We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hollister
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Place was very clean, service was good. Unfortunately, the walls and ceilings are incredibly thin, allowing you to hear every conversation, every footstep. The kids above us ran around constantly which made it hard to relax. We requested a top floor when making our reservation months in advance and did not receive one. This place is also pretty far from the hustle of Branson. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Westgate Branson Lakes Resort at Emerald Pointe.

We apologize that you encountered issues during your stay with us.

We want to assure you that we care about each of our guests and we do everything we can to accommodate them.

Unfortunately, noise filtration does sometimes occur however, if it does we will work to accommodate you possibly in a different unit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

We want to thank you for letting us know about your issue as we take all of our guests’ comments into consideration.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our second trip to this resort as an interval international exchange week. We had a beautiful, spacious, 2 bedroom unit on the third floor of building 2. This was not the lock off shotgun setup but a true two bedroom on the end. Renovations have taken place since we were there a year and a half ago. Furniture was newer and flooring appeared newer (laminate). We declined the sales tour upon arrival and were not bothered further which we appreciated. We were taken to our unit by a concierge who must have been new on the job. We directed her to our unit then when going over things, she basically read it off the papers we were given at check in. We did have a light out in the hall bath and she called and maintenance was there before we went to our car to unload. Everything was in working order and we did not need anything else the entire week. The pool was lovely and the mini golf area had just been redone also. Not real fancy but for my 3 and 5 year old grandkids it was fun, The marina service down the road was great. We brought our boat and had several great days out on the lake.
The negatives? Not many but 1) the pull out sofa has the cheapiest mattress ever, I would not expect adults to sleep on it, or anyone else above the age of 10. There was plenty of extra floor space so I would suggest bringing air mattresses if you have more than 4 people or older children 2) They charge for wifi, really? Yep, only owners can use it for free. Who does that any more?
I think many of the negative reviews come from people getting the 1 bedroom standard units. I asked how to know when booking a one bedroom exchange if you were booking the standard or the deluxe 1 bedroom. They couldn't tell me and interval does not indicate which. The standard is smaller, and has no view, just the sidewalk or parking lot. The deluxe has a screened balcony overlooking the lake. I guess if we go back in the future, I will have to look for a 2 bedroom whether we need it or not just to guaranty the balcony with a view.

Room Tip: If booking a 1 bedroom be sure you get a deluxe 1 bedroom or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Westgate Branson Lakes Resort at Emerald Pointe.

We are pleased to hear that the negative points in your review were minimal and that any issues you did encounter were address right away.

Westgate is continuously working to renovate and update our resorts in order to provide only the best accommodations for our valued owners and guest.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback as this will help us in our mission to provide the customer service and quality accommodations you deserve.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First, the front desk staff was great. Megan B and Terri were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more from a first impression. The staff overall seemed great - one time we called for extra blankets and towels at 10p, they were delivered in just a couple of minutes. The accommodations however were a little lacking. The rooms all seem old and a little outdated. The sofa sleeper in the living room was in dire need of a mattress replacement. On the other hand, we were on the "B" side, so we had a fantastic lake view. My biggest complaints would be with the marina (worst design EVER) and the extremely limited lake access (other than the marina/boat ramp). The marina was a nightmare, not the staff mind you, they were fine, but the design is terrible. The parking is minimal, very little room for trailers and/or cars to park. Perhaps the most humorous (sad) part was the gas pump. To get gas in any watercraft already in the water, they have to bring down the huge forklift to take it out of the water, cart it up the hill to the one gas pump, then cart it back down the ramp and put it back in the water. In doing this, they almost block off access to anyone wanting to drive down to the marina. Not to mention it's VERY time consuming. The entire place is a cluster in the mornings and evenings when everyone is wanting in/out of the water at the same time. As for the waterfront, the only place we could go down and actually access the water was by a narrow, overgrown trail down a flight of rickety wooden steps, then winding through the trees to the lake - all of which was about 15' of a rocky "beach"... We hauled down a couple of coolers and chairs each day so we'd have the one place you could actually "play" at the water. Disappointing considering we had ~30 people in our group that were looking forward to waterfront fun and playing in the lake.
All of that said, the resort does offer some fun. The pool, hot tub and pavillion were great. We cooked dinner on the grills at the pavillion two of the three nights there. The kids enjoyed the miniature golf course. We played shuffleboard as well. All in all, it was a great trip, but we will likely stay elsewhere next time because of their extremely limited lake access.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors will help you avoid the air conditioner noise - and the "B" sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PC4HSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the moment to evaluate the Westgate Branson Lakes Resort at Emerald Pointe.

Nothing pleases us more than to hear when members of our staff were able to make your stay with us a pleasurable one.

Our goal at Westgate is to provide you, our guest, with a professional and courteous staff as well as quality accommodations and amenities.

Reading that you had such difficulty accessing the lake and marina saddens us, as it is one of the key highlights of the resorts location. Based on your review we see that these issues need to be brought to the immediate attention of the resort management staff and we will be doing just that.

We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on what we hope will be your next visit.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I got married last year and choose Westgate Emerald Point for my honeymoon. Upon arrive I was pleased with what i saw. The workers were nice and helpful. I heard about the paper thin walls but had no problem with my stay. My boat was stored behind a locked gate not fort knox but it was ok for me. The resort was clean and comfortable I enjoyed it so much were going back this year with family. If there is anything different I will post, but if its just as good I will post also.

CT

Room Tip: 2 people 1 bedroom deluxe lake view villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your first ever, Westgate experience.

We are always pleased to hear when our beautiful facilities and our courteous staff were able to provide you with an excellent vacation. It goes without saying the amount of gratitude we feel when reading that you plan to return to our resort as the result of a great stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We bought here when it was being developed by Roark before there was even a building completed. One of the primary reasons for this was for the exclusivity. Now the units are rented out like the local No-tell Motel. VERY disappointed in the upkeep. The unit we stayed in was in disrepair. It used to be a very nice and exclusive place to get away. Westgate is absolutely not an improvement. Every other owner that I spoke with, bar none, is very displeased.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 674gaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review on the Westgate Branson Lakes Resort at Emerald Pointe.

Please accept our apologies if for any reason the condition of the resort did not meet the normal Westgate standards.

Notification has will be sent to the resort management team to further review your comments and concerns.

We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have owned at this property for many years when it was a Grand Vista property, it has been purchased by Westgate and has not improved. If anything the sales people are flat out lairs and promise you all sorts of things just to make a sale. We upgraded to be Westgate owner from a Grand Vista last January because the salesman (Ben G) told use that we would get better service and accommodations and he would personally help us with doing this. Two weeks after getting back we tried to contact him and he wouldn't even return our phone calls. Booked a vacation using two of our weeks for a double unit bringing children and grandchildren with the request of a 3rd or 4th floor and units side by side. Well we got units side by side in building 2 in the basement. This is ground level on the lake side but sub terrain on the front with limited lake view. When we confronted the lady at the desk they said there was nothing they could do about it and check back the next day with the manager about other accommodations. There solutions was to split us up into separate buildings. There is no reason why an owner should not be able to request accommodations in advance. These two units sit where the porches have all the air conditioners going on day and night with one that was defective cycling noisily hour after hour. If that wasn't bad enough they have commercial water softners in lower level which kick on at 4:30 am to recycle and sound like a jet plane taking off in the master bedrooms. When we complained about the noise to a maintenance person he gave me a card for "Tripadvisor" and said let them know what you think, as he could do anything about it. Obviously, there was one frustrated honest person on staff. I would not recommend this as a destination to my worst enemy as mush as a friend and do not believe ANY thing they tell you!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Building 1 & 2 only have water softners and if you want to sleep at 4:30 am do not be on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize for any issues you may have encountered with your stay. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The front desk does try to fulfill all requests at the time of check in when the units are assigned. The challenges you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team, as they share a common interest to ensure that these issues are corrected. If you would like, please contact our Corporate Office at 800-218-3623 to speak with our Rapid Response Team to discuss your Vacation experience. We hope you will stay with us again.

Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were very disappointed in the one-bedroom unit that we were given in exchange for some Interval International points. While the building is on the lake, the standard units have no view at all - it may as well have been a jail cell since you had to keep the blinds closed in order to not be a live show for passers-by.The "deluxe" units (which are not offered as an exchange) seemed quite nice with more square footage, much larger beds, TV's, bathrooms and a large, screened-in porch facing the lake. Never have we stayed at a property where the walls are so thin that you can hear everything from conversations to cards being dealt to water running in the kitchen sink. The property is sorely in need of a makeover. We requested an upgrade (an extra $30 a night), and were told it was possible, but never heard a word from anyone after check-in. Seriously, if you can't get a unit facing the lake don't bother.

Room Tip: Insist on lakeview (deluxe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Cranberry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize that you encountered issues during your stay. Westgate does participate in the Interval International exchange program. We are sorry to hear that the unit that was booked with Interval is not what you requested when you exchange with them. This may have been the only available unit that the exchange provider had available in their inventory. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
6.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
5.3 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
7.1 mi away
Hilton Branson Convention Center
3.7 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Branson Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Branson Lakes Resort

Address: 750 Emerald Pointe Drive, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-4839
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hollister
Price Range: £79 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Branson Lakes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the shores of sparkling Table Rock Lake, Westgate Branson Lakes Resort is a Branson, MO hotel that features dazzling lake views and a wide variety of watersports for the whole family such as boating, fishing, waterskiing, parasailing or just relaxing in the warm waters on a sunny day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Branson Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Emerald Pointe Hotel Hollister
Westgate Emerald Pointe Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing