We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alain Ducasse Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Bastide de Moustiers
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Alain Ducasse Magic”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We returned again to La Bastide having stayed there last year. We were allocated a room in the main house which was quite small and decorated in a quant old fashioned way. Breakfast is beautifully served on the rear patio. It is a little slow with only one table being served at a time but I think this is to encourage the slow pace of life. The pool area is well presented and there is a lovely garden area next to it where you can take lunch. The restaurant has a terrace at the front and to be honest this is one of the treats to eating in the restaurant. Of course the food is excellent but the fun of eating outside and enjoying the view add to your experience. Unfortunately 2 out of the 3 nights we ate in the restaurant we had to dine indoors as there had been rain. I think the restaurant were a little over cautious about this and should try where possible to serve al fresco. The staff are polite and efficient but I would have to say lacking in warmth. A little more relaxation would go a long way to make the guests feel more at ease. That aside we had a wonderful stay again. Beautiful gardens in a lovely location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in one of the cottages - we had one last year and are really charming compare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour à l'Hôtel et votre expérience au Restaurant vous aient plu.
Merci de votre soutien et de votre encouragement à l'équipe.

Nous espérons avoir la chance de vous accueillir à nouveau. Dans cette attente, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    89
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
63
306
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

It is almost a 3 hour drive from Nice but what a drive. Grasse, castellane and then the gorge at verdon.
This place tries so hard to not try hard. Exquisite surroundings. Simple food elegantly prepared and presented. Young staff who seem thrilled to be doing their job.
If you know a better way of spending a glorious sunny Sunday please let me know.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Quel bonheur de lire votre commentaire si positif.
Toute l'équipe et moi-même mettons tout en œuvre, chaque jour, pour tenter de satisfaire nos clients. Nous sommes donc ravis que vous ayez passé un dimanche hors du commun à la Bastide de Moustiers.

Dans l'attente de vous recevoir à nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de mon sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

This beautiful country house has fantastic amenities, beautiful garden, pool and restaurant. Room were lovely with huge comfortable beds. The only downside was that wifi and the staff were on occasion slow, all of which only reflects the relaxed atmosphere of the place :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunWorshipingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous tenons à vous remercier d'avoir posté votre avis sur la Bastide de Moustiers.

Nous sommes navrés d'apprendre que notre équipe n'a pas été totalement à la hauteur de vos attentes. Nous n'avons de cesse, chaque jour, que de vouloir satisfaire nos clients dans les moindres détails et dans les plus brefs délais.

Nous sommes néanmoins rassurés de constater que votre séjour vous a ravi et espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau à la Bastide de Moustiers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely hotel although rooms were small and over priced. The meal on the first night was not the standard expected of such a hotel. Did wonder if it was the principal Chefs night off as the next day the meal was excellent.

Service was excellent in fact too many staff. We were greeted on our arrival as we came through the Gates and our luggage was immediately attended to.

Would like to have had Museli for breakfast and fresh fruit, lots of pastries but not good for the waistline.

The position for seeing the Verdon Gorge was ideal and it was a steep climb to the Moustiers which is a beautiful old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinglepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes enchantés que votre séjour vous ait plu.
Nous mettons tout en œuvre, chaque jour, pour que votre expérience soit inoubliable.

Nous espérons avoir la chance de vous accueillir à nouveau à la Bastide de Moustiers, et vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it met all our expectations. The grounds of the hotel itself are beautiful, and their attention to detail comes across everywhere.
Our hotel room was small but luxurious and comfortable, unfortunately it rained that evening so we couldn't eat out on the terrace, but we were given our own little dining room, 'la salle des amoureux', and enjoyed having dinner just the two of us for the special occasion.
We were also given one of Alain Ducasse's recipe books as an anniversary gift, which was a lovely touch.
We had the 'expensive' menu at 76 euros a head and some wonderful local wines, really good value for money. The food was simple but perfectly executed, one of the dishes was simply ratatouille, but by far the best ratatouille I have ever eaten. I definitely also recommend having breakfast here, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads and homemade jams sat out in the courtyard under the trees is a great start to the day!
To top it all off, the service was impeccable, friendly and attentive without being overbearing and stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour à la Bastide de Moustiers vous ait plu et que votre expérience au restaurant vous laisse un souvenir agréable.

Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau à la Bastide de Moustiers et vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

For my husband and me, La Bastide de Moustiers is a place of unparalleled beauty, surrounded by uninterrupted views of mountains, and holding heady memories. For, on a sunny series of days in September last year, we were lucky enough to host our small but (to us) exquisite wedding.

40 friends from around the world were treated to a weekend of gorgeous food, local wines, laughter, dancing and joy. However, our wedding would not have been the success we feel it was, without the truly incredible staff of La Bastide. Nothing was a problem (pas de problem!) from rose petals along a makeshift aisle to silly dancing until 5 am to cocktails by the pool to vases to fill with handcut roses for the wedding tables. Jeremy led a staff of such professionalism and perfection that they cannot be faulted. Our divine sommelier - challenged and tested us and made sure there were wines that would enhance the simple ingredients.

The food too stands out in our memories. Individually prepared (with catering for vegetarian, pescetarian, foie gras loving and kosher!) and tastefully executed. The standouts for me were the renown Decasse vegetables prepared individually; the terrine; the local cheeses wrapped in vine leaves; the local pigeon; each beautifully presented.

The manner of the staff was warm and friendly. We felt treated as though we were family, this was our village, our home.

We cannot recall the days without smiling. Every moment was, for us, elegant, simple, understated, yet perfect.

Thank you to all the staff at La Bastide. We wanted to share the experience on trip advisor so that others would hear of your professionalism. We cannot wait to visit again next year.

Room Tip: My parents adored the Blanche room. We were in the Pigeonier. But all of the rooms were charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Emma,

Nous partageons aussi ce souvenir ému et avons été ravis de fêter votre mariage à la Bastide de Moustiers.

Nous mettons tout en œuvre, chaque jour, pour le bonheur et le bien-être de nos clients. Nous concentrons nos efforts pour que chaque personne de passage dans notre Maison reparte avec un souvenir inoubliable de son séjour.

Nous espérons vous recevoir prochainement à la Bastide de Moustiers et vous prions de croire, Chère Emma, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Moustiers Sainte Marie is a quite touristy village to the east of Provence, where they make expensive pottery. Its a very pretty place. we decided to stay at La Bastide as a contrast to stays in Avignon and Aix en Provence. Its really a restaurant with rooms (and a gorgeous pool). The place is a mile or so from Moustiers, in a rural valley. Our room was a bit quirky - Pumpkin - with an orange and pumpkin themed bathroom and a mezzanine for the bed.

There is a gorgeous pool, which was also warmed, from where you can only see countryside. we made use of this both on arrival and before breakfast.

We had booked to eat at the restaurant. It was a real treat. The food is rustic and quite hearty. There is essentially a choice from two menus. We went for the smaller menu and were initiallu given a basket of different breads, with a strawberry and balsamic chutney. then an amuse bouche of pate de foie, followed for straters of a delicious potato and cod mashed together with olive oil. For mains we had rabbit cooked in a variety of ways, which was quite delicious. We then had cheese, selected from an amazing selection, then desert then a post desert amuse bouche. We were very full. All served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the hills, with the sun setting.

We stayed for breakfast. Not cheap, but a feast of breads and pastries, jams, yoghurt and fruit, together with delicious fruit juices and coffee.

This place is a real treat. We thouroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exetergourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis d'avoir pu contribuer à la réussite de votre découverte de la région.

Nous changeons nos Menus chaque jour au gré du potager et dans le respect des saisons.
Le Chef, amoureux de la nature, propose des assiettes colorées et généreuses.

Nous espérons avoir l'occasion de vous accueillir à nouveau à la Bastide de Moustiers.

Nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Moustiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Moustiers

Property: La Bastide de Moustiers
Address: Chemin de Quinson, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Moustiers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Bastide de Moustiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Moustiers Hotel Moustiers Sainte-Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing