We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hollister B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Searcy, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and quiet”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is wonderful! Charming, inviting, and cozy, the English Inn is a nice change of pace from the hustle and bustle of Branson. The rooms are small, but comfortable and perfect for a cozy couple's retreat. The food is EXCELLENT and the pub is everything you would expect with some of the best bartenders around. Way more than you would expect from a little town in the heart of farm country! The front desk staff was attentive and polite and suggested many local attractions and hotspots you won't find in a travel guide. If you're looking for a quiet getaway that's still within walking distance to the best Branson has to offer, look no further than Ye Olde English Inn in Historic downtown Hollister.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    16
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My office went for our Christmas party with our spouses. We always try somewhere new. This one is a keeper. The staff was awesome. Super friendly. Very charming felt so comfortable like home.The rooms are small but the bed was comfy and the room was clean. They have setting areas which we all really like. Nice fieplace in the lobby and dining room. Our dinner was made there and was great. We also enjoyed the pub with the live band. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smile002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed there for the first time a few weeks ago and was surprised to find it. I've attending meetings in Hollister and Branson for years but never knew this little jewel existed. The service is great, the rooms are small but quaint. It has a nice relaxing feel and the pub is nice too.

They may have an elevator, but I didn't see one. So if you cannot climb stairs you might want to call and check.

Room Tip: If you are thinking about getting the suite to accommodate more people, don't. It will accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We visited friends in Hollister, MO and stayed for two days at the Inn. Our friends highly recommended the Inn. They were right; it was a memorable experience for us. The style, the furniture all of the appointments were fascinating and rich. The personnel were very friendly and professional. We will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

During our three-day trip in Branson, we agreed that this Inn was our favorite part of our whole trip! The Inn is over a hundred years old and has been completely renovated while maintaining its beautiful Tudor charm. It is in a nice, quiet area away from the traffic and craziness, but also quite handy to Branson Landing as well as downtown. We loved the Black Horse Pub downstairs, where a very talented man with a group called the Medicine Man Show played great music. We also really enjoyed our delicious and inexpensive breakfast at the Inn's restaurant, which also serves lunch. All of the staff were wonderful and helpful. Our historic room, like most historic rooms, was small, but very comfortable and pretty, and they've made excellent use of the space. Everything was also very clean; I actually took a bath in a hotel tub for the first time ever because it was so clean! There is also a comfy area on the second floor landing for playing games or reading. My only tip would be that if you will have children along, you'd need to get one of the larger rooms. Our room was the standard size and was perfect for two, but there would be no way to fit children in. We have already decided this will be "our place" in Branson from now on!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPage County, IL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I needed a place to stay for one night before catching a plane back to Chicago and was a little turned off by most of the places I saw in Branson. Just not my cup of tea. I came across the Olde English Inn on TripAdvisor and was immediately swept away by the wonderful history of the building. Every inch has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated. The author, Janet Dailey, is a native of Hollister and is one of the co-owners of the hotel. I was told that she personally oversaw each detail of the redecorating. Be sure to notice Thunder's antlers mounted over the fireplace...and the beauty is that Thunder is alive and well! The room I had was perfect for one person...exactly the size it would have been around the turn of the century. The bed was so comfy, I could have easily missed my flight! The little touches, the soaps and lotions, are custom made. Each room has a wonderful spa robe to use. I just loved the whole place. There isn't an elevator, just a gorgeous grand staircase, but that could make it difficult for someone with mobility problems. I had heard from the desk clerks about the wonderful masquerade wedding as another reviewer mentioned. I think they were as excited about it as the wedding party! The only thing I would like to see the hotel do is to add a couple of taxi cab company numbers to their in-room phone listing or offer to call a cab for me. It was imperative that I be able to get to the airport the next morning and they were not able to supply me with any numbers. The bartender in the pub did and I got good service from ABC Cab the next morning. That was the ONLY issue I had with my stay. I'm really looking forward to going back and having more time to delve into the history of the area. I thought the Inn was just great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momski54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I just had a destination, masquerade ball wedding for my step-son at this hotel. We booked all of the 21 rooms for 2 days, and had everything from the rehearsal dinner to the reception on the property. When I first started planning it was a little scary because it was difficult to communicate with the property manager at that time. Fortunately, she brought in an excellent event planning company (Branson Party Rentals) before she left. Her replacement was well organized, but one of the first times we visited her, the kitchen staff had walked out and she was in the kitchen. Turns out, all of this was a good thing because now, the hotel is well run, the food in the restaurant is excellent, and the pub and courtyard are loads of fun. The rooms are small but in great shape for the age. The chef is way better than you would expect to find in Hollister, Missouri and the staff could not be more accomodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landing View Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 140 in Branson
828 reviews
6.0 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Branson Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old English Inn

Property: The Old English Inn
Address: 24 Downing St, Hollister, Branson, MO 65672-5568 (Formerly Ye Olde English Inn)
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson > Hollister
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollister
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the nostalgic charm of one of the area's most recognized landmarks, The Old English Inn on historic Downing Street in Hollister, Missouri. First opened in 1912, the Inn underwent a full renovation in 2010. Enjoy a luxurious stay in one of 21 beautifully-restored guest suites complete with Elizabethan-style architectural detailing, magnificent wooden beds, fine linens and modern conveniences such as 32" LCD TVs, high-speed internet connection and free local calls. The newly renovated Downing Street Bistro, located on the lower-level, features fine dining for dinner and offers breakfast and a Sunday brunch. Next door, the intimate Black Horse Pub offers a full-selection of spirits along with occasional live performances by local musicians. Located just 3 minutes from the Branson Landing, the Ye Olde English Inn is a must-see piece of Ozarks' History. Bring your camera for a photo of the handcrafted staircase, beautifully landscaped courtyard and the carefully preserved mark on the stone walls of the lobby left by the overflowing White River in 1945. Nearby, see the Hollister Train Depot where many of the Inn's first overnight guests arrived eager to meet the friendly people and explore the breathtaking scenery in Harold Bell Wright's 1907 novel, The Shepherd of the Hills. Many of these 1900-era visitors star in The Inn's extensive photo collection. Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a place to reminisce with friends, military buddies or your extended family, The Old English Inn is the perfect place for any type group event, including weddings and anniversary celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde English Hotel Hollister

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing