We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than the Captain Wohlt Inn!”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #1 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than the Captain Wohlt Inn!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent our New Year's Eve and day in Hermann at The Captain Wholt Inn and had a great time! Not only is the town charming but so is the home and room we stayed in. Our room was a great size and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was amazing and most ingredients used were local which we love! The owner, Brant, was very welcoming and helpful with information about the surrounding area and the history of Hermann. You can tell he takes pride not only in his inn but in the town itself. We will definitely stay here again very soon and look forward to the spring time to enjoy the outdoor fireplace!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous! They each have their own personalities. Ask Brant to give you a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    42
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
259
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'll never stay anywhere else in Hermann! The Captain Wohlt Inn is everything a bed and breakfast should be and more. My husband and I have been there a few times this past year and they always exceed our expectations. The rooms are comfortable and charming, and there are these delicious homemade cookies in your room just waiting to be devoured. The breakfast they serve is a far cry from the typical b&bs I've been to. On this particular visit, we started off with a homemade fresh fruit and granola parfait, then scrambled eggs with fresh herbs and locally made blueberry and maple sausage. I'm sure my description isn't doing it the justice it deserves! It was awesome! They really go the extra mile for their guests. In the evenings there's always a fire burning on the patio too. It's a nice place to have a glass of wine and relax or make s'mores, depending on your mood. Usually, there are other guests to chat with and more then likely a kitty (Mr. Grey Cat) hanging around eagerly awaiting some love. In the summer there are yard games to play and a hammock to nap in. The grounds and the Inn itself are beautifully maintained and located in a great place to take off exploring the historic town and wineries. My husband and I have been going to bed and breakfasts for a few years now and this is one of the best, if not 'the' best one we've been to. It's more then just a room and breakfast, it's an experience. The owner, Brant, is very welcoming and eager to make your stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poeschel suite, it was roomy, quiet and comfortable. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed two nights at Captain Wohlt' s Neighbor B & B in the English Room. We were there between Christmas and New Year's. Very warm and inviting room with attention to detail. A plate of delicious holiday cookies was in our room on arrival. Breakfasts were delicious. From lemon herb muffins to warm raspberry rice pudding. . . Yummy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay once again. Highly recommend the Captain Wohlt. We will return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I highly recommend the Captain Wohlt B&B! My family and some friends gathered there for New Year's Eve, and it was everything we expected. The location was very convenient, a little over an hour from St. Louis, and within walking distance to the charming Main Street and a scenic walking bridge. The rooms were spacious and clean, with updated modern bathrooms and fresh linens. Coffee was available via Keurig in the breakfast room, a big selling point for my husband, and the breakfast was outstanding! The sausage had to have been local with as unprocessed as it tasted and the juice was fresh-squeezed. The innkeeper was available and friendly, and even played taxi driver for another guest who couldn't find a way to and from dinner. He obviously took pride in the experience of the The Captain Wohlt. It was the perfect stay to get away from the busy city and take a little break.

Room Tip: The adjoining rooms on huge third floor of the yellow building were perfect for a family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina-in-the-city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Captain Wohlt Inn made business travel enjoyable! The rooms were very, very clean and decorated well. Lovely accommodations. There was delicious cookies on my desk waiting for me and bottled water in the refrigerator. Breakfast was beyond expectations with homemade biscotti, fresh squeezed juices, baked french toast, quiche, poached pear, homeade granola and fresh berries. There was a fire in the fire pit for those that wanted to enjoy the evening outside. The service was impeccable. Brandt and his team go the extra mile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yctraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After hosting a large Thanksgiving party, me & hubby headed to Hermann to relax and enjoy the weekend. We couldn't have picked a better place! We took our 4-year old basset hound and he also enjoyed our cottage. We stayed at the Peters suite, which offers 2 private entrances, one leading to a white picket fence in yard, perfect for our dog. The suite, with bedroom, living room and kitchen was delightfully cozy. Breakfasts are everything you already read on other reviews: not only the best in town, but probably in any other B&B in the country. We highly recommend!!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, the Peters suite is your best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My daughter and I came from Milwaukee, Wisconsin for the Thanksgiving weekend to visit relatives in Hermann. We could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Inn. We were in the Captain's Neighbor French Room. Lovely accommodations, luxurious towels and very very clean. The BEST part was the breakfasts that we enjoyed during our three-day stay. Quiches, sausages from the local purveyors, fresh-baked pound cake and peach French toast, along with fresh-squeezed juices each morning. Heavenly. Nice, friendly innkeepers and wonderful breakfast conversations. We'll definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Christine,

Thank you for the king words. We have been working hard updating the Inn. We're glad you noticed the new towels and, of course, Mary's breakfasts are the best in town! We have some great specials this Spring and are doing S'mores on the patio each Friday in March and April! We would love o see you back again.

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
175 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing