We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shell Knob, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The room we stayed in, "Gloria's Room" is very basic but very clean and comfortable. The host, Brant was extremely informative regarding the local area and made several great recommendations for sightseeing and eating. The grounds are nicely manicured and pleasant to enjoy the evenings sitting around an outdoor fireplace enjoying wine. The location is within walking distance of nearly everything in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with others! Gloria's Room is one of our "Standard Queens". We have a couple upgrades including private entrance suites with kitchenettes, fireplaces and two-person whirlpool tubs. We are also in the process of remodeling the building you stayed in. We are moving toward a more modern look with a mono-chromatic color scheme and new furniture that should arrive by fall. We will also be installing T.V.'s in all of those rooms. Hope to be able to show them off to you when they are finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    39
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
239
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Girls weekend away and it was perfect! Service outstanding. Rooms clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Pretty grounds. Definitely recommend. Brant met us at sidewalk took our bags. Explained everything about town and activities and how to get around. Everyone in the town was very accomodating. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We hope you'll be back soon. We have many options to choose from, so are the perfect place for groups of 2- 50. We will soon be offering private dinners outside in the garden too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Captain Wohlt Inn was a great place to stay in Hermann. We stayed in the Captain's quarters which was perfect for 2 couples. One bedroom was upstairs and one was downstairs. The place was clean, quiet and quaint. And it was walking distance from the train. Brant and Mary were great hosts. The breakfast had to be the best in town! And definitely try the cookies!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing you experience with others. Mary, Taryn, Betty and I are working hard and it's nice when somebody lets us know it shows. We now have a newly remodel guest house that has 4 beds and 4 1/2 baths and can sleep up to 10 adults. We will be offering private dinners at both the guest house and our main property very soon. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was a great overnight trip and the Captain Wohlt Inn was the perfect place to stay. Great breakfast, charming B&B with incredible service from Brant and Mary every step of the way. And did I mention the fresh delicious giant cookies? We will be back and we will stay here again!

Room Tip: The Poeschel Suite was private, quiet and has a great private patio area. It is also close to the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Cheryl,

Thanks for the kind words. It was nice having you at the Inn. We are working very hard to make the Captain Wohlt Inn the best Hermann has to offer. I feel our service and Mary's great cooking sets us apart. Her cookies are the best in town! I have about 5 extra pounds to prove it.

The Poeschel Suite is great for groups and has a connecting staircase for groups of up to 8. We should have the new floors in by the end of the year. Hope to see you back again soon!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravois Mills, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Enjoyed the food prepared as well as the atmosphere. Very homey and centrally located. Thank you for making all feel at home. I particularly liked your chocolate covered strawberries. They were superb.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Joyce,

We're glad you liked the snacks. We have a gem with Mary. Not only does she make the best cookies in town, she's got some great chocolate covered strawberries too. It won't be long before our friend Pieter will be harvesting fresh strawberries at Wil Farm. If you come back, you can pick the fresh from the field!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wow did my book club have a wonderful time! The food, the accommodations and the service were just wonderful! I had a perfect little room up a quaint little staircase and it was perfect for me. The internet service was great as was the bed and tv. Thanks for the great time.

Room Tip: They were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Jackie,

Thanks for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Captain Wohlt Inn. Our inn is perfect for groups as we can offer many different options for groups of up to 46! Our property, service and Mary's cooking are what sets us apart. We work hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your next visit. While it won't be the same as running in Pamplona, I can set up a trip on the zipline if you like.

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I visited Captain Wohlt Inn for a much needed break. The room was very clean, the service was great, the breakfast was fantastic, and Brant W. was very professional and knowledgeable. Oh yeah...the bed was so comfortable! It was just what my back needed! I would certainly recommend this place for anyone visiting the Hermann, Mo. area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdawn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We're glad you were able to enjoy the Inn, our town and some relaxation. We are working hard to set the standard in lodging for Hermann and are glad to hear it's being noticed by our guests. Hope to see you back at the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#15 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing