We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you can get a good price”
Review of Villa Morelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Morelia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jausiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel location is excellent to visit the nearby touristic spots. The rooms in the newly built hotel dependency are large, quiet and comfortable; the only drawback is the outside walk to get to breakfast.

Breakfast choice is good with local products (cheese, bread, jams) and having it on the terrace is pleasant with nice views on the mountains.

The dinner menu is however set with no card (i.o.w. no choice and if your appetite is not at the level of the 3 dishes, you pay to throw them away) and definitely not worth the price; wines are extremely expensive.

Service was average with trainees trying to do their best. Reception time window rather short for a 4*.

If you can get a rate for around 100EUR/night, then it's worth it, giving the hotel selection in the area but if you have to spend 150/200eur then think twice or manage your expectations.

Parking is easy inside the property.

In any case, don't miss to pay a visit to the close-by butcher to taste his pancetta and dry ham!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the hotel rather than in the dependency to fully enjoy this old building spirit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Small and dirty bedroom, no room service and no reception after 19h! Ghost hotel with no staff. Dinner was positive with good and tasty food, but nothing special! Expensive wine card for a poor selection... Total of 250€ for one night alone with dinner and breakfast. Not a good value at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirilampu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Look out for Groupon offers, at that price it was all worth the money, room, breakfast & evening meal. Lovely relaxing situation for a weekend break. Pool could have done with a clean.Generally service & staff polite & good service.Only criticism for us was the hard mattress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Let’s start with the positive. If you like faux African decor, complete with a photograph of an African Tiger, then our room was excellent – if expensive. The fun came with the equally expensive dinner.
First, the dining room was cold and had the atmosphere of an autopsy theatre. Our table had breadcrumbs on it so we politely asked that they should be removed. The Maitresse did so – but with a look which would have frozen the sun!
The first course was dreadful – tiny portions of fish badly presented. My wife left hers altogether because the fish was cooked on the top and raw underneath. I courteously pointed this out and was greeted with another dose of liquid nitrogen.
Meanwhile, the very young waitress struggled opening our bottle of wine and then poured the lumps of cork into our glasses – but she did so with a lovely smile.
The second course was served on cold plates whilst the highlight of the evening was dessert which was straight from a second rate pub menu. And as a final encore, chocolate whirls were dumped on my wife’s lap – but again with a charming smile.
The following morning, we mentioned our travails to Robert, the owner, and he shrugged his shoulder and said: “That’s life. It’s normal.”
No apology; no courtesy – just pay up and get out.
I should add that we are both ardent francophiles and speak better than holiday French so we really did want to enjoy our time here – but Robert and his staff defeated us.
This is truly one to avoid.

Room Tip: Don't bother. If there is no other option, sleep but don't eat - you would be better going h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gooddayahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We'd stayed at this hotel a few times before and were looking forward to revisiting this lovely area and enjoying the hotel, particularly the restaurant and the amazing gourmet dinner.
Sadly, things have changed here. There has been a largish extension built on since our last visit and the personal service we had previously enjoyed was no longer in evidence.
We were not given the room we had booked and had to ask to be moved. The second room was nice but the whole hotel (apart from the new building) is looking a bit tired and in need of some refurbishment.
Sadly, the speciality dinner, with wine matched to each course, is no longer on offer. There was a set menu, no choice, at a basic cost of 54 euros. Add a pre-dinner drink, wine and coffee on to this and you're looking at around 85 euros per person. We did not feel we got value for money this time, although the service in the restaurant was still very good. The nightly rate at the hotel is high, we really didn't feel it was worth it any more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flissie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked a couple of days at the Villa Morelia with the room and dinner package. The room in the new section was nice, clean and comfortable with a nice view, the only negative remark would be regarding the bath which while trendy, isn't very ergonomic.

Jausiers is a small village in the middle of the mountains between France and Italy, so we were a bit forgiving of the dinner which was good but much more expensive than something similar in a larger town, the service obviously novice but well intentioned, we weren't seated in the dining room but in a reception tent just off of it with a space heater which didn't add to the experience. Cheese at the end of the meal was 9€ per person which seemed exagerated. On the other hand, the breakfast was buffet-style and had something for everybody.

This spot is good for anyone needing to get away from it all, nature-minded, low-key but wanting a little bit of luxury. The owners seemed nice and the Villa seems to be a labor of love for them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brantome24310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Not a good experience. We had a room in the new block. Very designerly but not particularly well appointed or comfortable and a bit cramped (and this was one of the largest rooms in the building!). Dinner was a disaster. The menu was pricey, but lacking in imagination. Presentation of each dish was amateurish. Service was shambolic. (One serveuse hardly had a word of French!) It took half an hour to get a wine list, and only then after ambushing a passing waitress and, oh la la, what a rip-off. Mediocre selection at astronomical prices! Breakfast was buffet style but travel lodge do it better. This establishment is in woeful need of a makeover by a hotelerie professional. Until then - avoid.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonynKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jausiers
4.5 mi away
Hotel Azteca
Hotel Azteca
#1 of 5 in Barcelonnette
206 reviews
16.6 mi away
Le Chastellares Hotel
18.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Martagon
Hotel Restaurant Le Martagon
#1 of 1 in Villars-Colmars
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Grande Eperviere
Hotel La Grande Eperviere
#4 of 5 in Barcelonnette
68 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marmotel
Marmotel
#1 of 9 in Pra Loup
765 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Barcelonnette
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morelia

Address: Le Chateau | Vallée de l'Ubaye, 04850 Jausiers, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Jausiers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jausiers
Price Range: £81 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morelia 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing