We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Ranked #1 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had our wedding at Hermann Hill this past December. The wedding planners were wonderful as they helped us through ever step. The food and view were complimented by all. The only negative thing I have to say about the whole experience was that there was a tip jar on the bar. In the contract it explicitly states that tip is charged up front. As a family member had offered to pay for the liquor and I had explained the up front charge policy I was a bit embarrassed when they came to me after the wedding inquiring about why the tip jar was there (I hadn't noticed it). A week after the wedding I received an email from the owners of Hermann Hill inquiring about the wedding. I said that it was wonderful but did mention this snafu. Two weeks passed and no reply. I then sent another email to follow up on my first response and still no reply. All in all we really did love our wedding there but as the title states ALMOST perfect.

For the tripadvisor staff member that took down my previous post please be aware that I did have an overnight stay on the property and had food delivered to the room and also catered for the wedding reception. I therefore can make a valid review of these items.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host your wedding and especially for bringing the non-operational email address to our attention. To be perfectly honest, when we read that no one had replied to your concern about the tip jar we all went a little crazy. Our goal is an immediate response to any issue and we obviously failed. We have all of our email addresses forwarded to several of our cell phones and could not believe we had a total failure with just that one address-but we did. After your posting we had our IT people fix the problem and now check that email address regularly.

That being said there is never an excuse for anything less than perfection when it comes to a Hermann Hill wedding. I'm thankful that you've had a chance to discuss the situation with Leslie, our General manger so that nothing like that will happen again. We appreciate your help and suggestions regarding the tip jar issue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to point out a problem that needed to be fixed. I understand that you recently stayed with us again and hope that we can always provide the kind of lodging experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    17
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
331
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The Inn is gorgeous! We arrived on a Friday night. Check in was quick and easy. Our room, the Cynthiana, was perfect. We had dinner at Stone Hill Winery just down the hill from the Inn. When we returned we had heavenly cookies and ice cream delivered to our room. I was super excited to use the jacuzzi tub, but I fell in love with the steam shower and never actually got in the tub! The next morning we had breakfast brought up to our room. The French toast was superb! The balcony was perfect for sitting for a couple of hours drinking our Adam Puchta (?) wine. Saturday evening, we enjoyed our ice cream and cookies in bed. We did not want to leave on Sunday! We are planning a trip back again as soon as we are able!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the Cynthiana guest suite and that you particularly liked the steam shower. All of our 20 rooms at both the Vineyard Inn & Spa and Riverbluff Cottages now have steam showers and our guests tell us that they simply love them. We agree with you about the endless possibilities just sitting on one of our decks or patios. At the Vineyard Inn & spa all decks are on the eastern side of the Inn so they are shaded from the afternoon sun. At our Riverbluff cottages all the decks and patios face north (toward the Missouri River) so they likewise have some shade from the early afternoon sun.

We look forward to your next visit and promise to bring those warm cookies, ice cream, and Port-Chocolate raspberry sauce to your door each evening.

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor.

Terry
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from celebrating our 26th anniversary at H&H B&B. Stayed in one of the cottages this year. Enjoyed the expanded frig food that had some appi's and Breakfast food for the three nights. As usual we enjoyed the solitude and privacy of the cottage. HH is a great "base camp" to launch out and explore all the local wineries. We enjoy this time of year as the town folks and winery folks spend that extra time during this slow season. Terry and Peggy have put together an upscale special occasion B&B, you should give it a try if your in the area and want to be spoiled a bit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tejasdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for returning to Hermann Hill to celebrate your 26th anniversary and particularly your positive comments about your Riverbluff Cottage stay. You point out something about coming to Hermann in the off season that we should emphasize: that you get more personal attention at our local wineries and in our town's shops and restaurants.

We're honored that you refer to us as a "special occasion B&B" and assure you that our entire staff loves to help our guests celebrate honeymoons, babymoons, birthdays, anniversaries and other events.

We look forward to seeing you for your next celebration or off season getaway and again thank you for posting on Trip Advisor.

Leslie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I now know why AAA rates Herman Hill Inn the best in the midwest. We have been to a number of bed and breakfasts on the east coast but they can not hold a candle to Herman Hill. We stayed in the Seyval Suite and it was amazing!! The hot tub, suana and steam shower were romantic and relaxing. The breakfast was exceptional, the cookies and ice cream in the evening (delivered personnaly by Terry) were delicious and the service was outstanding. They have thought of everything. If you have the opportunity you must indulge yourself and take advantage of the couples massage. It is an hour that you will never forget. And don't forget to stop by and say hi to Louis and Clark. We have already made our reservatons to come back same time next year. If you want to end your year on a high note this is the way to do it.

Edward and Susan Peterson

Room Tip: If you want the total spa experience choose the Seyval Suite. There are other suites that have the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Wow! You've said it all! Maybe we did go a little overboard when we remodeled the Inn's Seyval Suite, adding a new steam shower, Sanijet Jacuzzi tub, Infrared Sauna, indoor hot tub, and outdoor fire table, but reading comments like yours reminds us that guests really appreciate multiple upscale amenities. We also thank you for your kind words about your couple's massage. There is no single thing that we offer that garners more over the top positive guest comment than from having a couple's massage.

Lewis is finding it harder to control Clark as he grows bigger and clearly has a mind of his own. We hope to train both of them to an invisible dog fence so that the next time you stay with us they will have the run of the entire vineyard enabling them to also visit your Seyval patio.

Thanks again for your very kind words and detailed analysis of your experience staying at Hermann Hill. All of us (including Lewis and Clark) look forward to seeing you for your Same Time Next Year reservation.

Terry
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We have been to Hermannhill many times over the years & have nothing but positives about the B&B. They have spared no expense in the cottages (we've never stayed in the main house) , the food is delicious, housekeeping does an exceptional job, and is a good value (in the off season!) Unfortunately, the prices at other times are too steep (for us!) but still worth it, I'm sure! We prefer to come during the week, and in the winter anyway, to avoid crowds & have more peace and quiet. We really appreciate the heroes discount & all of the little extras (sleep mask, soup & other treats, homemade chocolates, 10th night credit, etc.) its obvious that Terry & Peggy really want to pamper their guests-- they go far above & beyond ANY B & B we've been to!! I already am looking forward to our trip next year. Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniescoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent Riverbluff Cottage stay. We also appreciate you reminding other guests about our American Hero discount program, lower rates for mid-week and off season dates, Same Time Next Year discounts, and our 10% credit payable every 10 nights with our Hermann Hill frequent stay program.

Many of our winter mid-week guests have told us how much they appreciate the complimentary hot soup available during the day. We pay very close attention to what our guests say and are always looking for new ways to provide them with another amenity that makes their stay special.

Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to your next Riverbluff Cottage stay.

Peggy
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

What can I say? The attention to detail at this Inn is impeccable! I've never felt more welcomed and catered to. We stayed in the Inn rather than the cottages and enjoyed delicious breakfasts each morning, cookies (which are really more like a small cake than a cookie, but nonetheless delicious) and ice cream delivered nightly, a gorgeous view of Herman below, a great jacuzzi, and a shower with 4(!) shower heads! The heated towel rack was a nice touch as well. It was a wonderful and relaxing place for a brief gettaway. Just be careful using Google maps to get there and be ready to drive up some hills!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and Trip Advisor post. Being OCD has it's place as innkeepers and we never stop asking guests how we can improve. Offering an early 6:30) continental to our Inn guests in addition to their normal breakfast is another example of how we try to be totally guest centric. Remodeling all of our Inn bathrooms has provided every guest room with a steam shower and many now also have Sanijet Jacuzzi tubs.

We also thank you for mentioning the challenge of using Google maps or most GPS systems once you arrive in Hermann, as there are many hills and these mapping software services make assumptions that are not true. We have online maps that give you directions to Hermann and maps that help you find our lodging properties, restaurants, points of interest, and access to the KATY Trail. Thanks again for staying at Hermann Hill.

Leslie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have never been so pampered. We spent 3 nights and it was just the right amount of time needed to see Hermann and visit several wineries. There were so many "extras" provided that helped make our stay one of the best ever!! We have already booked our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Perhaps we should use "Best Romantic Get-away" in our marketing? Thank you for your Trip Advisor post. Spending three days at Hermann Hill does indeed give couples a wonderful opportunity to relax and spend some quality time away from life's hectic pace.

This year (2013) we constructed and opened a small Couples Personal Chapel so that couples staying with us would have a quiet place in the woods to sit and think about their relationship. We keep adding the kind of amenities that our guests tell us enhance this kind of relaxed experience. This includes activity centered amenities like an outdoor pizza oven at the Inn for couples to bake their own pizza while enjoying a complimentary beverage on our deck overlooking Hermann. Our staff also understands your need for privacy and we time make ups and breakfast deliveries to fit your schedule.

Thank you for using our "Same Time Next Year" discount program to rebook for next year. We look forward to fluffing up the pillows for you.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
12.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warrenton
0.8 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
18.1 mi away
The Hiding Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Property: Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience including premium hot tub and sauna rooms and an onsite spa. The River Bluff Cottages overlooking the Missouri River include spacious living and kitchen areas, private decks with hot tubs and grills, rain forest steam showers, and two fireplaces in each. Both locations offer breakfast delivery. Massage services are available at either location, although the cottages also have the option of in-room and private deck massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing