We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Asian Food Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lai Lai's - CLOSED

Lai Lai's
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Asian Food Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

It's a tiny little buffet style Asian food restaurant next to a Kum & Go gas station convenience store near the freeway. It's atmosphere is that of a small family run business struggling to get by with little decor. It's pricing is a little below that of the typical larger style Asian food buffets, and it has fewer dishes to choose from. So normally I would give it a three. BUT, I found the food much more flavourful than the typical restaurant, especially their Hot & Sour Soup. My family was overall pleased with the value we received, so I bumped up my rating to a four.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great take out and buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was a student at College of the Ozarks and this restaurant is only a quarter mile away. It was easy just to go in and get take out anytime that I needed it. A lot of the college students work there and are good and polite about serving you. I have had both the take-out and the buffet. The buffet is a pretty normal price for a buffet while the take out is actually pretty cheap because they weigh your box for the price. If any thing you need to try their pot stickers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to eat best general chicken in the area!!! They have a smaller portion which requires them to keep it fresh. They have a nice variety and make it hot and fresh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Asian buffet...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the outside I was expecting more of a sit-down restaurant and not a buffet.. but that is OK. Buffet is pretty inexpensive and the decor inside is very basic. The food was good and they had a few things I don't normally see. If I lived in the area, I could see eating here often for lunch. Service was friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Typical Chinese-type buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although they tout themselves as "Asian Cuisine" the food appears to be your typical Chinese buffet fair. Some of the food was cool if not cold. The price was right... $6.99 per person for lunch. Don't think we would make it a point to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lai Lai's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing