We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of 27 restaurants in the world run by Alain Ducasse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Bastide de Moustiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

In a rather secluded spot downhill from Moustiers is this fabolous place with both a hotel and a restaurant. The two course lunch menue at 40 Eur at a 1 star Guide Michelin was

The main course was leg, shoulder, rack and liver of rabbit sauteed followed by an assiette du fromage predominantly goat cheese .

A very tasty, well balanced of Mediterrainean food.
Superb!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Framcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes enchantés de vous lire et vous remercions pour votre message enthousiaste.
Notre équipe met tout en œuvre, chaque jour, pour que vous passiez un séjour d'exception et votre satisfaction est notre plus belle récompense.

Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau, et vous prions de croire, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

For seventeen years we have visited La Bastide for ten days each June-July. It has always been an extraordinarily pleasant experience because the staff is attentive and observant in providing for a very pleasant experience. That happens because of excellent leadership and thorough execution by the staff. Food is simply superb and can satisfy almost any taste, including those on non-animal based diets. Most vegetables (many from their garden), meats, foul and fish are locally raised and delivered daily while some guests are having a late breakfast. Evening dinner on the patio facing west, overlooks a beautiful valley and distant hills, and is relaxed and informal (no second seatings, so there is no rush at all). If the sun and cloud formations cooperate, you'll witness spectacular sunsets worthy of a photographer's interest. Around 3:00 PM you'll see noon diners still sipping their post lunch drinks. If you are inclined, there is excellent hiking and biking, small villages to visit, and village markets to visit within easy driving distance. Seventeen years of visiting La Bastide de Moustiers has made us anxious for another visit.
Lee Klein and Sylvia Eckardt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Toute l'équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier de votre enthousiasme pour la Bastide de Moustiers.
Nous mettons tous nos efforts en commun, pour vous faire vivre un séjour d'exception.

Nous espérons avoir la chance de vous accueillir l'été prochain. Dans cette attente, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What an experience, Alain Ducasse's country hotels are just great and this one is fabulous. The location is spectacular and if you have a penchant for ceramics, then Moustiers-saint-Marie is a just visit.

Our room was beautifully appointed and decorated, the staff outstanding and then you have the opportunity to dine in a Ducasse restaurant in bucolic Provence. Expensive but worth every cent!

If you stay here make sure you venture into the Gorges Verdon and drive the Route de Crete, it is just spectacular!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Nous avons été ravis de vous recevoir à la Bastide de Moustiers.
Nous avons la chance d'être au pied des Gorges du Verdon et du Village de Moustiers-Sainte-Marie, dans une région extraordinaire où la faïence est née.

Dans l'attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I wish La Bastide de Moustiers were closer to home. If it were, we would book special weekends here. The setting in the French countryside is beautiful, the pool is fabulous for swimming and the food is the most edible gourmet French food we’ve ever had (remember we live in California and have eaten at the French Laundry in Napa). Sleeping in this stone house hotel is a bit like waking up in a dollhouse; the rooms are small but each has its own name and delightful character with a window looking out over its lush grounds. Best, while there’s a beautiful and busy kitchen in the main house, there’s no kitchen smell and both inside and outside dining rooms are elegant and friendly. We rolled one day into two, having their gourmet dinner when we arrived, skipping breakfast for a swim in the morning and staying for lunch. As an end to an arduous but spectacular day of scenic driving The Gorge de Verdun, nothing could be more perfect than coming into the gates of Le Bastide de Moustiers. Definitely worth the price – which, in comparison, was not outrageous.

Room Tip: Main house is quaint. Try a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Toute l'équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier de votre enthousiasme pour la Bastide de Moustiers.
Nous mettons tous nos efforts en commun, pour vous faire vivre un séjour d'exception, "hors du temps".

Nous espérons avoir la chance de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement. Dans cette attente, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I first set eyes on La Bastide about 10 years ago and have visited her a couple of times since. I fell in love with her on that first visit but I’m afraid my ardour has cooled somewhat with time. Her beauty has not faded in the least but, as with most affairs, I have started to notice some of her more irritating failings. For example, on first acquaintance I loved her cooking but on our most recent date I found her menus had become altogether more substantial and less delicate – as if we had been together for years rather than still courting. I knew I should have refused the hefty slice of foccacia served with my pre dinner drink on her lovely terrace but I succumbed to temptation and regretted it as I ploughed my way through my subsequent dinner of four substantial courses with attendant extras. How I longed for her earlier lightness of touch.

A few of her other charms and failings:

• She acceded to my request to stay in the same room as on a previous visit – namely Voliere - but then enquired whether this was my first visit – as if I had never tasted her charms before.
• The room is lovely – from floor tiles in muted Provencal colours to antique bird cages and the views from all the windows are stunning – no change there.
• The terrace accessed from French windows is beautiful and relaxing but I found it impossible to lock the doors (although night staff managed it so that might be me).
• The room is well equipped with TV, DVD player and Bose iPod dock but the iPod dock wouldn’t work because the batteries in the remote were flat and DVDs played without sound because of a loose fitting scart lead.
• Night shirts, dressing gowns and slippers were provided as on our last assignation but either I have grown alarmingly or the night shirts and slippers have shrunk to a ridiculous degree.
• There is a built in night light low down in the bedroom – useful for us oldies to find their way to the facilities in the night – no complaint there.
• There is an attractive bathroom with ‘his’ and ‘hers’ washbasins, a bath and a shower, but the shower is totally impractical. As there are no shower curtains, the entire bathroom tends to get showered – especially when the shower bracket needs tightening with a screwdriver or, in my case, a fingernail.
• During the meal on our second night she relegated me to a small annex to the main dining room and paid me very little attention – had I offended her on our first night?

Should I give her another chance? She is still so beautiful that I’m inclined to do so. But I hope she makes more of an effort when we meet again - for both our sakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le_Dap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions de votre nouvelle visite à la Bastide de Moustiers et sommes navrés que cette dernière n'ait pas été à la hauteur de vos premiers souvenirs.

Laissez-nous une nouvelle chance et permettez-moi alors de m'occuper personnellement de votre réservation.

Je me tiens à votre entière disposition et espère sincèrement avoir la chance de vous recevoir à nouveau.

Je vous prie de croire, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here last week during our two week vacation in France. It was absolutely lovely start to finish. Our dinner at the restaurant was the best I've ever had - every single course was amazingly delicious. Our poolside lunch was also enjoyable (as was the pool). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Bastide is a lovely 10 minute stroll from the village, which is also charming. Our entire stay was great and I highly recommend a stay here. The only thing that was a bit of an issue for me was the lack of windows in our room, I felt quite claustrophobic. Seeing as its an old building of course there is nothing to be done about it, just thought I'd add this note as an aside.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kms12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir posté un commentaire si positif sur la Bastide de Moustiers.
Nous sommes ravis que notre Table et Hôtel vous aient plu et aient participé à la réussite de votre séjour dans les Gorges du Verdon.

Cependant, je suis surpris de votre remarque sur nos chambres. Chacune d'entre-elles a une ou plusieurs fenêtres avec une vue sur les collines ou sur notre jardin.

Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous recevoir à nouveau, et vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The location of this hotel is very nice. Near the lake and at the bottom of a village which is nice for two days. The walk to the village is up hill, but not too bad. Good exercise. The hotel is quaint but a bit tired. We stayed in a suite which is located in a seperate building. The room was fine, but don't expect luxury. The bathroom was ok, but not much to write about. We would suggest investing in more modern hair driers for those who use this, as the one provided was not good. The dinner was excellent, but very long. Two hours. Breakfast was traditional French and very nice. The best part of the Inn is the staff. Simply wonderful and completely accommodating to any need. In this part of the country it may be hard to find a true top quality and luxury facility, so this may be on the higher end of what you can expect. Fact is, the location is terrific. By the way, make sure you go to Castellane... And climb to the church on the top of the mountain. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The pictures on the web site show only the most recently renovated room, so don't be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik_and_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Moustiers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour à la Bastide de Moustiers vous ait plu.
L'Hôtel a été totalement rénové récemment et vous offre tout le confort d'un hôtel 4 étoiles, cependant nous prenions bien en compte votre remarque concernant nos sèche-cheveux et allons faire le nécessaire pour les changer.

Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement, et vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
235 reviews
13 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
522 reviews
23.3 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Moustiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Moustiers

Address: Chemin de Quinson, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range: £208 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Moustiers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Bastide de Moustiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Moustiers Hotel Moustiers Sainte-Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing