We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience from start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hook and Ladder Pizza Co.

Hook and Ladder Pizza Co.
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Hollister
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delicious Pizza & Subs in the Branson, MO area! Firehouse themed restaurant located on historic Downing St. In Hollister, MO. Come in for lunch specials Mon-Fri or awesome pizza, subs, wings & dessert. Open 11am-9pm Mon-Sat, Sun 11am-8pm.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We walked up half an hour before closing time after sitting in Midnight cruise traffic to see the closed sign on the door, only to have the owner tell us they had just enough dough for 3 large pizzas. We said we'd take it and ordered 2 veggies, a super, mozzarella sticks, garlic breadsticks, and my dad got the spaghetti and meatballs. I loved the theme of the restaurant, as did my nephews and the 5 yr old had fun trying on the firefighters gear they have entering the dining room. The owner explained to us they have a 1976 fire engine outside, some of these guys are legit firemen. The dining room was cold (even after staff turned off fans for us) so it was good the breadsticks came hot and were soft and not too garlicky. We saw some lights outside the window and the owner asked us if the boys would like to come outside and see the truck, they were thrilled. When the pizza came soon after it was so good I had 5 slices (way more than my usual three). The dough was chewy but not too much so, the sauce was a little sweet but in a good way and there was just the right proportion of veggies on the pizza so the slice wasn't overwhelmed. We took one of the pizzas to go and I'm looking forward to eating it tomorrow. On the way out, the owner gave my nephews some m&ms, class act. It's not often I wish I could go back to a place just so I could give them business and be happy doing so because the food is such good quality. My sister said, "They were nice, really nice, like Irish people nice" (our family is from Ireland and the Irish would bend over backwards at their own inconvenience to please you).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Una M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveherd, Owner at Hook and Ladder Pizza Co., responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks! It was fun showing the kids around truck and we're really glad you guys had a good time!!
Dave Herd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    146
    40
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in because we really wanted a pizza . We ordered a large all meat and supreme pizza. The pizza was really good and the staff was very friendly.

The pizza had lots of toppings and the sauce had a really good taste to it.

I would definitely would go back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank crm502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveherd, Owner at Hook and Ladder Pizza Co., responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for coming by...our all meat is one of our favorites too! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We wanted pizza one night and didn't want a "Chain" pizza and really wanted something more local. We found this one listed with good reviews so we gave it a try. It was one of the better pizza places we've been to and we weren't disappointed (unlike some of the other places in the Branson area). Very easy to get to from our hotel thanks to Garmin! We had a large thin crust with the usual toppings and a small cheese and there wasn't any left when we were done. Pizza sauce had a really good taste and the cheese was brown around the edges the way we like. Place was busy but we walked in and got a table with no problems. I would call and make reservations before hand to be on the safe side. The fire station atmosphere was really cool and kids can have their pictures taken wearing the gear and also sitting on an old truck outside. Prices were reasonable and the quality of food was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JPA224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveherd, Owner at Hook and Ladder Pizza Co., responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you had fun...please come back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food fun atmosphere but VERY LOUD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon Hook and Ladder Pizza and it looked cool so we stoppwd. It was packed and took about 10 minutes to place our order then fight for a table. Having said that, it was well worth it! Great sercice, great food, very affordable prices. We have this one starred as a repeat on our next trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank nebrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A girl in Branson recommended this place to us, after a very long day around town, and so glad she did. Everything about this place was wonderful! The people were so friendly and the food was hot and tasty!!! Loved the Taco pizza (got a little kick to it) and the Cheeseburger pizza. Definitely one of the better pizza places we've eaten at in a long time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lrm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook and Ladder Pizza Co. also viewed

 

Been to Hook and Ladder Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing