We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #1 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grain Valley, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Captain Wohlts' Inn is by FAR the best B&B in Hermann. Great rooms, great service and fantastic food. Can't say enough about this place. So warm and inviting. Favorite part was all the lovely amenities within the suite. Captain Brant was a great host and provided lots of useful information about the places to visit in Hermann. Loved it and WILL be back!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michee_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think there are many great things to do in Hermann and it was my pleasure sharing those with you. Mary changes her menu seasonally and the garden will be starting to bloom soon. Hope to see you back later this year!

Captain Brant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    39
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
228
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The breakfast was above and beyond. The room so clean with clean.The host very very friendly. Just perfect. Id tell any one going on a trip hermann to stay here. There were 10 of house n we all had our own little houses. Wonderful. Fire set outside every nite. Friendly helpful staff!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beccamcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We work hard to provide the best breakfast in town and to do the extras like set the fires every night. Mary changes the menus seasonally and we have more than one or two things planned for later in the year. Hope to see you back to show you everything new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed 1 night at the Captain's Neighbor. Very well restored property, great breakfast, and Grant is a fine guide to the town! After dinner, we had a fine evening outside by the fire talking with other guests. Breakfast was delicious and they took care to accommodate dietary concerns.

Room Tip: There are a couple of buildings to stay in, each with a different combination of rooms. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-H-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Karl,

We'r eglad you enjoyed your stayThanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. With notice, I think Mary can accomodate just about any dietary concern. She makes the best breakfast in town! We'll continue to work hard to improve and upgrade the inn. Hope we'll see you back again soon!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Captain Wohlt Inn for 2 nights with a group of couples, all of us in our mid 20s. I was a little concerned that the place would be overly frumpy, but it seems like they have done a lot lately to modernize it. The rooms were very nice, and everything within them (beds, pillows, towels) was very high quality and so cozy. The outdoor fireplaces were really fun to spend the evening sitting around! We mentioned we wanted to make smores, and they got all the materials for us and set them out for us that night! So sweet. And I cannot say enough about the breakfast - it was just ridiculously good, and huge! More like a brunch really.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I stayed there for two nights last weekend. It was our first time in Hermann and Brant was so helpful in guiding us what to do. The room was so cute, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cort_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent one night as we were passing through at the Captain Wohlt's Neighbor. The room was very quaint, with hardwood floors and dormer windows. Brant was very helpful and accommodating and the microwave, fridge and cookies were appreciated by two tired travelers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent our New Year's Eve and day in Hermann at The Captain Wholt Inn and had a great time! Not only is the town charming but so is the home and room we stayed in. Our room was a great size and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was amazing and most ingredients used were local which we love! The owner, Brant, was very welcoming and helpful with information about the surrounding area and the history of Hermann. You can tell he takes pride not only in his inn but in the town itself. We will definitely stay here again very soon and look forward to the spring time to enjoy the outdoor fireplace!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous! They each have their own personalities. Ask Brant to give you a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Hermann
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing