We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever heard the saying "looks can be deceiving?" They had this place in mind.”
Review of Motel 70

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 70
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Hill
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It doesn't look like much from the street, in fact, it's the kind of place that you'll pull into and then make a U-turn in the parking lot to pull right back out.

That was exactly what I was planning on doing, had my wife not noticed a slight charm about the place. Normally, I still would've passed, but I had just driven 18 hours and was deadbeat, and was too lazy to look around. As it turns out, this has been the most pleasant stay of a long-term trip.

It's an older hotel, run by a husband-and-wife team. The difference is, this team cares. They are here for no other reason than to ensure your visit goes smoothly. We had a nice little room with a king size bed.

Very roomy room. Decorated nicely enough, was well-kept, and very clean and tidy. I can't say enough good things about this place, and sadly it was only a one night stay. The money they charged was MORE than reasonable for a room of this size and of quality. This is not the Hyatt by any stretch of the imagination, but for a warm, cozy and safe stay, you can hardly do better.

AGAIN, I say don't let the looks of the place fool you, had I not been tired and my wife pushy, I would've never stayed here myself.

But trust me when I tell you now that I have, this place will deceive you if you let it. They are VERY particular about who they would let stay here, and no rift raft is going to check into this room and keep you up at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Owner at Motel 70, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the detailed review. I'm so glad you and your wife gave us a chance and stopped in. I'm so glad we exceeded your expectations. We will continue to make more improvements to the exterior in the future that match the quality of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Motel 70
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 nights in the I-70 Budget Motel. We were impressed by the American family-owned atmosphere. Everyone was friendly, helpful and accommodating, and the price was certainly affordable! The room was super-clean and neat, and it was a NON-SMOKING room, which we'd requested. The A/C was powerful and was on when we arrived, the Fridge was working and cold, and the Direct TV was nice to have. The Wi-Fi was helpful for my Android phone, since cell service is spotty in that area. Water pressure in the shower was full and forceful, and the water got hot almost instantly. The room was much quieter then we expected....very little carry-over between rooms (if ANY), but you do hear all the I-70 traffic and nearby trains, but that was not a problem. We stayed with our small dog, and they have lots of grassy areas to walk her. If I could wish for any improvements, they would probably be beyond what would be possible given the motel design. There are no outlets on the bed-side wall, so the supplied clock-radio is across the room...you can't reach it to 'snooze' without getting out of bed. There are also no "dresser drawers" for clothing...just hangers and a shelf and one "stationery drawer". For overnight stays, that should not be a problem. The staff provided coffee for the in-room pots, shampoos and soaps daily. We will definitely stay there again if we return to the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don_and_Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Owner at Motel 70, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. Since your last stay we have added 4 new outlets by the beds in every room and moved the alarm clocks next to the bed. It was a pleasure having such nice folks staying with us and look forward to seeing you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This motel is a clean and comfortable place to stay. Flat screen TV with Direct TV was very nice with lots of different channels. I will definitely be staying here on my next road trip. I've paid a lot more for a room with these amenities, and it wasn't as nice as this place. Excellent value for the money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank SteveninColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Owner at Motel 70, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I wanted to personally thank you for recommending our motel to others. We pride ourselves in providing a clean room at a great price and having the extras you wouldn't expect to see. Hope to see you again on your next road trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Hill
4.9 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
181 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
60 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn New Florence
13.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn / Warrenton
12.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 70

Address: 930 Tree Farm Rd, High Hill, MO 63350-1601 (Formerly I-70 Budget Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > High Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Hill
Price Range: £40 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 70 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family Owned and Operated. All Rooms On Ground Floor. Located at the High Hill / 179 mile marker on Interstate 70. 200+ Channels of DirecTV (Including HBO, Cinemax, Starz, Encore, Showtime, The Movie Channel, Flix, ESPN/ESPN 2, Big Ten Network, Fox Sports, NFL, MLB, NHL, & NBA Networks,Sportmans Channel and many more.) - HDTV 32" Flat Screen TVs, Free Dependable WIFI Internet, Designated Pet Friendly Rooms By Request, Mini-Fridge, Complimentary Bottled Water, Tea, Coffee Maker with Folgers Coffee, Microwave, Hair Dryers, and Vending Machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing