We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy hotel!”
Review of Le Cadran Solaire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graveson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Cadran Solaire
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cosy hotel!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel on recommendations from friends. The owners truly are people that enjoy what they do. Very helpful with facts, stories, trip suggestions or just a good conversation. The location is great as a hub to explore the region, from the coast to the mountains. Recommend it highly!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    26
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed in the delightful Cadran Solaire for 3 holidays in the past few years. Jean Claude and Elisa couldn't be more kind or accomodating. The house is stunningly beautiful, an old silk mill originally. The rooms we have stayed in (4 different ones) are all beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and tastefully furnished with antiques.
Breakfast is lovely.... fresh bread and croissants, homemade jams, yoghurts, seasonal fresh fruit from the market, good coffee and orange juice. Jean Claude and Elisa serve the breakfast themselves, on the delightful terrace under the wisteria, and spend a considerable amount of time making sure everyone is happy and providing advice, leaflets etc for things to see and do in the area.
Graveson itself is a quiet village with at least two good restaurants. The pizzeria has an extensive menu (not just pizzas) and is cheap and cheerful. Popular with the locals. Cours 15 is a tasty alternative but pricier and not open every day. Both a short walk from the hotel. St Remy, a 10 min drive away, is full of good restaurants.
Graveson is an excellent base for exploring this whole area, whether it's the pomp of Avignon, the flamingos in the Camargue, stunning Les Baux with its Cathedral d'Images in the old bauxite quarry, the ochre mines at Roussillon or the opera in the amazing Roman theatre in Orange. Not to mention the lavender fields and pretty villages near Mont Ventoux. We even tried a sailplane flight over the pretty Alpilles with the gliding club in St Remy. No danger of boredom.
Writing this makes me want to book again for this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonandPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

stayed there for 3 nights it was quite a very expensive nightmare...the rooms are small eventhoug well paid and the bath old and untidy, no fridge and tv inside the room and linen and towels changed. You are not allowed to stay outside in the garden after 10 pm to chat eventhough low voiced. The breakfast very poor just a croissant some fresh orange a some fruits and coffe even . the courtesy of the landlord was high in a way but probably they are used to have any people around or they don't succed to make feel you welcome at all.
the city was completelly desert so no way to have dinner or lunch around there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salvatore l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldou, Owner at Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Le Cadran Solaire, we always do our best to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and their fidelity proves it.
We would like to explain a few things to explain this review :
1) You were 12 people and arrived at 11:30 pm (without notifying us of this late arrival) and without warning us that you were accompanied by two small children that you decided to let them sleep in your own bed.
2) On the evening you gathered in one room with one child screaming continuously until after midnight ; we have been asked by other customers to stop this noise and tried kindly to make you understand the situation ; you told us violently that you had paid and you were not in a monastery ; but when you choose a small charming hotel, it means that you accept to respect the place and the other persons.
3) You had a nice deluxe and spacious room of 30m2 ; bed linen and towels are changed every 2 or 3 days or even daily if necessary or requested ; our hotel has always been appreciated for being clean and well-kept .
4) There are many restaurants in the village and its surroundings, one being open daily at walking distance from the hotel.
5) Breakfast consists of many fresh and homemade products (jams, fruit salads, cakes, good breads and croissant, yogurt, cereal, fruit basket etc. ..) for a price of 9 euros.
6) You speek of “bad manners” but we always remained courteous with you and how you can call the fact that you pour your coffee pot on our beautiful room curtains and put your banana skins and cigarette butts in our flower pots !
Some of your friends wrote us after their return asking to "forgive your impoliteness during the stay" ; other Italian clients near your room who have been affected by your behaviour have also admitted when they left that they felt “ashamed to be Italian ".
It is fortunate that most of our customers appreciate the spirit of Le Cadran Solaire as also a part of your group who kindly thanked us and said they would not fail to recommend our hotel.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding and assure you of our pursuit of the well-being of all our clients.
We take the opportunity of this response to thank all our nice customers who prove us every day that they love our hotel.
Elisa and Jean-Claude Rastoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Lovely hotel, great location from which to enjoy the delights of the surrounding area. Perfect base - very central - for investigating Maussanes les Alpilles, Les Baux de Provence, Gordes, Roussillon, L'Isle sur la Sorgue ... it goes on. Lovely room, great to come back to the hotel after a day's advenures and the owners afford a great welcome. Drinks or breakfast in the salon or outside - cannot praise it enough. We anticipate a return very soon! And the lovely garden has given us inspiration for ours too. A pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

At first we were concerned with the location of Le Cadran, being a smaller provincial town (and speaking barely any French), but it turned out to be a wonderful decision! The location was perfect for making day trips and the inn was incredibly enchanting, with the enthusiastic inn-keepers, Jean Claude and Elisa, the beautiful French country rooms, and the lovely garden which is perfect for enjoying a glass of wine. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the inn-keepers a wealth of knowledge, and the town full of friendly faces helping us as we struggled to speak the native language. I highly recommend Le Cadran Solaire and if we ever go back to Provence, this is where we'll stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpreugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Every second of my stay at the Cadran Solaire I felt truly warm hospitality instead of other impersonal hotels. Clean, nice and comfortable rooms, silent and lovely garden and perfect restaurant. Owners really care how you feel during the stay and I am really thankful for this! Love Provence!

Room Tip: You can choose every room you want and all of them will be as excellent as you expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisKonons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

There aren't many places where you can feel at home when you are thousands kilometers away. Jean-Claude and Elise just made this happen for our friends and us. The hospitality was excellent, and Jean-Claude was doing everything he can to make our stay fun and successful. The B&B is located very well, close major tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and spacious. I will definitively recommend anyone staying here.

David Ohayon,
Israel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOhayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graveson
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Amandiers
Le Mas des Amandiers
#1 of 3 in Graveson
108 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
#2 of 3 in Graveson
83 reviews
3.5 mi away
Logis Castel Mouisson
Logis Castel Mouisson
#1 of 1 in Barbentane
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Clos des Cypres
Le Clos des Cypres
#1 of 5 in Graveson
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Mas Ferrand
Le Mas Ferrand
#5 of 5 in Graveson
32 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontbelle
Domaine de Fontbelle
#2 of 5 in Graveson
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cadran Solaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cadran Solaire

Property: Le Cadran Solaire
Address: 5 rue du Cabaret Neuf, 13690 Graveson, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Graveson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Cadran Solaire Graveson, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing