We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed in - worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Ranked #1 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've ever stayed in - worth every penny”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great staff, service, cleanliness. Quiet. They really want your feedback good or bad, we just couldn't think of any areas to improve upon! Totally relaxing. We happened to reserve their last available room, wouldn't have otherwise chosen one with a hot tub, steam shower and all that. LOVED it all, and comfortable using the hot tub based on what we saw and what they told us of their cleaning regimen. Watched the 4th of July fireworks over the Missouri river while relaxing in the hot tub. Katy bike trail nearby. Town is ok, but we were there for 2 days of relaxation, not to play tourist in town. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. We had Vignoles room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
That you for posting your comments about your stay in the Vignoles Spa suite at the Inn. We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities that our guests frequently refer to as a "Water park"in the three rooms that offer an Indoor hot tub, Sanijet Jacuzzi Tub, and steam shower. Our housekeeping staff also appreciates you mentioning the cleaning procedures we use for all of our hot tubs at both properties-totally changing the water after each guest departs and replacing it with 100 degree water that we then chlorinate so it's clean and ready for our next arriving guests. This is a huge commitment that we gladly make because cleanliness will always be at the top of the Hermann Hill priority list.
Watching our town's fireworks from your room is one of those special 4th of July perks that our guests over the years have always enjoyed.
Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to your next stay.

Leslie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    17
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
325
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Absolutely incredible. Everything about our stay was memorable and impressive. From the spotless room conditions to the homemade breakfasts placed in our cottage fridge (and numerous other personalized touches), the owners of Hermann Hill take pleasing their guests seriously. We were greeted by our car at their lovely inn for check-in, impressed by the view and amenities at our cottage (Cottage 1), and then blown away by the discoveries we encountered as we unpacked. My wife and I enjoyed the local wineries but we loved coming back to the cottage to kick back and relax in our jacuzzi, whirlpool tub and shower. One of my favorite moments was sharing time with my beloved in their quaint little couple's chapel just outside our cottage. We will be back soon but will undoubtedly never forget our first visit. No complaints at all ( a first for me).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about your Cottage 1 stay. We were particularly pleased that you mentioned using our couples personal chapel. When asked to define what we do at Hermann Hill in a few words we respond that "We're all about couples, in both our Vineyard Inn & Spa, River bluff Cottages, and Wedding chapel." This year, we built the separate couples personal chapel in the woods with two bridges and a lighted path taking you from the road and parking area for privacy. Our hope was that our guests could take a few minutes during their stay to go there and think about their relationship. Your room key gives you access. We have comfortable chairs and two water fountains to help set the mood. Guests like you are telling us that you are enjoying the experience and our entire Hermann Hill staff is very appreciative of comments like yours.
Thanks again for posting on Trip Advisor.

Peggy and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plato
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a great time! We did not need anything they thought of EVERYTHING! Best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at! Thanks for the wonderful stay in Hermann. Loved the goodies before bedtime. Would suggest this to any couple wanting to just get away and RELAX! We will return for another special occasion!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Over the past 18 years our Inn guests have repeatedly told us that delivering warm cookies and ice cream with our own port chocolate raspberry sauce to their door each evening was an unexpected surprise, particularly when delivered by the innkeepers.

When our guests learned seven years ago that we were building five Missouri River bluff Cottages the most frequently asked question was "what about the cookies?" Needless to say our Chef bakes both kind of heart shaped cookies that are placed in each cottage refrigerator along with gourmet ice cream (currently Haagen Dazs), and a small bottle of our chocolate sauce. Instructions on the wrapped cookies are to microwave them for 15 seconds an then hopefully our cottage guests can replicate our Inn guest's experience. We've also included both Hermann Hill cookie recipes on our website: www.hermannhill.com.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Amazing bed and breakfast. Beautiful views. Fabulous service. Our stay started with a tour of the facility and a welcome packet that covered every possible need we might have. Shortly after check in, our host brought up a tray of snacks, including drinks, grapes, cheese, and warm sour dough and pretzel bread with toppings. At bedtime, she brought warm chocolate chip cookies and ice cream. Breakfast was wonderful with many choice of foods, times and places to eat. The room was spotless and the bathroom impressive. We loved our deck and were blessed with perfect weather. Lewis, the chocolate lab, was a big hit as well. We just can't say enough great things about this place! We have already booked for our anniversary trip next year!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for posting such complimentary review! "Thinking of everything" has always been work in progress at Hermann Hill and most of our suggestions for improvement come from our guests. For example, we've been offering our Inn guests six different daily breakfast entrees for years because of their feedback. We continue to add new amenities all the time. Two of our latest are sleep masks and a spa massage soap bar for the showers.

We look forward to your next stay and promise you that Hermann Hill will always remain totally guest driven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We have returned for the last 3 years and are going back next year. I like how many choices they have for breakfast and how good it is and in the evening we were served with ice cream and cookies with a chocolate raspberry sauce. Yum! Relaxing in the hot tub in the evening is wonderful. This year we even had our on sauna. Terry is a terrific host and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your past three stays and posting such great comments. I love being an innkeeper and consider it an honor host so many wonderful guests. Peggy and I attended a Spa conference last year to learn about the latest trends. Infra-red sauna use is definitely gaining in popularity because they don't get your body to potentially dangerous temperatures like traditional saunas. We installed one in the Virginia Seeding and Seyval guest rooms. In addition to creating a spa atmosphere at the Inn by adding on site massage therapy, three more hot tub rooms, and steam showers in every room, we are also trying to replicate the "water park" amenities our cottage guests frequently mention.

Thanks again for being such a loyal Hermann Hill guest!

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Excellent from the Welcome Tray of wine, breads, fruit and cheese to the fantastic breakfasts. Rooms and view are gorgeous! Coffee bar really fun on a rainy afternoon. Terry leaving cookies and ice cream by the door each night at bedtime was really neat. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norv4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your posting. We're particularly glad that you enjoyed our coffee bar located in the inn's kitchen. Over the years we've tried many kinds of coffee equipment, beans, and devices before discovering the Douwe Egbert system when we built our wedding chapel catering kitchen. Our Inn guests love this machine because the regular and decaf coffee is always fresh. We also try to provide enough condiments and few surprises to bring a smile to everyone's face. We recently added nine flavors of TAZO tea and hot water is also available on demand from the Douwe Egbert machine for both hot tea and cocoa.

Thanks again.

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were given a stay at Herman Hill with a Couples Massage as an anniversary gift. What a wonderful gift it was. We were in the Vidal room and it had every amenity a B&B should have. We had a see through fireplace, a huge king-sized bed, a steam shower, a double-size Jacuzzi bath and heated towel racks. We were greeted with a "welcome snack" of warm breads, cheese slices and dips and glasses of wine. Our bedtime snack was a small sundae and enormous heart-shaped cookies. Our room had a small patio and rock garden with a propane fire pit. It was cool in the evening and after dinner we took our wine glasses and sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful evening because we had the warmth of the fire pit. Breakfast was outstanding. The staff made us feel very special and welcome both by what they said and by how they treated us. They made us feel like they were very glad we were there. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the local wineries and the Vintage Restaurant at Stone Hill. We were there on a gift this time but we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room, the Vidal, was on the lowest level but ours was the only room that opened onto the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your detailed posting about your recent stay in the Vidal room. Like you, our Seyval and Vidal guests love the fire tables and opportunity to spend a quiet evening on their patio surrounded by our Norton grape vineyard. Vidal was the first room that we added a steam shower and now all of our rooms at both the Inn and Village have steam showers.

We look forward to your next stay and again thank you for posting these wonderful comments.

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
12.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#7 of 50 in Hermann
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
1.1 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Property: Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience including premium hot tub and sauna rooms and an onsite spa. The River Bluff Cottages overlooking the Missouri River include spacious living and kitchen areas, private decks with hot tubs and grills, rain forest steam showers, and two fireplaces in each. Both locations offer breakfast delivery. Massage services are available at either location, although the cottages also have the option of in-room and private deck massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing