We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a GREAT time!!”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This was a GREAT time!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was my first overnight girls trip to Hermann and what a great time! First this is a spotless B&B with super helpful and friendly staff. Brandt is full of great suggestions of places to go and things to see. There were 3 of us and the room that we had was about one of the most reasonable in the area. The set up was perfect - there was a king bed and a queen hide-a-bed that was really comfortable. Convenient location to attractions in town and the trolley makes this a super easy trip if you come by train - no need for a car and no need to decide who is the designated driver to all the wineries! Double bonus! Breakfast was off the hook and delicious beyond compare. Cookies that are in your room make a great afternoon or late night snack. Brandt also has the camp fire all ready to toast marshmallows and make smores! Small fridge is great if you get wine and want to enjoy it later. Our train didn't leave until evening but they kept our luggage in the main house all day for us. We had a light shower in the late afternoon and were able to hang out under the covered patio areas and stay dry while enjoying the outdoors. I've not stayed in a B&B before - but I have to tell you - I would stay here hands down every single trip to Hermann.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundrdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    42
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
259
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quapaw, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at this historic B & B and were extremely pleased. The staff (Brandt, Taren, and Mary) was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, the accommodations were very clean, and the breakfast was amazing,

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms of the main house were great. They were large, private bathrooms, and we woke to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaBear1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We all work hard and it's great to hear when the guests have a great experience. You are certainly correct about Mary's cooking. I have an extra 10 pounds I'm carrying around because of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The group I was traveling with this past week spent the night at this B&B in Hermann. Brant Wilkins (the Inn Keeper) greeted each one of us as we rode in from the Katy Trail. Once offering to carry our bikes from street level up the steps to the storage shed, he took the time to sit down with each person individually and review a map of the town along with suggestions of places to visit and phone numbers to some of the different places and services that were available in town. After the brief review, he then escorted each person to their accommodations for the night.

Waiting in each room were a couple of bottles of water and some of the best cookies you would want to eat. Very welcome touches to those that just came in off the trail or even drove in off the street. The rooms were neat and very clean, however I found the Gloria's room to be furnished very "simply" compared to many of the other rooms from B&B's that I have stayed in. However the furnishings in the room were very clean and useable. In fact, I probably had one of the best nights sleep of my entire week long trek along the Katy Trail in the Captain Wolht Inn. The bed was very comfortable and supportive.

Outdoors featured multiple seating areas as well a couple of different fire pit area's and patio talbes for the guests to meet/greet and swap stories of the days adventures.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and very filling for the start of the next days ride. If you should choose Captain Wohlt Inn, you would not leave feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWM4739XY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great night's sleep! We are a bed and breakfast so good bedding is a necessity in our view. We are currently in the process of remodeling those rooms. New furniture has been ordered and should be in by fall. We will also be adding TV's to each of the rooms in that building.

We try to go above and beyond with our service believing it's better to under promise and over deliver. Mary's cookies and cooking are amazing! As you have seen, we go out of our way for our guests to enjoy their stay on our property and our wonderful little town.

We have one of the best locations and our lawn and garden is a great respite in the middle of the historic district. By your next stay, we should be offering private dinners and are trying to work out canoe trips for something different for Katy Trail Riders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

after a 20+ visits to hermann and the surrounding areas, we finally found the perfect place to stay.
Clean, comfortable and the best customer service I have had in all my travels, 42 states and 8 countries. Breakfast is actually worth getting out of bed for, and I hate mornings!!! Brandt and his staff went above and beyond for us, helping coordinate our large group and a full house. If you are traveling for any of the festivals in Hermann you are within walking distance of everything you need, including the trolly. Sitting on the front porch and enjoying the fire pit, sharing stories (Brandt has had an amazing life so ask!!!) or just sitting in the picturesque yard with a glass of wine. Brandt and his staff were all polite and giving of their time the entire week.
Price was reasonable on booking, but after the stay I would rate it as a steal!!!

Room Tip: Every room was clean and comfortable...but tall people should avoid the "boys" and "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I think it proves we have been meeting our goals. I am certainly not the cheapest place in town. I also not the most expensive. We are, by far, the best value in town. We work hard on the lawn and garden and love having people enjoy the property. Our patios and fire-pits are one of the best reasons to stay. Mary's breakfasts are by far the best in town! I hope we'll see you back again soon! Mary has just started serving her Summer Menu and will have another new one for the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We rented out 5 rooms for our wedding, and every single one was clean, comfortable, and you can tell they really care about the details. Breakfast was amazing, as was the service all around. Brant helped us coordinate the stay among 5 different groups (all from out of state), accommodated the needs of various ages of kids, and even called around to find specific equipment around town so my brother could do his knee rehab and train.

The landscaping is really awesome, and I honestly haven't enjoyed a hotel stay this much ever---and that's among 11 states and 7 countries. We're definitely staying there next time we're in Missouri

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It was a pleasure hosting your family. I am glad everyone enjoyed it so much. We pride ourselves on our service and will continue to work hard setting the bar in Hermann. We have hired a new manager and our hope is to be able to offer more services to help groups and wedding parties plan their events. We will also be offering private dinners in the garden soon! We have started a new program for wedding parties and are offering a two night stay, the following year for couples who book the Captain Wohlt Inn for their wedding party. I will be in touch soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Knob, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The room we stayed in, "Gloria's Room" is very basic but very clean and comfortable. The host, Brant was extremely informative regarding the local area and made several great recommendations for sightseeing and eating. The grounds are nicely manicured and pleasant to enjoy the evenings sitting around an outdoor fireplace enjoying wine. The location is within walking distance of nearly everything in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with others! Gloria's Room is one of our "Standard Queens". We have a couple upgrades including private entrance suites with kitchenettes, fireplaces and two-person whirlpool tubs. We are also in the process of remodeling the building you stayed in. We are moving toward a more modern look with a mono-chromatic color scheme and new furniture that should arrive by fall. We will also be installing T.V.'s in all of those rooms. Hope to be able to show them off to you when they are finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Girls weekend away and it was perfect! Service outstanding. Rooms clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Pretty grounds. Definitely recommend. Brant met us at sidewalk took our bags. Explained everything about town and activities and how to get around. Everyone in the town was very accomodating. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We hope you'll be back soon. We have many options to choose from, so are the perfect place for groups of 2- 50. We will soon be offering private dinners outside in the garden too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warrenton
13.7 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing