We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”
Review of Pizza by the Chef

Pizza by the Chef
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Hollister
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We used carry out twice and both times the pizza was hot and delicious! The staff who checked us out were very friendly. Bottom line, the pizza was very good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgedale, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great pie”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is the best pizza in the area sauce is great, I lived in St. Louis for years and have had good pizza, this is the best I've had since living here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Service!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ate here on 11/2/2013

We were staying close by and found Pizza by the Chef on Tripadvisor.

We had the gourmet pizza special - 4 different small gorumet pizza with a family size salad for $31. We enjoyed all the various pizza we had - Chefs Amore - Pepperoni, Italian sausage, mozzarella, mushrooms, and black olives; Chefs Hawaiian - Canadian bacon, mozzarella, pineapple, and mandarin oranges; Chefs Fiesta Chicken - Refried bean & salsa blend topped with mozzarella, fajita chicken, black olives, tomatoes, red onions, jalapeños, cheddar, fresh cilantro, and pineapple; and the Chefs Supreme - Canadian bacon, beef, Italian sausage, pepperoni, salami, mozzarella, mushrooms, black olives, green peppers, red & white onions, tomatoes, with extra cheese.

All the pizzas were excellent - each of three of us had different favorites but all of us thought they were all good. We had pizza left over to take home.

Large selection of beers on draft and in bottles - coke products & ice tea. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Will definitely go back next time we are in Branson area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiringAt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We start off with the wrong number and when calling for directions we were never able to get through. The staff was not able to handle all the people that night. But once we found it we had a great pizza and the staff was very apologetic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdmakoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weldon Spring, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A surprising find”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were renting a cabin near Hollister and were looking for some pizza, any pizza would be fine. We stopped in to Pizza by the Chef because it was right off the highway exit. Wow, were we surprised by the quality of the pizza, calzones, and salads. It's looks like just an ordinary little pizza place. But the food is first rate, with fresh ingredients, fresh pizza dough made daily, and great recipes and combinations. The service is very friendly, personal, and welcoming. Even though we were in the area only one week, we went back for seconds a couple of days after our first visit. If you are in the area, this one is a gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza by the Chef also viewed

 

Been to Pizza by the Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing