We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliness of the owners”
Review of Le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Colombier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is located in a nice place where is easy to go to Moustiers St Marie, to lake St Croix or to Gorges du Verdon. The room was very clean and the hospitality of the owners let the place better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeMagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are large, very nicely decorated, with a balcony where you can sit - watch the sunset and sip rosé. The swimming pool and 2 jacuzzis were perfect. The location itself is phenomenal - right by one of the most beautiful towns in the region (Mousiters Sainte-Marie).

The owners are lovely too. When I smashed a glass in the room by mistake, they cleared it up immediately - no questions asked.

And the breakfast! Definitely go for this option. It's set on a lovely terrace - try the lavender honey with the fresh croissant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just left Moustiers after staying at Le Colombier for three nights. The room was nice and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and just right. The location near the town was perfect as was ample parking space. But what impressed us the most was the friendliness and hospitality of the owners who ran the place perfectly. They are very knowledgeable and informative and go out of their way to make your trip as pleasant as possible. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Superior premises. Charming view. Outstanding surroundings. A very friendly atmosphere. An excellent hotel without any of the usual associated snobbishness thanks to the owning pair's warm ospitality. Brigitte and Jean-Luc really do their best to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelguest055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed this hotel for 3 nights in early June. Nice room with everything we needed and very clean bathroom. Balcony was a plus too. Lots of parking and gates were locked at night so secure. Hotel wasn't far from the town of Moustiers and it was only a short walk to the centre. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we preferred to get something from the local bakers, but we did use the pool area (small pool) and played boules. The only thing that lets this hotel down is that the gardens in parts are lightly unkempt and the boules area definitely needed tidying up. However, we had a most enjoyable time at this friendly hotel and would thoroughly recommend a stay.

Moustiers itself is a gem. Great views from the special little chapel up the hill. We also hired pedalos on La Lac Sainte-Croix - really nice way to see the gorge(water is such a beautiful colour). A drive around the gorge was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 'tour' of northern Spain and France as we'd read about the Gorge. We'd driven a long way and arrived tired and hungry. We were greeted by Claire on reception who was very friendly and efficient and was extremely helpful throughout our stay,in fact all of the staff are helpful even those who speak no English! (not a critiscism as my Frech is VERY limited!) It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and they went out of thei way to secure a restaurant reservation for us and a taxi there and back. They gave us a lovely present of local goods and informed the restaurant of our celebration too. The rooms aren't the biggest, but ours was newly decorated andspotless and we had a nice balcony to sit an have a glass of wine on.
We had some nice weather so we did spend some time relaxing around the pool too, which is small but adequate.Another big bonus is on site parking as some of the hotels in the village don't have it and you have to find a place in the street.
The village is an easy walk uphill where there are several restaurants and bars and downhill is the Ferme Cecile which we would highly recommend. We hired electric bikes in the village and rode to the lake and another day we hired a boat and sailed through the Gorge.We walked up to the little church on the hill, it looks daunting, but is quite an easy trek and there are amazing views at the top. It's a lovely area unfortunately the lavender was not in flower, which means we might have to go back one day, if we do we would definitely stay at Le Colombier.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had 4 rooms for 2 nights in April and had exceptional service. We were with relatives who had been travelling from Australia and had been in Europe for a month already. They needed to do some washing but there were no facilities on site. However the staff said they could arrange for it to be sent for washing. Not only did they wash the clothes but we returned to find 1 of the ladies (I think she was the owner) ironing the items ! She was also very kind in offering help in translating the menu for a local restaurant she had recommended despite my poor French. The walk to the village is fine unless you are not very fit. We had a balcony and if I returned with a group would request a terrace as you could all sit together, having said this there are public areas you can sit together as a group. The hotel and rooms aren't the most modern but cannot be beaten for value for money, location and the helpful staff. Definitely recommend to anyone going to this region to stop her and enjoy the charms of Moustiers and the wonderful Verdon Gorges. Make sure you don't have a nervous driver if you take the amazing drive along the Gorge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moustiers Sainte-Marie
0.2 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Bastide du Paradou
La Bastide du Paradou
#6 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
233 reviews
4.8 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Clos des Iris
Le Clos des Iris
#4 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Colombier

Address: Saint Michel | Route des Gorges du Verdon, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range: £79 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Colombier 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Provence, located at Moustiers Sainte Marie, at the starting point of the Gorges du Verdon and 5 km from the lake of Sainte-Croix. Features swimming-pool, jacuzzi, tennis, parking private and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Moustiers Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing