We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in Provence”
Review of Le Cadran Solaire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graveson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Cadran Solaire
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were a group of 8, spending 6 days in Provence. Our travel agent booked this small hotel and it definitely set the bar for the rest of our stay in France. What delightful hosts Elisa and Jean Claude are!!! They seem to love meeting guests and trying to make their stay perfect. The peace and quiet of this little inn were just perfect. We also had the luxury of having the first floor wing to ourselves. We could not have felt safer and better taken care of. Our room was spacious and very nicely appointed. The breakfasts were wonderful with so much fresh fruit and wonderful breads. We could not have asked for better and will gladly recommend this small inn to anyone who has the pleasure of traveling to Provence. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Le Cadran Solaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

For charm, comfort, cleanliness and good value, Le Cadran Solaire is hard to beat. I wish it were easy to find its match in other parts of France . I and 3 friends spent a week there in mid September - to visit Provence and do a little sketching in the nearby countryside. We were all surprised and delighted by the lovely old stone house, the décor, the shady garden, the helpfulness of our hosts - restaurant suggestions, bookings, recommendations for day trips.
Impeccable. I will be back.

Room Tip: I loved my room on the first floor - with a large window onto the garden
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are an American family visiting Provence for the first time. From the moment the wrought iron gates swing open and you drive through the lovely garden and walk into the beautifully decorated French country interior, you know this will be a nice stay. The building is centuries-old--it was part of a castle that no longer exists, then became a coaching inn and a silk mill. We had the family room that had two bedrooms connected by a small private hallway with a nice, ample bathroom in between. It was comfortable and had air-conditioning, which was very much needed in August in Provence. Breakfast is in the garden or in the dining room when it rains (which it did one night, complete with thunder, which was exciting for our girls). I appreciate the attention to decor and style in the rooms and gardens.

Jean Claude and Elisa are warm, wonderful hosts, who enjoy their work and enjoy people. They are eager to help with sightseeing advice and their friendliness is a part of the charm of the place. We are glad that our first stay in France was with them and that our first interaction with French people were with them.

This is a place that you use as a base to sleep in and drive out from to tour Provence. But Graveson is central--it's in between Avignon (about 15 minutes away) and Arles (about 20 minutes away). It took us only half an hour to drive to the westmost Luberon villages. There was a grocery in Graveson where we got supplies. But for dinner, we drove to nearby St. Rhemy (parking there is challenging, though) or had dinner at whatever Provencal town or village we were touring at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anneofavonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel on recommendations from friends. The owners truly are people that enjoy what they do. Very helpful with facts, stories, trip suggestions or just a good conversation. The location is great as a hub to explore the region, from the coast to the mountains. Recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed in the delightful Cadran Solaire for 3 holidays in the past few years. Jean Claude and Elisa couldn't be more kind or accomodating. The house is stunningly beautiful, an old silk mill originally. The rooms we have stayed in (4 different ones) are all beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and tastefully furnished with antiques.
Breakfast is lovely.... fresh bread and croissants, homemade jams, yoghurts, seasonal fresh fruit from the market, good coffee and orange juice. Jean Claude and Elisa serve the breakfast themselves, on the delightful terrace under the wisteria, and spend a considerable amount of time making sure everyone is happy and providing advice, leaflets etc for things to see and do in the area.
Graveson itself is a quiet village with at least two good restaurants. The pizzeria has an extensive menu (not just pizzas) and is cheap and cheerful. Popular with the locals. Cours 15 is a tasty alternative but pricier and not open every day. Both a short walk from the hotel. St Remy, a 10 min drive away, is full of good restaurants.
Graveson is an excellent base for exploring this whole area, whether it's the pomp of Avignon, the flamingos in the Camargue, stunning Les Baux with its Cathedral d'Images in the old bauxite quarry, the ochre mines at Roussillon or the opera in the amazing Roman theatre in Orange. Not to mention the lavender fields and pretty villages near Mont Ventoux. We even tried a sailplane flight over the pretty Alpilles with the gliding club in St Remy. No danger of boredom.
Writing this makes me want to book again for this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimonandPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

stayed there for 3 nights it was quite a very expensive nightmare...the rooms are small eventhoug well paid and the bath old and untidy, no fridge and tv inside the room and linen and towels changed. You are not allowed to stay outside in the garden after 10 pm to chat eventhough low voiced. The breakfast very poor just a croissant some fresh orange a some fruits and coffe even . the courtesy of the landlord was high in a way but probably they are used to have any people around or they don't succed to make feel you welcome at all.
the city was completelly desert so no way to have dinner or lunch around there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salvatore l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldou, Owner at Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Le Cadran Solaire, we always do our best to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and their fidelity proves it.
We would like to explain a few things to explain this review :
1) You were 12 people and arrived at 11:30 pm (without notifying us of this late arrival) and without warning us that you were accompanied by two small children that you decided to let them sleep in your own bed.
2) On the evening you gathered in one room with one child screaming continuously until after midnight ; we have been asked by other customers to stop this noise and tried kindly to make you understand the situation ; you told us violently that you had paid and you were not in a monastery ; but when you choose a small charming hotel, it means that you accept to respect the place and the other persons.
3) You had a nice deluxe and spacious room of 30m2 ; bed linen and towels are changed every 2 or 3 days or even daily if necessary or requested ; our hotel has always been appreciated for being clean and well-kept .
4) There are many restaurants in the village and its surroundings, one being open daily at walking distance from the hotel.
5) Breakfast consists of many fresh and homemade products (jams, fruit salads, cakes, good breads and croissant, yogurt, cereal, fruit basket etc. ..) for a price of 9 euros.
6) You speek of “bad manners” but we always remained courteous with you and how you can call the fact that you pour your coffee pot on our beautiful room curtains and put your banana skins and cigarette butts in our flower pots !
Some of your friends wrote us after their return asking to "forgive your impoliteness during the stay" ; other Italian clients near your room who have been affected by your behaviour have also admitted when they left that they felt “ashamed to be Italian ".
It is fortunate that most of our customers appreciate the spirit of Le Cadran Solaire as also a part of your group who kindly thanked us and said they would not fail to recommend our hotel.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding and assure you of our pursuit of the well-being of all our clients.
We take the opportunity of this response to thank all our nice customers who prove us every day that they love our hotel.
Elisa and Jean-Claude Rastoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Lovely hotel, great location from which to enjoy the delights of the surrounding area. Perfect base - very central - for investigating Maussanes les Alpilles, Les Baux de Provence, Gordes, Roussillon, L'Isle sur la Sorgue ... it goes on. Lovely room, great to come back to the hotel after a day's advenures and the owners afford a great welcome. Drinks or breakfast in the salon or outside - cannot praise it enough. We anticipate a return very soon! And the lovely garden has given us inspiration for ours too. A pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graveson
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
Hotel du Moulin d'Aure
#2 of 3 in Graveson
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Amandiers
Le Mas des Amandiers
#1 of 3 in Graveson
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Clos des Cypres
Le Clos des Cypres
#1 of 5 in Graveson
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Mas Ferrand
Le Mas Ferrand
#5 of 5 in Graveson
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Mas Vieux
Le Mas Vieux
#3 of 5 in Graveson
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cadran Solaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cadran Solaire

Address: 5 rue du Cabaret Neuf, 13690 Graveson, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Graveson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graveson
Price Range: £51 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Cadran Solaire Graveson, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing