say that Captain Wohlt's took the cake on neatness and outside appearances. Our room (The French Room) was simply decorated, and very tasteful. I enjoyed the color combinations very much. Breakfast was bountiful, and delicious, and the afternoon cookies were heavenly. I came home with two new recipes from Mary, the cook, and a third that I will have to look up. We also enjoyed hearing tales of Brant's adventuresome life at breakfast. Our room was next to the Common Room, which we had mostly to ourselves for three evenings. Had other guests been there the close proximity to the Common Room would have been a bit uncomfortable. We had received a special room rate, but if we stay at Captain Wohlt's again we will probably upgrade to a larger room for comfort, at least if we are there for multiple nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
So glad you found us! We are very glad to show people what we think a B&B experience should be. Mary's cooking is a big part of why the Captain Wohlt Inn is the best place to stay in Hermann, MO.
Hope you enjoy the recipes. Look for a cookbook sometime next year. You can pick one up the next time you stay. See you soon!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viera, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked the entire facility for an event. 27 bicycle riders riding the Katy Trail. Could not have been more pleased. Rooms were clean, well appointed, and inluded everything one would expect from a first-classs B&B.
Breakfast was off-the-hook good. Very well presented.
I will most definately be booking The Captain Wohlt Inn for next years event.
Brant the owner, leaves nothing to change. Believe me, it is money well spent.
It's ALL Good!
Bubba

Room Tip: I personally stayed in The Sammons Suite. Huge room. Well appointed. Did I mention it was a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Bubba,

Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your group stay at The Captain Wohlt Inn.

If you're looking for a group ride on the Katy Trail, you won't go wrong with Bubba's Pampered Peddlers. They are a very well run organization and do many other rides throughout the country.

See you next year!

B

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our second trip to Hermann and the first time we have stayed in a bed and breakfast. We randomly selected the Captain Wohlt Inn from the internet and hoped for the best.

We spent two nights in the Irish Room and could not have been more pleased. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were much more than we expected. The staff was very accommodating and helpful and gave us excellent advise on how to tour Hermann and where to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Ed,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our quaint little town and are excited to share it with all our guests. We're even more excited when we get "first timers" at a B&B.

We just finished the landscape installation on the main property and Mary is working on the new fall menu.

Hope to see you back soon!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#15 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing