We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B in Wine Country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Secret Vine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B in Wine Country”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband I have stayed at the Secret Vine for the past five years and have no desire to look for accommodations elsewhere in Hermann. Breakfast is served in-room and is always delicious! The Fischer family is friendly and make our stay warm and inviting each time.

Room Tip: We love the Bay Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vedwards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    10
    13
    13
See reviews for
4
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This review is not about A Secret Vine, but about a neighboring property which they manage. That property (Ride Rest and Go Bicycle Shop Schwinnn & GT Suites) is not available for review in Trip Advisor.

My sister and I had booked two nights at the Ride Rest & Go Bicycle Shop Suites which is affiliated with A Secret Vine B&B. We arrived late and when entering the property it was quickly apparent that we would not want to stay there. The front door was scuffed and dirty, the interior walls and door were very dirty and the carpet had a coat of dirt and leaves on it. The furniture was worn and some upholstery was torn. I contacted the manager at A Secret Vine who agreed to dropping the charge for the second night but said he would charge for the night we arrived. We reluctantly stayed the night. The place was dirty, there were no sheets for the hide-a-bed, the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in years. I shudder to think what all the stains and material were that was splattered over the door and walls. The bedding was questionable. The depth of the dirt on the baseboards most other surfaces was indication that the place had not been cleaned in forever. The apartment has potential if it were to be scrubbed, decent bedding and furniture added and painted. As it is, it is filthy and disgraceful that they expect anyone to pay $111 per night to stay in such conditions. I can't comment on accommodations at A Secret Vine, but if they are managing this property they are doing their reputation a disservice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have stayed at this B & B for years during Oktoberfest. The owners are always friendly and accommodating, even storing our bags when the rooms are not quite ready. Friends have stayed in other B & B's where owners complained or grudgingly allowed such courtesies. For those who are not early risers or who do not enjoy breakfast at a specific time they bring breakfast to your room with covered trays so you can eat at your leisure. The location is wonderful-everything in town is easily walkable including the train station. Check out is conveniently allowed from your room. We have tried other B & B's, but always seem to to come back to this one, the privacy, courtesy, good customer service, and fantastic location bring us back time and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 867530922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at A Secret Vine B&B in the BAY SUITE for one night . Location was perfect, walking distance to vineries, antique stores and museums. It was clean, breakfast was delivered promptly at 9:30 and it was alright. We would come back to Hermann and this B&B.

Room Tip: The Bay Suite with private bath was very reasonable priced compared with other B&B in Hermann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMO
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few years back in the spring. The room was clean, but nothing too special. The breakfast was not good at all. The quiche we had was very "watery" and the tator tots were cold. The owners were very friendly, and they have brochures and things in your room to help you navigate around Hermann. We have stayed at other B&B's that really blew this one out of the water. I will say they are VERY affordable, and if you don't really care about anything but a place to rest your head, this would be a good place to stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage for our 10th anniversary weekend. The room was fabulous, very comfortable and private. The service was a little different. When they delivered breakfast, I mentioned a bulb out in the bathroom and was asked if I wanted it taken care of. The policy of not entering the room without permission was not what I expected. We rinsed our own cups and reused towels, which was fine, just a little surprising. Loved the location!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delaney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Tuscany suite at A Secret Vine B and B in Hermann, MO. There were several highlights and a few low points. Highlights...the queen sized bed was firm, yet very comfortable. The breakfast was delivered to your door promptly @ 9:30 am. We were there 3 nights but opted out of breakfast for the morning of our departure. The french toast, sausage, pastries, fresh cantalope and strawberries were delicious. I can confirm the other reviewer to be correct in that our 2 water bottles and 2 orange juice bottles were not replenished. The courtyard is cozy and the peonies were in full bloom and were gorgeous. We were there for Mustang Shelbyfest, and since the cars park along Schiller we just had to walk out the door to enjoy it all. The water pressure in the shower is the BEST EVER!!!!!!
Low points...the love seat in the sitting area is outdated and very uncomfortable!!! Also, there is no ottoman. If you want to put your feet up you have to use a kitchen chair. There is room for a couch, or at least update to a loveseat with built-in recliners. That was our major complaint. The whirlpool tub was very nice, yet it was in the living/tv/ kitchen area. There were enough towels for our 3 nite stay, but the garbage was not emptied, not even once.The garbage can in the kitchen area was very small, so it filled up quickly. The shower floor was EXTREMELY SLICK!!! The shower was very clean, but dangerously slippery!! This is not necessarily a low point, but people should be aware that this is an old building. It has charm, but is not like a cookie cutter Holiday Inn or Marriott. One item that is not mentioned in any other review is that the Secret Vine is directly next door to the Old German School/Museum. Although it is great to visit, it has a clock/bell tower, and the bell rings Loudly every hour on the hour. Be prepared if you are a light sleeper!!!! We will not stay in the Tuscany suite again. The owners have other suites available, and since we liked the location and breakfast we will most likely stay in one of the suites that offers a full sized couch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 50 in Hermann
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 50 in Hermann
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Secret Vine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Secret Vine Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Secret Vine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 304 Schiller St, Hermann, MO 65041-1154
Region: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the wine country of Missouri, A Secret Vine B & B is located in the heart of Hermann, Missouri it offers antique shops and many winieries for all tastes. We have three suites, two with wirilpool tubs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing